User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 10th November 2019) with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

One Inn the Wood, Petts Wood, Orpington

Pub added by Aqualung .
209 Petts Wood Road
Orpington
BR5 1LA
Phone: 07799535982

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about One Inn the Wood

Formerly a Wine Bar, this well established Micro Pub is definitely well worth a visit. The interior featured a large woodland mural down the left hand side, which was very fitting for the pubs name. Timber flooring along with rustic pine tables and seating also added to their woodland theme. Five ales served straight from the cask, Dark Star Hophead, Pig and Porter Pattern Recognition, Tonbridge Permanent Wood, Franklin Smoked Chilli Porter and Gadds No 5 . I went for the Pig and Porter Pattern Recognition and the Gadds no 5, both were in excellent condition.

On 13th January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2894 recommendations about 2894 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about One Inn the Wood

Opening in May 2014 to become the first micro pub in Bromley, this place has had a fairly stellar couple of years, culminating in winning the Greater London Pub of the Year award in 2015. The place follows the usual micro pub format of a single room with a short bar counter to the rear and a temperature controlled taproom out the back. The room is smartly set up with nice solid floorboards, high bench seating down either side supplemented with high stools and some padded barrels to the rear which have OITW lettered cushions scattered around for extra comfort. The only other seating options come in the shape of a few pavement seats, but aside from that, it's standing room only, with a large upturned barrel in the centre of the room acting as a drinking shelf. The left wall has been covered in its entirety by a huge woodland scene with a beagle bounding through the middle. Meanwhile, the right hand side is covered with blackboards listing wine, cider, cheese and bar snack options. The rear left corner has a stack of board games including a few classic pub games such as shove ha'penny, whilst a pre-completed Scrabble board full of micro pub and Petts Wood related words is framed on the wall. CAMRA magazines, books, bottles of tap water and a few oddities including an ancient brick-sized mobile phone can also be found in this corner and further on down a corridor leading to the toilets you can find a huge pump clip collection and a stuffed beagle, perhaps from the aforementioned woodland scene. The servery is in the rear right corner and has a short brick counter and hop-lined walls.
The beers available on my arrival were Gadds Dependence Day and No 4, Dark Star APA, Goody's Genesis and Tonbridge Permanent House Beer. Milk Street RA had just gone off and a couple more went during the course of my stay, all being immediately replaced by the highly efficient and friendly bar staff. I enjoyed a very good pint of the Dependence Day, recommended to me by one of the locals and much better than I had expected from what I assumed would be a novelty beer. Five cider and perry options and a select wine list rounded out the booze options.
This is a very strong example of the micro pub concept which I thought nicely complimented Petts Wood's slim pub scene. I found it quite easy to settle in here and enjoyed the buzzy atmosphere, friendly service and good beer. The pub is handy for the station and is well worth jumping off the train to check out.

On 27th September 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2339 recommendations about 2339 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about One Inn the Wood

Absolutely perfect micro pub in the quiet back streets of Petts Wood, but close to the station for a splash and dash. The sun was shining, the beer was perfect and we could have stayed here all day. We probably should have, given the quality of beer in Tunbridge Wells! 20p/pint discount made the experience all the better and we will certainly call again when in Kent.

On 18th July 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about One Inn the Wood

Typical parade shop-conversion micro-pub, but one which certainly made up in customers and conversation for any lack of furniture and decor when I hopped off the train early on a Friday evening. A couple of small tables can also be found outside on the pavement, but it wasn't exactly the weather for that... Six real ales on stillage in the rear tap room, including the 'house' (Tonbridge) Permanent Wood and two from Goody's - Genesis and the Good Lord porter (£3.80) - plus others from Caveman, Magic Rock and Moor. Also features a good selection of local ciders, perries, white wine, crisps and cheese. First class.

On 21st February 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 5796 recommendations about 5796 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about One Inn the Wood

Visit 18th June 2015

Almost exactly a year since my previous visit I returned to find things much the same apart from the fact they now do a 20p per pint CAMRA discount, they have a House beer by Tonbridge called Permanent Wood and there were five beers on.
The other four beers were Deadgood Goody Ale, Bristol Beer Factory Nova, Old Dairy Blue Top and Kent Berry Mild Porter.
I tried the Old Dairy Blue Top and Kent Berry Mild Porter both at £3.60 discounted to £3.40. Both were excellent but the Berry Mild Porter was so good I stopped for a second.

Visit June 2014

Although I've only been to one other micropub (the Door Hinge in Welling) I have to say that I am a big fan of the idea if only because they are completely out of the hands of the major brewers and pubcos.
This one opened in late May and has a commitment to selling Kent beers, ciders and pub snacks with Kent produce.
It's at the bottom end of Petts Wood Road in a parade of shops not far from the railway and in fact there is a footbridge across the lines that brings you out diagonally opposite the Spoons.
On my visit today the whole parade of shops was covered in scaffolding so it was impossible to properly see what the frontage was like.
Inside it's a square wooden floored room with high chairs and tables and a serving hatch behind which is the cellar door. On the right side of the cellar there is enough room to store twelve firkins although a maximum of four are served at any time. On this occasion there were three Wantsum beers (1381, Imperium and Yellow Tail) and Clarence & Frederick's Strong Mild.
Clarence & Frederick's are not in Kent but are more local than Wantsum and other Kent breweries spotted. Beer prices were between £3.20 and £3.60. The 1381, Yellow Tail and Strong Mild were all in great condition.

I thought this was a great venue even more so because they don't have any TV screens so it's a footbore free zone and the use of mobile phones is outlawed (there is a charity "fine" collection box).
Highly recommended.

Opening hours are as follows

Tue - Thu: 12:00 - 14:30, 17:00 - 21:30
Fri: 12:00 - 14:30, 17:00 - 23:00
Sat: 11:30 - 23:00
Sun: 12:00 - 15:00

On 22nd June 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]