User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with bcfczuluarmy on the Pub Forum

Wigan Central, Wigan

Pub added by Al Bundy
Arch 1 Queen Street
Wigan
WN3 4DY

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Wigan Central

This is the place to drink real ale in Wigan.Occupying two railway arches,the left side has been fitted out in a strong railway theme,with a booking office to the left,the bar in the shape of a railway carriage and with lots of railways signs and ephemera dotted about.There is a large exterior patio,while high tables run through the central part of the interior,with more conventional seating and booths to one side.The other arch has a small stage at the end and overflow seating if the main room is busy.There is also a large library of bottled beers against a rear wall.
Very well chosen muzak was playing ,it was busy at 4pm on a Tuesday and the clientele seemed devoid of the derilict types in many of the other town centre pubs and bars.
There are 7 handpumps drawing on my visit Tiny Rebel Cwtch,Doghouse Amber,Listers Dark Mild,Brass Castle Misfit,Prospect Totem,Kirkstall Black Band and a very good Brewsmith Mandarina Ultra.Ale quality was top notch,good to see a mix of styles but a little disappointed that there were no high ABV options,an issue common to many real ale outlets in Wigan.
A must visit and the best option when in town,the only reason to hold back from top marks was the ABV issue.

On 10th July 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2090 recommendations about 2090 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Wigan Central

Housed in a couple of the arches on the south side of the North Western station, the decorative theme is naturally railway-related and this extends to three train compartment-style booths opposite a reconstructed ticket office façade, and the bar counter is also styled to look like a open-sided carriage. Several small tables can be found out on the pavement, and the next-door arch (The Platform) may be used for events? However, the weekly quiz was in full swing during my Monday-night visit, and live music is advertised for every Sunday afternoon. Although seven real ales in a range of different styles were available from the seven handpumps, I opted for the regular Totem from the owning Prospect Brewery (£2.90).

On 6th July 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6222 recommendations about 6222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about Wigan Central

Wigan Central has now been extended with the use of arch 2 and is called The Platform which includes more beer barrels and a stage in the left hand corner.Very busy on our Saturday evening visit.

On 25th May 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2118 recommendations about 2082 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Wigan Central

i don't know why it took me so long to try this place, but it was well worth the wait. the interior cosy, modern but still pub-like, the outdoor seating area providing a curiously charming view of the ring road (how very Wigan) and my beer was the best of the day, unbelievably nice. and at a typical Wigan price. hopefully it won't be long before my return.

On 10th July 2018 - rating: 10
[User has posted 774 recommendations about 755 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Wigan Central

Cracking little place, 7 hand pulls at the bar including Prospect Totem (which I believe to be a regular fixture) plus rotating guest ales. At the time of my visit these were Milvus by Squawk, Catnap by Barngates, Days of Wilde by Wilde Child / Revolutions collab, Hazelnut Porter by North Riding, and 9th Shade of Pale by Lost Industry. An impressive selection and mix of styles and strengths. I had the porter and the stout, both were good and priced at £1.45 for a half pint if I remember rightly.

The interior is done out in the style of a station bar with a ticket office window and recognisable railway colours round the bar. A mix of seating including booths and tables and chairs. Copies of various beer related magazines are available to peruse while enjoying your pint. Dog friendly too (the place, not the magazines).

I will be back!

On 13th June 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 542 recommendations about 482 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Wigan Central

This pub has now been extended and is in 2 arches under Wigan North Western Station. Patsy is the brewster involved and a couple of her Prospect beers always feature on the bar here. The left hand side contains the bar and has 3 booths down one side along with some high tables and stools. The right hand side is more open with more high table and chairs plus some barrels and has been designed to look like old station buildings including 2 plastic pigeons in the roof space, very clever. There's an outdoor area at the front with wooden benches and chairs, but as it was lashing it down I didn't bother with these. There are 7 handpumps on the bar and both the beers I tried were in good nick. As previously mentioned there is a board displaying the latest train times. There's also an electronic beer board that displays the beers on the bar as Departing and the beers in the cellar as Arrivals, another nice touch. This is a very good pub and is a must visit when in Wigan.

