User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Wittenden on the Pub Forum

Northern Social, Bradford

Pub added by aleand hearty
24 North Parade
Bradford
BD1 3HT

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Northern Social

I was about to mark this as closed following a walk down North Parade yesterday, but see that Andy Hemingway beat me to it back in May. Looking through the window yesterday it looked empty and was either having some refurb work done or having its fixtures and fittings stripped. Interestingly it still has the bar at the back complete with clipped hand pumps, so will be interesting to see what becomes of this place.

On 28th July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 542 recommendations about 482 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Northern Social

The Northern Social never seems to be open during the day. Have passed it a few times over the past few months, the most recent being on a Tuesday afternoon earlier in the month, where I found it was closed at midday and still closed at 4pm. WhatPub suggests it should be open from midday, but perhaps that information is back from its days as the Beerhouse. No rating as I have not managed to pay a visit yet!

On 23rd March 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 542 recommendations about 482 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Northern Social

The interior is much the same as before when it was the Beerhouse but four big screens of sports coverage have been installed along with table football, two pool tables and a central table made of scaffolding which could be for multiplayer tennis. Only 3 of 6 pulls working on my visit alongside 8 craft kegs served from wall taps and half a dozen ordinary kegs. Beer quality seems to have held up even if or perhaps because of the reduced range.

On 30th October 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2300 recommendations about 2131 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Beerhouse

Good busy pub with a large room and toilets downstairs. Five or six hand pumps including Jaipur and Excelsior and a selection of kegs. By far the best of the day.

On 1st April 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Beerhouse

The Beerhouse is a large pub that is a fairy new venture.
Once inside there is a very large square shaped room with the bar facing,the floor is wood parquet type in the middle of the room,it is carpeted on either side,there are normal tables and chairs to the left and bench seating and chairs to the right.
There were three real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Clarks Brasic which was a very nice drink,the other beers were Dancing Duck Aye Up and Ilkley Mary Christmas.
There was decent background music playing.
This place seemed to large clean and clinical for my liking.

Pub visited 2/1/2016

On 19th February 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Beerhouse

A bright and vibrant large retro bar, with an 80's theme running throughout. The long bar area at the rear was made up from sheets of mahogany veneered MDF along the front, there was a nice section of parquet flooring and some jazzy wallpaper on the staircase wall. The choice of six ales on handpump were excellent on our visit. I relished the Heavy Industry Nelsons Pale, whilst Mrs Ale enjoyed the Arran Brewery Guid Ale.

On 5th November 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Beerhouse

Much larger than its nearby competitors, the Beerhouse is a relative newcomer. One large room with distinct seating areas to the left and right. The bar covers the entire rear wall of the pub. There are lots of industrial office bits and pieces around the place such as punched card drawers etc similar to those that I remember using when I worked at an engineering company many years ago. A mixture of seating with some comfy, leather look seats around the outside and some bright, older chairs and tables in the middle. 6 handpumps with a decent selection of ales on them including a couple from Orkney on our visit. My pint of Orkney Raven was in good nick and the other half had a glass of Pinotage that she declared the best wine she had during our day in Bradford. Overall, I liked it and will visit again. Ms CAMRA loved it, so if I'm with her next time we'll definitely be coming here. :-))

On 13th October 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2870 recommendations about 2789 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Beerhouse

A large single room with an expanse of exposed brick and the remains of a fancy ceiling, industrial style electrical conduit and a job lot of angle poise lamps adding to the slightly funky decor, the furnishing is a mix of stylish modern with older chairs repainted in primary colours. The counter stretches the width of the rear wall and is home to six pulls with mainly local and small, although Shepherd Neame had made the trip up from Kent, there are a few keg taps which I didn't take too much notice of but definitely more than a few national and international names. The staff are enthusiastic and know what they're about but the beer quality although fair, isn't quite up to the levels required in this street of bars. It's also a bit less spartan than a couple places up and down the street.

On 28th September 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2300 recommendations about 2131 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about The Beerhouse

The Beerhouse is yet another fine addition to the booming North Parade / Independent Quarter drinking scene. Opening in late March 2015, after an eight month refurb of a former furnishings shop, it’s the brainchild of the team behind The Boathouse, Saltaire, and promises ‘Craft beers, Yorkshire cask ales and home cooked food’. Internally, it has an open plan, industrial canteen like feel, with its exposed air con pipes, bare brick walls, parquet flooring and a plain white tiled bar back.

At the bar there were six hand pumps on the go, offering Black Sheep Bitter, Landlord, Old Peculier, Saltaire Blonde & Stateside IPA and Slightly Foxed ‘Howlin’ Fox’. On trying the latter two, both were in excellent nick, with slick service from the friendly, enthusiastic young bar staff. Considering the proclaimed commitment to ‘craft’ beer, one thing that did surprise me was the rather pedestrian choices on the keg pumps, namely Staropramen, Coors and San Miguel. However, as one of my beer buddies observed, they may well want to get punters through the door, before developing the range. Although, ‘build it and they will come’ is more my philosophy. Food is at the gastro end of the spectrum, with starters around £5-6 and mains £10-11, but as none of our party tried it, it’s difficult to give an indication of quality.

A lively atmosphere when we called mid-afternoon on a Saturday. To say it had been open less than two weeks, it felt very established and comfortable. I can see this one rapidly becoming a must visit when in the town. On first impressions - excellent.

On 5th May 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 371 recommendations about 355 pubs]