User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Wittenden on the Pub Forum

Bridge Street Ale House, Newcastle Under Lyme Central, Newcastle under Lyme

Pub added by Pub SignMan
31 Bridge Street
Newcastle under Lyme
ST5 2RY

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Bridge Street Ale House

Decent two-room micro-pub housed in a converted shop, with the stand-out feature being the 'cellar' in one of the front windows. Tall modern tables in the bar area but more traditional furniture can be found in the back room. Four handpumps, with real ales in a variety of styles including Wantsum Black Pig from faraway Kent.

On 1st July 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6222 recommendations about 6222 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Bridge Street Ale House

We called in here 3 times during our 2 days in Newcastle. Once on Thursday night when it was our first stop, then with the PuG crawl on the Friday and again for a last one later that night. Two different barstaff during our visits, both chatty and knowledgeable which definitely helps in a micro when you're the only ones in as we were on the Thursday early doors. Two room, the rear one looks like your granny's front room used to. The front one has some settles and stools, but there's some leaning places for the vertical drinkers as well. 4 handpumps serving different styles of beer, two of which changed over the 2 days. All the beers were well kept. This may well be our first port of call next timer we're in Newcastle as well.

On 28th June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2870 recommendations about 2789 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Bridge Street Ale House

This converted shop, now a micropub, is quite neat from the outside and obvious with its use of red. The frontage has a nod to the Victorian, while the upper has a couple of sash windows and the interesting use of off-set fake ashlar corner stones. The interior has a front bar room, with bench seating. kegs under tables and eclectic stuff on the walls (including beer mats), while the back room is a little more lounge-ish. The serving bar has been described below. No TV or music. The service was friendly and there were just a few of our party in. The ales, again, are described below - I had the Wantsum Black Pig Porter, which was excellent. Another must do in my opinion.

On 22nd June 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Bridge Street Ale House

We met the owner on our visit, a very friendly and down to earth chap, originally from Kent. Hence his idea to be the first micro pub in the locality back in 2014. His beer was served straight from the cask near the small front bar counter, which was reminiscent of my recent trips down to Kent. My pint of Townhouse Flowerdew was in such good shape, a sparkler was definitely not needed. Well worth a visit this one.

On 21st June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Bridge Street Ale House

It’s fair to say that I approached the recent Pubs Galore crawl of Newcastle under Lyme without a great deal of expectation. But with regards to the real and craft ale drinking options contained within the town ring road, by the time we reached this location I found myself bringing to mind the 1970’s advertising slogan for the TV Times Mag (one for the kids there…) “I never knew there was so much in it!”. Along with establishments like Wellers, Mellards, The Thirsty Giraffe and Ten Green bottles this was probably my preference of all the recent additions to the NuL drinking scene.
The key selling points have been well described by the reviewers below and my half of Black Pig Porter was spot on. I would certainly be returning here on any subsequent visit to NuL.

On 20th June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Bridge Street Ale House

This one is a "proper" micropub despite being larger than most and having more than one room. It's a long narrow shop conversion made up of three parts, the front bar area, a small second area with some comfy chairs and a rear room with low tables and chairs.
I can't get on with high chairs and stools or comfy chairs / sofas so retreated to the back room.
There were four beers available of which I noted Burton Bridge Bridge Bitter, Townhouse Flowerdew and White Horse Luna DIPA. I went for the Flowerdew (£3.20) which was in good nick.
I liked this one and would definitely return. For some reason What Pub has 82 photos of it!

On 18th June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Bridge Street Ale House

A quirky and quite earthy micro pub,the front room has a lot of benches and seating made of reclaimed wood,and the barrels are housed in a chiller cabinet in one of the front windows.Chalk boards around the servery describe the 4 real ale options together with ciders,spirits,bottles etc.Empty barrels are dotted about ,showing that ale shifts quickly here.The owner is a bit of a character,and made strangers feel welcome.The back room is altogether calmer,and allows quite a few people to visit without the interior feeling cramped.The ale choice on my trip was Burton Bridge Bitter,Black Pig Porter,Townhouse Flowerdew and a Titanic collaberation called Luna DIPA from Mashtronauts,a bit hazy ,sharp and alcoholic but I was only staying for a quick half.More time needs to be spent here to get a fuller picture ,but it's worth popping in.

On 17th June 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2091 recommendations about 2091 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Bridge Street Ale House

This pub, which shares the micropub ethos while being strictly speaking too big to be a micro, is now approaching its fourth birthday. One of the many reasons for its enduring success must be the way the beers are given time to settle, develop and mature. There is a cellar, but it is beneath the back room and therefore a long way from the bar, which is at the front. Beers are served by hand pumps linked by short lines to the enclosed chiller cabinet which has been constructed in the front window. With four beers on at any one time, the remaining space is occupied by several barrels waiting their turn, plus a few cider boxes. Thus a beer delivered straight to the cellar could spend over a week there before making its way up to the racking area, and another day or two before going on to be served. (Contrast this with another pub I visited in Newcastle, where the absence of the usual Doom Bar was explained by the fact that it had only been delivered that morning so wasn't ready yet. This was at 4pm, but I was assured it would be available that evening.)

The front room here, with large shop windows, is furnished with ad hoc benches and tables (with empty barrels stored underneath); the back room houses a collection of sofas and chairs, seemingly acquired randomly. The focus here is not on any design awards, but on the friendly service of excellent beer in a comfortable environment, and in this they succeed admirably.

On 19th April 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2660 recommendations about 2507 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Bridge Street Ale House

Excellent pub. 4 cask ales from plenty of different breweries available. A small bar is directly to your right as you enter where you will see 12 beer barrels in the window with 4 being used, the others conditioning. A small drinking area is here with tall tables and plenty of spent beer barrels and another area through the back. Very friendly

On 10th June 2015 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3302 pubs]