On 29th November 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2870 recommendations about 2789 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Wigan Central

We really enjoyed our visit to this bar which is conveniently situated underneath Wigan's main railway station. We took advantage of the sun and sat outside where there are a dozen tables, and were lucky enough to spot Prospect Brewery's brewster and were able to congratulate her on her excellent beers. Staff behind the counter are enthusiastic and at the time of our visit (early Friday evening) the place was buzzing. We had Prospect Totem and Nutty Slack, and First Chop Stout. All the beers were in excellent condition, and when our train was delayed we came back for more. (Unobserved in the crush at the bar, there is a screen showing the punctuality of trains, so we needn't have left at all. However, the station is so near that we only lost about two minutes drinking time.)

On 28th June 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2659 recommendations about 2506 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Wigan Central

A well designed and well run establishment with a choice of seven micro brewery beers on hand pull. This review is from last August so the front forecourt of the pub was busy with evening commuters catching the evening sun. Prospect Brewery was started by a lady brewer, back home in the garage, I've always enjoyed her concoctions, so my Prospect beers here went down very well.

On 21st January 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Wigan Central

This is a fairly new micropub set in a railway arch under Wigan North Western Station. Never having stopped in Wigan before this provided a superb introduction to the town. It is railway themed as described in detail below and I ended up sitting in one corner of the "railway carriage" on the right. It's large for a micropub and there was plenty of seating available on my early evening visit.
Unfortunately my time here was limited due to the train being over an hour and a half late but I did note some of the cask offerings, Salopian Midnight Express, Ascot Ales Alligator, Prospect Brewery Totem, Quantum American Light, Cwrw Ial Limestone Cowboy, Big Hand Bad Gorilla and Heavy Industry Electric Mountain. I went for the Salopian Midnight Express (£3.20) which is a strong stout and unlike the most famous stout of all had an excellent hop flavour and went down a treat. I took quite a shine to Wigan and hope to return when this place will be the number one venue on the agenda. Very highly recommended.

On 26th November 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Wigan Central

Conveniently located in an archway next to Wigan North West station, this is a thoughtfully put-together bar from the local Prospect Brewery. The front door and windows show a large image of a steam train pulling in to a busy station , which sets the scene nicely for the railway themed bar within. The room has a concrete floor and high vaulted ceiling, as you might expect to find in such a location. The left hand side of the room sees a drinking ledge running along the wall with high stools, passing a window marked 'Ticket Office', the function of which was not apparent to me. On the wall here, TV screens display live arrival and departure information for the neighbouring station which will help you time your exit from the pub to perfection. Low stools surrounding small round tables fill most of the room, whilst over to the right there are some fantastic booths that have been styled to look like train cabins, complete with overhead luggage racks, table lamps and views from train windows painted onto the wall. The servery is sited to the rear left and has been constructed from a former buffet carriage, complete with the original 'Refreshments' sign on the counter and a pleasant mirrored bar back with a beer bottle display above. The high space overhead created by the vault has been cleverly filled by building a replica station platform canopy, complete with a couple of fake pigeons, which rounds the train-themed décor off nicely. To the right of the bar there is a huge set of shelves labelled 'Beer Library', with formally ordered bottles of beer arranged on it, presumably available for take-outs. A couple of barrels and high stools in front of the shelves completes the seating options within. The local CAMRA branch describes the place as a micro pub, which is probably a little misleading as it is not particularly small, although I think it would be fair to say that it seems to operate in the same spirit as most micro pubs.
The ale range was a real bonus here, with an interesting line-up from predominantly local micros which comprised Rat Red Rat, Summer Wine Zenith and Nectar, Prospect Totem, Toba Track, Deeply Valley DV8 and Privateer Strawberry Wheat. Three cider and perry options were also available and I noticed a few keg taps but couldn't see what was on. The place also has a coffee menu, which suggests it caters for a slightly different crowd in the daytime. I tried the Nectar, which was very good and the Red Rat which was outstanding.
This is a great little bar with a real sense of fun about it and a great place for Prospect to showcase some of their beers. The proximity to the train station makes it an ideal place to grab a quick drink before an onward journey, but there is enough going on here to make an extended stay a distinct possibility.

On 12th March 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2546 recommendations about 2546 pubs]

Page: 1 2