User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Tap & Bottles, Southport

Pub added by Al Bundy
Cambridge Walks
Southport
PR8 1EN
Phone: 01704544322

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Brainy Pool left this review about Tap & Bottles

once small but now not so small bar in a shopping precinct renowned for the best range of beer in Southport. Friendly service and generally down to earth clientele. Had a good pint of Hophurst Snuggle Mild on this visit. For this town it’s a beery godsend.

On 24th July 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 773 recommendations about 754 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Tap & Bottles

Walked past today and noticed four hand pulls at the bar, two appeared to be off. Looks a nice place and I look forward to giving it a try another time.

On 8th January 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 541 recommendations about 482 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Tap & Bottles

I'm not sure that this is really a micropub anymore as Al says below. It's quite a large room downstairs and there's another area upstairs along with the toilets. There's a pinball machine and a couple of old arcade games, one of which was getting a lot of use. Pretty busy on our Tuesday late afternoon visit. It's quite difficult to find, especially if you enter the arcade through the wrong entrance. 4 handpumps on the bar with an eclectic range of beers though and the 2 I tried were both in good nick. They also do a 20p per pint CAMRA discount. We'll definitely call in here again.

On 14th May 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2868 recommendations about 2788 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Tap & Bottles

Is now not very micropubby as its been knocked through to create a larger room to the left of the bar.

28/1/15
A beer bar with a tiny bar on ground level and a seating area upstairs. Serves 4 draught cask ales and about a billion bottled beers. Recommended.

On 20th September 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3390 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Tap & Bottles

Tucked away inside a market building cum shopping mall it has one tiny room with a smaller one upstairs. L shaped on the ground floor, the counter has four pulls plus numerous "craft" kegs and bottles in abundance. The service was at bit slow but the place was rammed in spite of this and the default "Get Carter" glasses. Upstairs we found a seat under the pipework on old school (literally) tables and forms, we could have sat at a games table and enjoyed pacman and space invader type games as if it was 1982. I can see why it's popular and I'd try it again when it's less busy.

On 29th October 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Tap & Bottles

We really enjoyed our visit here, we found the young owner friendly and chatty and his cask ales in excellent condition. Four ales on handpump, one beer on our visit definitely passed the three pint challenge, which was Rascal a 3.8% with loads of flavour brewed in Parbold by Problem Child Brewing. Another decent beer was Wily Fox Mutiny IPA, which was also on handpump. There was also talk of the owner extending into the unit next door.

On 3rd July 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Tap & Bottles

Specialist off-licence and micro-pub, with just a few tables and mostly the shelves of (admittedly very interesting) bottles to look at but enlivened during my brief visit by a popular local musician playing to an appreciative audience. Tap room (well, cupboard, really) beside the stairs leading up to the dingy upstairs room. Small counter at one end with four handpumps, with a sensible selection of different styles (including Barnsgate Cracker, £3.00). Well worth a visit.

On 9th April 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]