User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 26th June 2022) with aleandhearty on the Pub Forum

London Fields Taproom, E8

Pub added by Aqualung .
365-366 Warburton Street
E8
E8 3RR

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Pub SignMan left this review about London Fields Taproom

This is a deceptively large brewery tap located in a long arch beneath the railway line. On approach, the place doesn’t feel like it will be so big, as you enter from the side, with the servery directly opposite as you step inside, but the room opens out into a large room over to your right. The place is done out in the same manner as many other London railway arch taprooms, with a concrete floor, sheets of corrugated metal over the vaulted ceiling and a large space at the end of the room set aside for the brewing equipment. The unusual position of the entrance means that very little natural light penetrates the room, making it feel pretty gloomy even when visiting on a bright day. The bar has quite a long counter with a row of fridges full of cans and bottles in front of it. Brewdog-style cinema beer boards tower over the bar back, although these ones have white letters on a black background, so they can’t be accused of directly ripping off Brewdog’s aesthetic. Some of the keg taps are mounted on the bar back beneath these boards whilst others are on fonts along the counter, with no obvious distinction between the two sets. Displays of beer can packs and various bits of brewing literature were strewn around the bar area too, creating quite a muddled, chaotic initial impression of the place. The rest of the room doesn’t really follow the same pattern though, with a series of long tables and benches running along the front wall into the large open space to the right of the bar, where you can find some high tables made from some sort of old vat, and a long banquette on the rear wall. The walls have been decorated with a vivid street art mural to the front and some pretty out-there art prints to the rear, whilst a large neon piece of art hangs next to the bar alongside various bits of brewery merchandise. I noticed an open kitchen area tucked away around the corner from the bar, but this wasn’t in operation, whilst loud music played throughout the course of my stay.
There were eleven beers available on keg from the twelve taps listed on the beer boards, all of which appeared to be home brews. I tried a pint of the Corporate Jargon, which cost me £5.00 and appeared to be a very flavoursome and enjoyable session IPA, although the flavour seemed to vanish the further down the glass I went.
I thought this was a pretty decent taproom that was perhaps a little too big and came across like a craft beer drinking barn as a result – perhaps with a decent crowd in here, I would’ve felt differently. Unfortunately, since visiting, the brewery and taproom have been closed by owners Carlsberg, who are looking for a new buyer – the price you pay for dancing with the devil I suppose. I’d like to think that someone could make a go of this, as with the Five Points and Forest Road taprooms both a short distance away, there’s a good little craft beer crawl to be had in this part of town.

On 12th January 2022 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2795 recommendations about 2795 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about London Fields Tap Room

Being a teenage lad back in the 70’s born at the Enfield Town end of the Enfield to Liverpool St. rail link, Hackney Downs and London Fields were two stations where you used to hold your breath and hope that no weirdo’s or nut cases got on your carriage before the relative safety of Liverpool Street. And “why don’t we go for a beer in London Fields or Hackney?” was not an expression I would have paid money using in my lifetime.
So to have this former wasteland now attracting hip and trendy breweries and bars of the type of the London Fields brewery Tap Room is fantastic to see and full marks for them to open up under the former disused Railway arches.
Typical minimalist design of these type of new craft bars with a bare wooden floor, plenty of wooden panels and some hanging hops for decoration. And a glass window through which you can see the brewery equipment
But the KSP is not the décor, more the London Fields beers available on 6 handpumps and 12 craft pumps. Fortunately I didn’t experience the same issue as John below and the two dark ales I tried in the form of the Black Path Porter and Texan Tea IPA (6% and £2.30 for a ½) were both in good nick. And the couple of craft offerings other members of the crawl had went down without fuss as well.
I do like the London Fields products and it’s great to have brewing back in this part of town.

On 23rd March 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1816 recommendations about 1754 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about London Fields Tap Room

For me this pub was a disappointment. Although there is a good selection of real ale on the Shoreditch Triangle was not up to scratch and could have been a lot better. The pub itself is ok but nothing special. Perhaps I caught it on a bad day. I don't think I will return.

