User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Midland, Smethwick

Pub added by aleand hearty
526-528 Bearwood Road
Bearwood
Postal town: Smethwick
B66 4BE

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Midland

Quite liked this Black Country Ales pub, the manager was friendly and chatty along with one of the regulars sitting at the bar alongside me. The interior consisted of a decent sized lounge area, with a large and impressive bar area down the right hand side. The cellar consisted of a cold room at the rear of the lounge with a large window displaying all their cask ales. 15 handpumps on the bar, with 12 in use serving 10 ales and 3 ciders. I went for the Zest Brewery Mosaic Blonde, which was excellent.

On 10th April 2020 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Midland

As noted below, this is a conversion of a small high street bank. Inside it's a single carpeted square room with a high ceiling. The furnishings consist mainly of low tables and chairs in corners created by red leather seats. It's worth noting that this is a 10am opener so there were already a few in on my late Saturday morning visit. A major plus here is the lack of TV screens but there was a radio playing at a reasonable level.
The bar has an impressive line of fifteen hand pumps which had the three usual BCA beers, a couple of ciders and a wide range of guests. I went for Derby ABC IPA (£4.00) which sounds expensive but is 6.4% abv. This seemed rather warm but may have been made worse by the fact that the glass appeared to be warm. Apart from that it was fine. I would have given it an extra point if it hadn't been for the warm beer.

On 11th December 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Midland

Impressive bank conversion with an equally impressive choice of ales. I went for one from the Fixed Wheel brewery and it was excellent. Beers listed on the chalk board … you know the drill!
Well worth a visit.

On 29th November 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1086 recommendations about 1043 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Midland

Unusual conversion of a smaller eponymous bank, with a bar that is almost as high as it is long or wide (with a large glazed area, including two full-height windows at the front). The seating area is extended by a small lower-ceilinged extension with an interior picture window into the 'cool room'. Comfortably furnished in a traditional style throughout, and a massive former safe door to be seen in the corridor. Very impressive range of real ales in a wide range of styles from a total of 15 handpumps, from which I went for the Sinker stout from Framework Brewery (£3.00). Well worth seeking out.

On 4th March 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Midland

Don;t understand the last review as we loved this Black Country Ales pub. Single room bar and an excellent choice of ales kept us happy. Enjoyed Upham Tipster and 458 brewery Amber beers. Comfortable friendly pub in the tradition of the rest of their bars. Fantastic bar back which still has a Midland Bank mirror.

On 21st November 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


steve raw left this review about The Midland

REALLY???? This is a pub? It has a large selection of real ales on the board (most of which are unavailable at any one time) and it's prices are well above average because these are 'REAL' ales (as opposed to the fantasy variety served by other ale selling pubs I assume). Over-priced. Simple!
The pub itself? It sells ales. That's your lot. No music. No juke box. No poll table or dart board. No fruit machine. No telly screens. If you want a similar experience to this place then throw all your entertainment options out of your house and invite your mates round to chat in silence over a pint of I.P.A. There is more life in a tramp's vest than this morgue of a pub (and I was there on a Friday night). Give it a book shelf and you've got another local library. Utter RUBBISH!

On 7th March 2017 - rating: 1
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Midland

Another quality Black Country Ales Pub.

13 Hand Pulls On and a Menu (+ colour indicator bottles) to help you choose.

Decent music on.

Friendly Locals.

I really liked this place and the 3rd BCA Pub I have been to. None have disappointed.

Photos at my walking Blog - Story and Photos at my [blog](http://mappiman.blogspot.co.uk/2016/06/060616-outer-circle-route-11-stage-2.html)

On 7th June 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 277 recommendations about 276 pubs]