User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappointment of the week with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Hail to the Ale, Wolverhampton

Pub added by Ale Monster
2 Pendeford Avenue
Claregate
Postal town: Wolverhampton
WV6 9EF
Phone: 07846562910

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Gill Smith left this review about Hail to the Ale

Enjoyed our visit here on Saturday and both our beers from Morton Brewery, Penkside Pale and Moxee Valley IPA were fine.

On 2nd July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Delboy 20 left this review about Hail to the Ale

This micropub has been on my to-do list for 5 years now and I am glad to have finally visited. 4 beers and 2 ciders on when I called and the 2 we tried from the Morton brewery were excellent. On a side note, there is no longer a CAMRA discount but the prices are fine anyway! I won't wait another 5 years to visit again!

On 8th January 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 928 recommendations about 897 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Hail to the Ale

The first micro-pub in the West Midlands, established in 2013 in a small shopping parade at Claregate (an ultimately worthwhile walk from Tettenhall village centre). Created from two rooms in a former corner shop, with a single step up from the front seating area to the compact bar at the back. Typical mix of fairly basic furniture and breweriana-based decor, but almost all seats taken on a busy Thursday evening. Four real ales and a pair of ciders from the six handpumps, including Essington Blonde (£3.00) and Black George from Morton plus beers from Backyard and Beowolf.

On 28th October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5808 recommendations about 5808 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Hail to the Ale

This is a large two roomed micropub with a good sized front lounge as you enter and equally sized back room with bar area. The pub was busy on our visit, so standing at the bar was the only option. This proved to be a better move, as we got chatting to the locals and to the owner's wife. The pub is owned by Morton Brewery aka Gary and Angela Morton and opened the pub in 2013. We were made most welcome and I enjoyed their Morton Alcatraz and the Morton Essington Blonde. There were four handpumps on the bar, serving two ales from Morton and two guest, plus two ciders. For such a large micropub, I still don't understand why there is only one shared toilet.

On 17th May 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2906 recommendations about 2906 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Hail to the Ale

I would hesitate to call this Wolverhampton's only micropub because other than the postal code the area doesn't seem to have much connection to it. The bus took the best part of thirty minutes to get here from Wolverhampton bus station.
It's a good location to open one of there ventures as it is leafy suburbia and the only nearby opposition is a large suburban Banks's house. Although it was a shop before it looks more like it was originally a house and the ground floor converted to a shop. From outside it looks quite small but inside it's a decent space for a micropub with a tiered single room and a small bar with hand pumps at the back. Furnishing is mostly small tables and chairs but there are a few taller stools and a couple of wine or spirit barrels used as makeshift tables. There is the obligatory board showing ales and ciders on as well as various bric-a-brac including some Dinky Toys.
There are six hand pumps at the small bar with on my visit two ciders. Beers were all £2.80 and the 6% ABV ciders £3.00. The 20p CAMRA discount bought the price down to £2.60. I tried the Morton Essington Blond, Burton Bridge Snapshot and Derby Double Mash all of which were in excellent condition. The fourth beer was Slater's Queen Bee.
This is another excellent micropub and well worth visiting.

On 18th August 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Hail to the Ale

Slightly larger than I was expecting inside it is still compact and the licence does not allow outside drinking. Freindly smart little pub with 5 real ales, including the host brewery Essington Scottish Maiden on my visit.

Very much an ale drinking conversation type place, perfect for sipping their real ales.

On 21st July 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1267 recommendations about 1244 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Hail to the Ale

This is a micropub, the tap for the Morton Brewery. The pub is housed in a 1950s shop, which formerly sold furniture. The pub is in a cream render, with a corner entrance, brick lined (painted). It has a new etched window. The interior has a single room, which is narrower at the top end, where the strangely brick wallpapered serving bar is located. The pub is mainly in a green, with a couple of red walls, a cream ceiling and a wood floor. There is a fireplace. There is no music, TV, pub games etc - the only sound was the that of the clientele chatting away - sublime. The service was friendly and the place busy, with a mixed crowd (and not all drinking the real ale). A few jugs and glasses are dotted about and a few mirrors are on the wall, along with some beer memorabilia. There is a cabinet with some old games in as a display. There is a CAMRA discount. Beer; A real cider, with Fownes Gunhild, Ludlow Gold, Morton Essington Gold and Scottish Maiden. The Maiden was excellent. A pleasure to visit, and one I am sure I will be back to fairly quickly.

On 6th October 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ale Monster left this review about Hail to the Ale

New one room street corner Micropub opened on 6th September and is owned by the local Morton Brewery. Very simple and traditional, no gambling machines, music or TV's. No hot food but pork pies, pickled eggs, packets of pork scratchings, crisps and nuts are available. Open 6-10 Thur, 12-10 Fri-Sat and 12-3 Sun.

They have started out with two changing beers from their own Morton Brewery and two changing guest beers with a single changing cider on hand pull. Local wines and standard soft drinks also available. No keg beers/lagers or spirits of any kind.

A very welcome addition to the area, I have been in half a dozen times since it opened and it is always busy. A very promising start, I shall post a more thorough review and rate soon.

On 30th September 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 199 recommendations about 199 pubs]