On 10th March 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about London Fields Tap Room

The London Fields Tap Room was approx a ten minute walk from the Cock Tavern. The interior is bright and modern, with comfortable drinking areas. The bar faces you on entry and is situated along the back wall. There was a choice of four ales on our visit, on a Monday afternoon. We went for the Hackney Hopster Pacific Pale Ale and the Love Not War Red Ale. Both of them were in great shape, but served a little on the cold side, so the true flavour wasn't coming through. Note once we left here, we headed for London Fields overground station to Liverpool St, plus you can use your Oyster card for this journey.

On 9th February 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3092 recommendations about 3092 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about London Fields Tap Room

The London Fields Tap Room is situated down a short road off mare street.
Once inside there is a single L shaped room with the bar facing,the room is bare boarded,the seating normal tables and chairs,there is a large barrel in the middle of the room and lots of of hops hanging from the ceiling.
There was a very good choice of London Fields beers on the bar,i had a drink of Hackney Hopster which was a very nice drink,the other beers were Love not War,Black Path Porter,3 Wise Monkeys and Shoreditch Triangle.
I got in this pub at about 11.15am and it was quite busy by then,shortly after i got served and 16 strong group of men came through the door,so this newish bar must be very popolar.
I quite liked this pub,one i could stay in for a session.

Pub visited 4/10/2014

On 4th October 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about London Fields Tap Room

I too very much enjoyed this place as did Aqualung below,as described bare floorboards and the walls and ceiling were simply sheets of hardboard screwed into place with no attempt to decorate or smooth over the rough edges, I guess this is deliberate and it kind of works. The attached brewery is visible through large windows at one end of the bar.Beers on were Hackney Hopster,Love Not War, Shoreditch Triangle, Black Path Porter and Double IPA weighing in at 7.2%, I settled for the Love Not War which was very good. The one criticism I would make was that I found the beer to be too cold, that aside a very enjoyable experience and will return.

On 4th May 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1559 recommendations about 1540 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about London Fields Tap Room

This is a basic sort of place that would probably best be described as a large micropub, if that makes any sense at all.
The key to finding it is the pub called the London Fields on the West side of Mare Street. Go down the side street on which that pub resides and the London Fields Tap Room and brewery is on the left underneath the railway bridge. Inside it's bare floorboards with a random collection of tables and chairs and on my morning visit a powerful aroma of hops. The bar is right next door to the brewery from which it is separated by a window. The room looks a bit like it has been assembled by a school woodwork class, but that's not really the point. As far as I could see all the beer products on offer were from London Fields Brewery. There is also a limited selection of soft drinks, wines and ciders, although I failed to spot the cider. Coffee is also served and toasted sandwiches.

The beer is served from a bank of 6 pumps and two rows of keg options which included London Fields Lager. One of the six handpumps was unclipped. I assume it would normally have the Black Path Porter so the five casks on sale were there other three regular beers (Hackney Hopster, Love Not War and Shoreditch Triangle) while the remaining two pumps held two of their premium Bootlegger series of more radical brews. These were the two I went for, Black Frost Stout (£4.00) and American Black Ale (£4.80). Both of these were in immaculate condition.
The price of the standard bitters was £3.40 I think. Half way through the second beer I noticed that two of the keg beers were on special offer at £4.00 a pint. Sadly the First Born Barley Wine was only served in half pints so I had one of them and followed it with a pint of the Oak Aged Weizen Doppel Bock. The Bock was rather gassy but the Barley Wine was a fine example of this rather old fashioned drink.

All in all I thoroughly enjoyed my visit here, possibly the prices are a bit steep for such a minimalist place and I would have preferred a pint of the barley wine, but these are very minor quibbles. I would happily return here and recommend it, especially for someone new to London Fields beers.

The venue is open daily from 11:00 until midnight (Xmas and New Year hours vary). Brewery visits are catered for but have to be paid for and require booking. There are also home brewing courses.

On 17th January 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]