User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2022 with ETA on the Pub Forum

Saltaire Brewery Tap, Shipley

Pub added by aleand hearty
Dockfield Road
Shipley
BD17 7AR

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Saltaire Brewery Tap

I agree with Will, I also thought the background music was quite loud on our Friday afternoon visit. Fortunately for us the weather was excellent so we could take advantage and sit outside in the patio area at the rear. The patio area had plenty of picnic bench seating and a couple of large canopy umbrellas over a couple of benches near the entrance. The brewery situated along the back of the yard added some interest, as you could see inside, plus there was a pleasant aroma wafting in our direction.
Four beers on handpump on our visit, which were Saltaire Blonde, Onyx, S.I.N. City and Odyssey. We went for the Saltaire Blonde, which was obviously in prime condition and at a pleasing £2.70 a pint.

On 8th July 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3092 recommendations about 3092 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Saltaire Brewery Tap

Situated on a small industrial estate on the edge of the town centre, this is, not unexpectedly, a fairly basic and not very publike building. The only attempt to make up for this is that they play quite loud background music - not the most essential feature of a pub in my view. To be fair, there is a decent line up of four hand pumps, featuring Saltaire brewery produce as might be expected. There's also a great selection of bottled beers, not all of which are their own. Prices are reasonable: I was charged £1.35 for a half of Saltaire Pride, a 3.9% best bitter, which was a bit too cold but otherwise ok, and £5 on a couple of beers to take out.

Date of visit: 20th October 2017

On 28th November 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3081 recommendations about 2897 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Saltaire Brewery Tap

The Saltaire Brewery Tap is situated on an industrial estate and close to a canal.
The building does not look very promising,but then again these new brewery tap pubs are all housed in similar types of buildings.
The main entrance is to the rear,once inside there is a square shaped room with the bar facing,the floor looks like concrete,giving the room a cold feel even if not,the seating is bench type and wooden benches,there is a bottle area to the rear right.
There were four real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Stout No 5 which went down very well after a long walk in the heavy rain,the other beers were Hop 256,Blonde and one called Challenger ?.
The room was quite busy with a largish group of real ale drinkers.
I dont really take to these type of pubs.

Pub visited 28/11/2015

On 28th November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about Saltaire Brewery Tap

Opening in September 2014, the brewery tap is a small bar and shop housed in an unassuming bungalow style building. Internally, it’s pretty spartan and low key, with plain turquoise walls, pine benches and tables and lino on the floor. However, the beers are obviously the draw here, with an opportunity to sample them in tip-top nick after their short journey across the brewery yard.

Four ales were available on our visit: Pride, Blonde, Winter Ale and Celebration and were, as expected in very good condition. The Celebration in particular, at 7%, went down worryingly easily. Service from the barman was efficient and friendly. A surprisingly good atmosphere when we called mid-afternoon on Saturday, with an eclectic clientele. The Tap’s proximity to the Leeds & Liverpool canal meant that there were walkers and cyclists mingled with bikers, pub crawlers and shoppers stocking up on bottles and mini-kegs, then staying for a quick one.

I really enjoyed my visit here, staying for several rounds. However, being in a group and finding the bar busy undoubtedly helped. The lack of creature comforts mean a lone visitor, during a quiet period, might struggle to stay for more than one, but that is my only minor criticism.

Potential visitors should note that the bar is only open 12-8pm, Thursday to Sunday.

Visited 29.11.14

On 14th January 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 453 recommendations about 436 pubs]