User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Pubsignman on the Pub Forum

Purecraft, Birmingham

Pub added by Real Ale Ray
Christchurch House
28-30 Waterloo Street
Birmingham
B2 5TJ
Phone: 01212375666

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Purecraft

Housed in a fine old building on the edge of Victoria Square, so the stark interior appearance of this modern bar / restaurant can come as something of a shock. Basic modern furniture and sparse decor akin to that found in a BrewDog or other specialist craft outlet. The large open kitchen is also more of a distraction than a feature. On this visit, I found a duplicated selection of Purity beers from the two banks of five handpumps, featuring the less common Bunny Hop (£4.00) and Jimbo (£4.30). 13 of the 14 keg taps on the elongated, multi-tap fount were in operation too, offering an excellent range of different craft beer styles (a number imported), including the Kernel Quince Saison (£5.00, half) and the Belgian-inspited anniversary Purity 8 (£4.00, half), plus a cider.

On 28th March 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7108 recommendations about 7108 pubs]


Brainy Pool left this review about Purecraft

I took a bit of a gamble on this mega trendy bar and quickly decided it wasn’t for me. The interior in the main bar feels like a Scandinavian coffee shop, but even more minimalist. no comfortable seating, bare floors, almost no decor, open kitchen. Just a room of nothingness. Staff were a bit full of themselves, it felt very middle class and certainly not pub-like. However it is what it is, and the beer was pretty good - 5 casks from Purity and 10 or so craft options.

On 6th February 2022 - rating: 4
[User has posted 907 recommendations about 880 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Purecraft

An uber-trendy sort of place with an industrial theme throughout: bare ceiling covered in pipes and ductwork, unsurfaced floor, recycled timber and so on. The large main drinking area features a long benched affair and some high tables. To one side is the open kitchen with a bar to the other, and a side room with lower tables for dining. Downstairs is a further area with its own small bar and a meeting room, both hireable. The main bar features two banks of handpumps separated by another chunk of industrial pipe housing 14 keg taps. Ales were predominantly from Purity, with a few guests from the likes of Roosters and Five Points, while the keg stuff was mainly UK craft with a few Belgian and German interlopers and priced from £4 to £6. Don't order the Kombucha by mistake though! Far from being a traditional pub but certainly somewhere that is serious about its beer, and the food looked good too.

On 28th November 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2676 recommendations about 2619 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Purecraft

Very well reviewed and I enjoyed our early Saturday evening stop here.
No problem finding a table but, as the focus seems to be on food, several tables had reserved notices on for later in the evening. No real surprises there and no problem for us as it was a fairly swift stop.
I enjoyed the leather Brooks saddles used as coat hangers.
Beers on were predominantly Purity: UBU, Pure Gold, Mad Goose and Bunny Hop all doubles up as I recall. Guests were Roosters Baby Faced Assassin and Kirkstall Three Swords.
Everything we tried was in very good shape and the Baby Faced Assassin vied for beer of the evening.
I'd happily return for what seems to be a guarantee of good beer.

On 10th June 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 674 recommendations about 673 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Purecraft

Visited earlier in the week towards the end of the lunchtime trade. There are 10 hand pulls at the bar with Purity beers seeming to dominate and some duplicates across the two banks of pumps. I had the Saddle Black (by Purity) which I thought was rather nice. Bar snacks are available as well as table service for meals - sausage rolls at £5 for example, plus crisps (£1.40-ish?) etc. There was also some keg stuff that I didn't make a note of, various cans and bottles in the fridge and I noticed that different styles of glass being used depending (presumably) on the style of beer.

On entering, Aqualung's friend from the previous review was sat in position asking if I wanted a table for dining which caught me off guard a bit but there was no issue with me just going in for a drink and making my way to the bar and plonking myself down at an available table to consume it. What I did find slightly unusual was that when you do this, somebody comes round and removes the cutlery and napkins that had been set out at the table, and the table is then reset when the drinker leaves. Perhaps it helps them identify at a glance who has a tab but it felt a bit strange.

Downstairs has a cellar bar (not in use at the time of my visit) and the toilets. The floor looks like someone has pulled up an old carpet, scraped off the adhesive and then just left it. Yet somehow it doesn't look terrible.

Definitely worth a look but not my favourite place of the day.

On 28th February 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 678 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Purecraft

This is typical of one of those trendy places so common in London. It has an unfinished ceiling, unfinished floor and poor acoustics. There was some muppet near the door asking if I was going to eat. There appeared to be a cellar bar downstairs. I found an empty table at the rear only to find a notice saying "reserved from 16:00" being plonked on it after I'd got a beer and sat down.
Their were four Purity beers doubled across the ten hand pumps and the one guest I noted was Rooster's Assassin. I went for the only Purity beer I didn't recall trying before the Bunny Hop (£3.80). This was in excellent condition and not the rip off I was expecting but was a rather pedestrian beer.
I didn't like this place at all and wouldn't return but the beer quality was very good and it wasn't a rip off.

On 13th June 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Purecraft

A modern bar on a street corner, there is nothing to add to Malden mans thorough description below,It is rather sterile and as I was in before noon it was rather quiet and lacking in any ambiance, I tried a pint of Purity Bunny Hop at a reasonable price of £3.80 and it was a decent session beer, but one was enough here. As mentioned several times below its worth a look.

On 8th October 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1586 recommendations about 1567 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Purecraft Bar & Kitchen

There was what I took to be the full range of Purity beers on the cask side as well as 14 keg taps on an industrial looking piece of mild steel pipework. All the beers are listed on a board by the bar by abv, IBU Rating and price. It's a spartan place with a distressed floor, an unboarded ceiling, exposed brickwork and ductwork and electrical services on view. A large fridge to the side of the bar contains more unusual bottles and cans and there is also an open to view kitchen. Stairs lead down to a cellar bar and the toilets, there are some unusual drawn portraits on the walls here seemingly for sale. I'm not generally that keen on these utilitarian minimalist places being more of a traditionalist but it is worth popping in to sample some of the rarer Purity beers.

On 6th April 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1695 recommendations about 1669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Purecraft Bar & Kitchen

Not really my cup of tea as a venue, but I will thank the Good Beer Guide for bringing me here.

Flagship for the Purity range and a chance for me to try for the first time their Saddle Black Stout.

It was superb.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2id5KVh

On 24th December 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 277 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Purecraft Bar & Kitchen

The exterior is quite nice but sadly its one of those new style bars that try and look like an industrial canteen. Its all bare brick, stone floor, exposed pipes and canteen-like furniture inside. It seems to be an outlet for Purity beers and these were to the for. Overpriced crafty stuff also available. I agree with the review below that its worth a visit, but only a quick visit.

On 4th November 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3457 recommendations about 3363 pubs]

Page: 1 2