User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Guess who I met today? with bcfczuluarmy on the Pub Forum

Harrogate Tap, Harrogate Central, Harrogate

Pub added by Old Boots
Station Parade
Harrogate
HG1 1TE
Phone: 01423501644

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Gill Smith left this review about Harrogate Tap

What a grand place to start our first visit to Harrogate to check out some 2019 Good Beer Guide pubs last month. Right by the station with a good selection of cask and craft ales. We chose Totally Brewed Ninja Shark and Arbor C Bomb which were in excellent condition.

On 12th August 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about Harrogate Tap

Excellent venue with great quality ales. I always visit here when in Harrogate and allow adequate time before catching the train home.

On 23rd December 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1474 recommendations about 1472 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Harrogate Tap

A similar looking bar to the Sheffield Tap and that's a real positive. Once again they've done a great job on an unused building. We were only in Harrogate for 2 nights, but called in here 3 times. A great selection of beer on the bar and all the ones we tried were in top notch condition. 3 different barstaff were on during our times here and all were friendly and knowledgeable. A great addition to the Harrogate ale scene. I can't imagine being in Harrogate and not visiting this place again.

On 4th January 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2749 recommendations about 2677 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Harrogate Tap

Railway station waiting room fitout. Its ok, not as special as say York or Sheffield and the beer was poor quality on my visit.

On 9th November 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1267 recommendations about 1244 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Harrogate Tap

Following a similar formula that helped make other station-side 'Tap' venues in the likes of York, Euston and Sheffield so successful, the Harrogate Tap opened in late 2013. As with the aforementioned pubs, this place makes good use of an otherwise disused station building - in this case, a long, slim room adjacent to platform 1. The main bar area has patterned tile flooring around the bar which backs onto the platform side wall, with a series of wide U-shaped button backed banquettes on the opposite wall, forming pleasant carpeted booths, each with an integral lamp in-between. The dark wood servery actually has windows in the bar back which allow glimpses out to the bustle of the platform beyond, which must be a unique feature. The walls have dark wood panels which compliment the servery and there are classy fixtures and fittings throughout including some shiny chandeliers and a lovely pub clock. All of this can be found in the right hand portion of the room, but the room splits into a separate space towards the left, where you can find more dark wood panelling, bare floorboards and some standard tables and chairs, plus a drinking ledge down the right hand side with some high stools. Large arched windows here bear the pub's name and round out the décor nicely. There was a good crowd in here on a Saturday evening generating a good atmosphere of the sort you rarely associate with a station bar.
The excellent beer range probably plays a part in that, with the hand pumps offering a wide variety of options. On this occasion, those available were Titanic Cappuccino, Bank Top Bad to the Bone, Kirkstall Herzblut, Mouth Ripper and 666 Porter, Harrogate Cold Bath Gold, Black Sheep Masham Yorkshire IPA, Orkney IPA, Dark Star Festival, Bad Seed IPA and Box Steam Piston Broke. Nothing wrong with that line-up and nothing wrong with my excellent drop of the Cappuccino either.
This is an excellent addition to a very good chain of station pubs and I imagine it has been a bit of a 'game changer' for the local pub and beer scene. I could very easily have spent the rest of my evening here and cannot imagine a visit to Harrogate would be complete without a visit to this excellent venue.

On 16th June 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2347 recommendations about 2347 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Harrogate Tap

We arrived here on a Saturday lunch time and the pub was moderately busy. This gave a good opportunity to look at the high standard of workmanship, that has gone into a very tasteful refurbishment. The staff here were friendly and helpful, also the pub had a good atmosphere. We went for the Collinghams Artisans Choice, Mallinsons Ella and Tapped Brewery Rodeo, which was a well hopped American Pale Ale. The pub was very busy on our return later on that evening, so gave it a miss on our 2nd visit.

On 24th May 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2912 recommendations about 2912 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Harrogate Tap

Impressive conversion of an old station building, with a mix of furniture in the main bar and separate lounge. Excellent choice of real ales and ciders from 12 handpumps, including Harrogate Gold from the local micro-brewery. Didn't have much time to look around, but the place was packed on a Saturday evening (and you could see why).

On 15th April 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5808 recommendations about 5808 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Harrogate Tap

Recently converted station waiting room, run by the same group behind the Taps in Sheffield, York et al. Similar concept here - the interior is traditional with a number of original/restored fittings done to a high standard. Dark wood heavy throughout with a lovely tiled floor, the main bar is light and airy due to the large windows and has a notably long servery. To the left is a small lounge-style room. 12 pumps with a variety of micro and regional ales alongside some ciders. I tried a few, from St Peters, Kirstall and Hawkshead breweries. Bar the St Peters being towards the end of the barrel, quality was very good. As to be expected, there are also a large variety of exotic keg and bottled beers from around the world. Prices can be on the steep side - it’s worth checking before you purchase. On my return visit a few hours later, a meet the brewer session was in full swing and the place was impressively busy. Pub-wise, the default first port of call in this fine spa town.

On 1st April 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about Harrogate Tap

This review would have been a 10 if the advertised sandwiches had been available. We popped in for a couple of pints during a short stop in Harrogate during the Easter bank holiday. The establishment has been beautifully converted from railway building to pub with what looks like no expense spared, the fit and finish is absolutly superb. A dozen great ales adorn the bar, the two I tried were perfect in every way. Staff were polite and knowledgable about the product that they were selling, toilets were excellent as was the seating in a range of styles from stools to luxurious booths. We were in the mood for a snack, but all that was available were scotch eggs and sausage rolls, accompanied by nibbles in bags like scratchings and nuts. We settled for a sausage roll, which was excellent, but I would have prefered a sandwich of some kind. All in all an excellent bar right next to the station and a must on any beer trip to Harrogate.

On 29th April 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Harrogate Tap

Opened on the 18th December and just off Platform 1 of Harrogate railway station it can also reached from the station car park, this is a stunning transformation of a grotty, decayed, railway building into a fine bar in similar style to the company's bars at York and Sheffield. Comprising one long room with a separate lounge at the far end the decor includes lots of dark wood, a fine tiled floor and tasteful fittings. The counter runs down the platform side of the room and opposite is low booth style seating, big clear windows mean you can watch the trains on one side and the buses on the other as the bar is very conveniently situated between the two stations. A wide, well chosen selection of cask ales is available on two banks of six pulls while in the middle are nine tall kegs taps of interesting if pricey beers, flanking all these are two large Bernard ceramic fonts with three more taps on each. One keg tap and one pull are devoted to cider and in addition to Bernard, Thornbridge beers are in evidence, beers from Tapped, the company's brewery in Sheffield, also appear from time to time. At the back are the now usual fridges with a wide range of exciting bottled beers from Europe, the USA and the UK. Another winner from Pivovar and a real gain for Harrogate.

On 9th February 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2133 recommendations about 1981 pubs]