User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Micropub Definitions with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Wakefield Beer Exchange, Wakefield Central, Wakefield

Pub added by Graham Mason
14 Bull Ring
Wakefield
WF1 1HA

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


aleand hearty left this review about Wakefield Beer Exchange

Unfortunately, the WBE is to close its doors for the last time on Sunday 05.08.18. Apparently, it has been struggling financially for a while and administrators have now been called in. The venue has attracted some interest from other parties, but there's nothing definite to report. A real shame.

On 2nd August 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 315 recommendations about 303 pubs]


Aqualung . left this review about Wakefield Beer Exchange

This shop conversion is well described below. It was empty when I turned up early on a Saturday afternoon.
It's an outlet for the Revolutions brewery and the six hand pumps had three of their beers Swoon, Grip and Chocolate Fudge Milk Stout. The other three were Hilltop Golden Ale, Slater's Premium and Milestone Crusade. I went for the Hilltop Golden which despite the barman pulling some through was warm, cloudy and pretty poor.
When there's a heatwave on why don't pubs turn down the cellar temperature to the minimum?
I may have been unlucky with this one but I've got to mark it on the basis of the very poor pint provided. It's GBG 2018 listed.

On 30th July 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2119 recommendations about 2114 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Wakefield Beer Exchange

A shop conversion in the town centre which neatly fits the micropub description.
Despite the sparseness of the interior, hardly a surprise given the building's original purpose, the atmosphere here was very good on our Saturday evening visit. It was busy and friendly with plenty of chat and badinage for which some credit must go to the amiable bar staff.
I noted a bowl of dog treats on the bar so, presumably, our canine friends are also made to feel welcome.
Beers on were: Revolutions Candidate, Turning Point Rising Tide, Eyes Lecker Weisse, Shiny 4 Wood and Great Heck Patrick. An eclectic selection and the Patrick slipped down easily as all the other choices seemed to.
Drop in if you're on a crawl and exploring it's likely to be well worthwhile.

On 2nd August 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 659 recommendations about 658 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Wakefield Beer Exchange

Decent shop conversion with large tables and wooden chairs ,a modest bar mid building to the right and a further seating area beyond.There was a friendly welcome from the young serving crew,with good knowledge about their ale and the vibe was upbeat with some decent sounds .There are 6 kegs and 6 ales with an eclectic rotating selection in a mix of styles,my Shiny 4 Wood was very decent.
It should be firmly on the list of any crawl around town,could easily feature in future GBG's from what I sampled and I would be most keen to return.

On 25th July 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1908 recommendations about 1908 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Wakefield Beer Exchange

Decent enough place with a good selection of beers on offer. Always worth dropping in if you are passing by.

On 15th April 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1391 recommendations about 1390 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Wakefield Beer Exchange

Fairly basic shop conversion, with the bare white walls in the narrow rectangular bar enlivened by some artworks for sale and an expanding display of pump clips around the counter area. Has some stairs at the back which may lead to another room. However, beers are the focus here of course, with a good range of styles on offer. I went for the York Black Bess Stout (£3.00) from the six real ales on handpump, and there are an equal number of craft keg taps too. The place also acts as a 'bottle shop' so that further expands the range.

On 26th November 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5406 recommendations about 5406 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about Wakefield Beer Exchange

Called in this very nice new bar good range of real ale will come again

On 20th March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 89 recommendations about 80 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about Wakefield Beer Exchange

After a short refurb, Drink Bar is now Wakefield Beer Exchange. Describing itself as a beer cafe, it is owned by the excellent local Revolutions Brewery and will offer real ale, craft kegs and an interesting range of bottled and canned beer.

On 13th December 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 315 recommendations about 303 pubs]