User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Is the Coronavirus affecting pub trade? with NickDavies on the Pub Forum

Tapped, Leeds

Pub added by aleand hearty
51 Boar Lane
Leeds
LS1 5EL

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Danny O'Revey left this review about Tapped

Excellent modern bar, bit modern and hipsterish but good products and service.

On 8th October 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Tapped

This is a decent sized, modern craft beer bar with its own on-site brewery, all brought to you by the people behind the station tap chain (York Tap, Sheffield Tap, Euston Tap etc...). It wouldn’t be a serious craft beer bar without the inevitable concrete floor, white tile walls and undressed ceiling, but enough thought has been put into this place to elevate it above your bog-standard hipster outlet, creating a more inclusive feeling space which is aided by its excellent location just up the road from the station. Most of the seating comes in the form of low backed padded bar stools which serve numerous high tables, mainly running in long rows through the centre of the room. There are large brewing vessels down the left hand side of the room and storage tanks along the opposite wall where the long, straight servery can be found, all of which makes you feel a bit like you’re sat in the middle of brewing operations, although there was no such activity evident on our Saturday afternoon visit. The front windows have neon pub signs in them and look out to a small pavement seating area which looked like a last resort option given the number of stinking busses that pull up directly alongside. Decor comes mainly in the form of a large beer mat collection plus some really cool posters for previous Leeds Beer Festivals. Music played quietly in the background throughout our stay and a few people were eating from the handy pizza menu.
The beer range is as wide and eclectic as in the more established branches of this chain, with cask options extending to Anarchy Hard Times, Wild Beer Millionaire, Oakham JHB, Tapped Rodeo, Kirkstall Dissolution, Gun Zamzama, Cromarty Atlantic Drift, Roosters Highway 51, Atom Blonde Ale and Exit 33 Blonde, plus one I couldn’t read and one real cider. An extensive line-up, but turnover seemed to be rapid and my pint of the Dissolution was excellent as a result. A large beer menu lists a comprehensive selection of bottled and canned beers to cater for most tastes.
This is another great little bar from this very reliable pub group and a good addition to the already very strong Leeds pub scene. This felt a bit like a craft beer bar to take people who don’t like craft beer to – a notion that the vast cask range seems to support – and I will most certainly be checking this place out again when I’m next in the area.

On 5th November 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2446 recommendations about 2446 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Tapped

Another from the Pivni stable and, characteristically, this is more a bar, or perhaps more accurately, an alehouse than a boozer.
It has large picture windows at the front, bar to the right with beers offered named above the bar, a tall table in front of the bar with stools, various tables and chairs and tanks on either side of the room.
The staff are young, friendly, hipsterishly fashionable, knowledgeable and patient as they need to be given the vast choice available.
Beers on fall in to three categories: tank, keg and cask. I was simply too weary (as a newt) to list all the beers on but it's a wide choice. I did note that the cask selection was good without being outstanding although they do seem to always offer something on the slightly stronger side, Thornbridge Crackendale on our visit which was very good. Everything else we tried was in fine shape.
Close to the station and, as such, probably the first visit if arriving by train with some risk of it being the last.

On 2nd August 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Tapped

Doesn't look much from the outside,housed on the ground floor of a modern building ,but there is a treat instore when inside.It's popular with younger drinkers but the kind that really appreciate beer in all it's forms,and the choice here is vast.It's also the home of Tapped brewery with the coppers and settling tanks to the left,and even lager settling tanks to the right.Furniture is a mix of traditional wooden with some high tables and beer choice is indicated by large cards running the full length of the right handside bar,split into three categories namely ale (13 handpumps) ,keg and tank (a combined 15 taps) including around 5 tank conditioned beers from Tapped.
My Kirkstall Disollution IPA was spot on,the style choice was wide with lots of Locale and my next visit will be much longer giving more chance to sample other fine ales.
Like the other "Taps",this bar showcases superb beer and really is a must visit when in Leeds.It's busy because it's good,so expect a lively atmosphere at peak times.Cant wait for the revisit !

On 8th July 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Tapped

Not very busy yesterday for once - it's usually rammed when I have visited. Had ten minutes to spare before my bus was due so had a quick half - can't remember what it was but it was good, as per normal. Great selection of ales, about 20+. Always worth a visit when I have time.

On 2nd May 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1671 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Tapped Leeds

By the time I'd got here I was a bit befuddled so if this description is up the wall then so be it. It seemed to be a single smallish box room with the bar to your right on entering. There didn't seem to be any pumps on the bar but there were 14ish taps along the wall. To the left were 7 tin/copper tanks that I assume were beer thingies. I liked it, I think.

On 6th April 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Tapped Leeds

Really liked this brew house, with it's 80's retro design. I commended the barman on our arrival for not greeting us with the phrase "hi guys". He said he hated that American talk, me too. The service in here was fast and friendly and there was an excellent choice of extremely well kept beers. We went for the Kikstall Three Swords and the Kirkstall Pale. Their Tapped Brew Mojo and Magnum Pale, which is brewed on the left-hand side of the pub was also in great shape.
They also make their own pizzas and we had just missed the service, which finished at 7pm on a Sunday Eve. Still we were able to buy some pizza slices at £1.80, which were very good. I look forward to trying a full pizza on my next visit. We tried to get in here on a Fri and Sat evening, but the place was extremely busy, as can be expected.

On 19th April 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Tapped Leeds

New-style alehouse with modern furniture and decor in various shades of brown. Bar counter to one side of the main seating areas and a line of brewing vessels along the other. Industrial air conditioning and lighting. Good music at a sensible volume. Great selection of 13 real ales (including Allendale Bramling Brown Ale, £3.50) and 14 craft keg beers. One of many good bars in the area.

On 8th March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Tapped Leeds

Very modern bar which looks just like an American brewpub. The brewery runs down the left hand wall and the bar down the right. A couple of small booths, some high tables and stools and some standard dining tables and chairs. The food menu is pretty much limited to pizza, but the bar menu is extensive. There are loads of taps behind the bar, some are cask, but many are keg, so choose wisely. There were 9 cask ales on during our 2 recent visits. All the beers I had were in good nick and the service was quick and friendly. We like American brewpubs and have been in loads of them, so this pub suits us, although it won't appeal to everyone.

On 29th January 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2846 recommendations about 2768 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Tapped Leeds

Tapped is a modern looking bar that is very handy for the train station.
Once inside there is an oblongish shaped room with the bar running down the right side,there are lots of steel vessels on the left side of the room which i presume have beers in them,there is a long table in the middle of the room and a mix of normal tables and chairs and tall ones.
There are loads of beers to choose from,i had'nt got the faintest idea which ones were real ales or not,i had a drink of Chantry Woman of Steel which was a decent drink,there were too many beers to note so i didnt bother.
The bar was packed on my early Saturday evening visit with the bright young people of Leeds.
The bar was far too busy to get a real feel of it.
This is not really my sort of pub but the drink i had was decent enough.

Pub visited 24/1/2014

On 24th January 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]

Page: 1 2