User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2021 with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Last Post, Derby

Pub added by Will Larter
1 Uttoxeter Old Road
Derby
DE1 1GA

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Last Post

This is a proper micropub with no TVs or music. It's a small roughly square room with a small bar counter to the left. As well as the usual pump clips and hops there are some items of Post Office bric-a-brac. In addition to the four hand pumps there are a few keg options on the bar.
One of the hand pumps was unused leaving Cotleigh Old Buzzard, Tydd Steam Barn Ale and Westgate Classic Blonde. I went for the Old Buzzard which was hazy warm and tasted sour. I got that changed for the Westgate Blonde which was warm but didn't smell or taste sour. I got the impression that the cellar was right underneath the bar counter. If it isn't chilled then that would explain the poor beer quality. I noticed the only two others in were drinking the lager.
Although it was a hot day I still thought it was pretty poor, especially given that it's GBG 2018 listed.

On 7th August 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Last Post

The Last Post is a small micro pub that is close to the junction with Ashbourne Road and Uttoexeter Old Road.
Once inside there is a small room with the bar to the rear left,the floor is bare boarded and the seating is pew seats and a window seat,which is where i sat,there were loads of pump clips around the room.
There were four real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Scarborough Citra which went down well,the other beers noted were 4Ts american Woman,Muirhouse Pirates Gold and North Brewery Bonfire Toffee Stout.
There was also a decent choice of single malts.
I thought this was a decent enough micro pub.

Pub visited 5/11/2016

On 26th November 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Last Post

Micropub owned by Muirhouse Brewery, Ilkeston. Four handpumps on the bar with three in use, two from Muirhouse and a Nethergate Umbel Ale. I went for the Nethergate, whilst Mrs A went for Muirhouse AFA Pale Ale. The barmaid explained AFA is a charity beer and is "Awareness for Autism". This is an ok place, but I thought the bar area was a mess and cluttered, as was the toilet area.

On 13th April 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3035 recommendations about 3035 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Last Post

Micro-pub housed in a former Post Office in a terrace of similar-sized shops. Enough room for a reasonably-sized counter and a number of small tables. Basic decor mostly comprising a display of pump clips and a short string of hops. Three of four handpumps in use when I stopped by briefly, dispensing Nottingham XL, Dark Star American Pale Ale and Muirhouse Summit Hoppy (£1.40, half), and the other one being readied for something new.

On 21st November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6620 recommendations about 6620 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Last Post

A neat, little, one roomed micropub, whose previous incarnation was a Post Office, hence the name. There's a few comfy seats at the front and a few bar stools and that's it. 4 handpumps on the bar and a further 4 beers on stillage in the pub on our visit. The 3 different beers we had were all in good nick. During our visit someone decided to pick up a guitar and someone else a bodhrán and next thing you know everyone was singing along to 500 miles by the Proclaimers. An entertaining and convivial visit, late on a Saturday afternoon.

On 17th September 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2929 recommendations about 2847 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Last Post

A former post office, which is now the second micropub belonging to Wentwell Brewery (the other being Little Chester Alehouse). A smallish room, as you'd expect, with the bar taking up about a quarter of the space. There are some standard pub tables and chairs, a mirror to the left and fairly basic décor, including a bare brick wall to the right.

The atmosphere was convivial, with a fair few people drinking and chatting at the time of my Sunday afternoon visit. There are four hand pumps on the bar, all the beers being from Wentwell: Farmhand's Bitter, Nellie's Best, Derby Pale and Justice for Gingers. I went for the Farmhand's, and wished I hadn't, as it wasn't very impressive, but when it came to the crunch I just couldn't get the words "Justice for Gingers" out of my mouth.

On 29th October 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2739 recommendations about 2579 pubs]