User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Galore Autumn 2022 Midlands Pub Crawl. with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Pub, Hebden Bridge

Pub added by Old Boots
3 The Courtyard
Hebden Bridge
HX7 8EX

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Quinno _ left this review about The Pub

Down a small alley and oddly doesn't live up to its name at all. It's a very small basic room that's essentially a tiny micro; seating for little more than 10 people. Flagstone floor and plain decor. Wood plank servery with six cask, my Northern Whisper Oppenchops was a decent drop (NBSS 3.5) though the glass wasn't exactly a gleaming example of hygiene. The general lack of ambience wasn't enhanced by the presence of a bunch of fat oiled lads outside and the barmaids sharing gossip – very much a feel of nobody being in charge. Was looking forward to exiting the moment I sat down, which is a shame. Maybe it’s better in the evening once the day-trippers have shoved-off? 5.5

On 25th June 2022 - rating: 5
[User has posted 4423 recommendations about 4408 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Pub

There is a large and extensive patio beer garden before arriving at this small micro,with just enough internal room for two high tables,fitted bench seating and associated high stools.Cosy and convivial,the bar is nearby and sports 6 handpumps all offering ale .The list rotates and will include a lot of local breweries and some regional ones but no mass brands.Two craft kegs too.
the bar staff are knowedgeable about all things beer and there is a sister Pub in Todmorden.My Cross Bay Hops be Tripping and Three Kings Silver Darling were on fine form NBSS 4,and the range had a mix of styles and strengths.
For me this was the best real ale outlet in Hebden Bridge so is a must visit but beware early closing on some days.

On 15th July 2021 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2384 recommendations about 2384 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Calan's

This micropub is definitely micro! Very busy on Saturday evening and we managed to shuffle our way through the punters to the bar to see what was available. Five hand pulls at the bar offering two by Squawk, one by Thirst Class, North Riding Ice Cream Porter and Calan's Pale Ale (I think this may have been brewed by Elland). There were also two real ciders available, dispensed from the back wall. There is a glass window behind the bar which allows you to see the beer barrels and box ciders behind, if you like that kind of thing.

We retreated to the outside space with our drinks, unfortunately due to the rain most of the outdoor seating was soaking wet but there was a small under cover area where we managed to find some dry furniture to sit on. I enjoyed my Ice Cream Porter and it's a nice place, obviously very popular. Perhaps best experienced at a quieter time but that said, it wouldn't take many customers to fill the inside space.

Presumably it has now changed hands since the earlier review by Real Ale Ray, but it certainly doesn't appear to have suffered as a result.

On 29th July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 678 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Calan's

A former sweetshop, that was established as a micro pub in 2015. We met the owner on our visit, who was very friendly and chatty, along with a couple of his regulars. A bit of a downside was that he said he was selling the place. Hopefully the new owners are as friendly and welcoming, he did say that he's going to pick the right candidate from the locality. Five ales on handpump, so we went for the Phoenix Wobbly Bob and an unrefined beer from Nomadic Brewery Leeds called Tramp. All the beers in here were £3 a pint regardless of ABV.

On 13th November 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3126 recommendations about 3126 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Calan's

A neat micropub in the centre of Hebden. It's one small room of course with some comfy seating to the right and a high table to the left and that's it. There's outside seating in the yard as well. We've called in twice recently. Both times all 5 handpumps were in use and all the beers I've tried have been in good nick. A friendly welcome on both occasions from different bar staff. It's a great little pub.

On 10th September 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3028 recommendations about 2943 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Ayre left this review about Calan's

I agree with the previous reviewer that this is a place not to be missed. Busy Friday afternoon, but sunny day so most people are outside. 5 real ales including Thirsty Moon, American Amber, Oat Stout, Chopper. I had the Thirsty Moon which was very nice.

On 15th July 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 12 recommendations about 12 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Calan's

This place is only accessible from Bridge Gate not Crown Street. As you go down Bridge Gate it can very soon be seen on the right.
It's a fairly typical micropub with a small servery at the back and five hand pumps. It was fairly crowded on my Saturday afternoon visit and also had a fire blasting out so I opted to sit outside.
Beers on were Norland Best, Vocation Bread & Butter, Oates Dun Rushin, Bristol Beer Factory Milk Stout and Springhead Double Jeopardy.
I went for the Double Jeopardy which is a 7.5% golden ale that was £3.00 as that is the blanket price. It was in outstanding condition and went down a treat. This is a place not to be missed. The opening hours are currently as follows:-

Closed Mon, Tue
Wed, Thu 12:00-21:00
Fri, Sat 12:00-22:00
Sun 12:00-20:00

On 27th October 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ste Cross left this review about Calan's

Good addition to real ale pubs in the village. There is seating for perhaps a dozen customers plus standing room inside although more seating and standing room outside in the courtyard making it very busy on the Saturday summers evening of our visit. The small bar is sited in front of the cold room which house the barrels and bottled beers plus bottled lagers, all on view through a double glazed window. Five hand pulls on the bar and the two beers i tried, Small World Thunderbridge Stout and Dunham Massey Little Bollington, were in excellent condition. No spirits or draught lager so a little restrictive for those of us who have non ale drinking wives or partners although the Pinot was on form apparently. All in all an excellent visit and good luck for the new venture. Will definitely visit again soon.

On 22nd June 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 6 recommendations about 6 pubs]