User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
BITE bites the dust???? with RealAleRobUK on the Pub Forum

The Fat Gadgie, Carlisle

Pub added by Old Boots
5 Devonshire Street
Carlisle
CA3 8LG

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Ian Mapp left this review about The Fat Gadgie

This is no longer open. Google Maps says "Temporarily closed".... so it may come back.

All in darkness on a Tuesday Night, Sept 2021 at 9:50pm.

On 16th September 2021 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 934 recommendations about 926 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Fat Gadgie

Could be classed as a posh micro no doubt. GBG listed there are 6 pulls on the counter with 10 kegs taps of varying interest on a big pipey horseshoe, although to be fair as a plague measure there were only four kegs and two casks in operation. A square-ish room with tall arched windows, bare board floor, dark modern woodwork and a well executed tiled wall backing the servery. Eclectic furnishings ranging from leather armchairs to industrial with nowt in between. Usual form over function lighting that goes for big money in places like Drew Pritchard’s or some “I saw you coming” emporia. On the ball staff handling the plague measures efficiently, sadly beer quality wasn’t good but in the time of plague who knows?

On 20th September 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2576 recommendations about 2347 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Fat Gadgie

Nice smart city bar serving a few real ales

On 6th May 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1322 recommendations about 1299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tex Icecubes left this review about The Fat Gadgie

Opened 3 months ago in the premises which were the Moo Bar.
There were 5 handpulled beers on when I went in today. Also quite a few craft beers.
Had half of Fallen Chew Chew (a milk stout) which was pretty superb.
There were only two people in the place. I hope this reincarnation of the pub is a success,

On 15th August 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 28 recommendations about 26 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Moo Bar

I was in Carlisle for a Luton Town game and met up with a few fellow Hatters in the Moo Bar. There were 18 hand pumps, by my count, of which half had beers on. After I had ordered a beer and taken it back there were still eight more to choose from. I shocked my friends by going for the Wells Bombardier - being from Bedfordshire, they tend to turn their noses up at this one, but it was in good condition. There were also 16 keg taps on the wall behind the bar.

Being a bare-boards shop conversion, it tends to become pretty noisy when more than a dozen people are talking, and I'm not sure the available space can contain enough drinkers to keep that many real ales ticking over.

The news on 21st July that the pub had been repossessed by the landlord was a shock. The story goes that the winter floods dented the overall trading figures to the extent that the bar owner was falling behind on the rent. See however http://hardknott.blogspot.co.uk/2016/07/moo-bar-public-information-post.html for more information about this bar's owner and his business practices.

Date of visit: 19th April 2016

On 26th July 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2952 recommendations about 2774 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about MOO Bar

This is a recently opened shop conversion with an enormous bank of hand pumps that I kept trying to count but always had to give up. There is also a large bank of keg options at the back of the bar.
The inside is long and narrow with the bar on the left and a modern interior. I sat on an enormous chair above a glass partition that looks down into the cellar. Although several of the hand pumps were unused there were still too many to note down. The only mainstream beer was Landlord and there were three from Sonnet 43. I tried the Black Hole Milky Way (£3.20), the Sonnet 43 American Pale Ale (£3.00) and the Cross Bay Zenith (£3.00) all of which were in excellent condition. This is the sort of place you might expect to be a bit of a rip off but it certainly isn't.
This and the Woodrow Wilson Spoons are the best bets in Carlisle for a decent range of beers.

On 30th November 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about MOO Bar

On our recent visit to Carlisle we thought we would sample a couple of real ales before heading off to the races. However sadly we were a bit early and the pub had not yet opened but I did notice (As the previous reviewer points out)the long line of 24 hand pulls on the bar.

On 16th April 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2206 recommendations about 2167 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tex Icecubes left this review about MOO Bar

Opened a few weeks ago.
Run by the same people who have the Moo bar in Penrith (but this one is much better).
24 (Twenty-four) handpumps mainly serving beers from local Cumbrian microbreweries.
Wooden tables and floor. Beer well kept and good staff. A few minutes walk from the railway station. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

On 11th January 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 28 recommendations about 26 pubs]