User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with NickDavies on the Pub Forum

The Weavers, Kidderminster Central, Kidderminster

Pub added by Oggwyn Great
98 Comberton Hill
Kidderminster
DY10 1QH
Phone: 01562229413

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Weavers Real Ale House

Another great review from the Signmeister. The place has been the same for the couple or so years I have been visiting. No music or TV, basic room with a mix of seating, games available and always friendly. Basic decor with a few old photos. All in all a nice experience and another we always do. 8 changing real ales: the Ludlow Black Knight and Fownds Burdon Porter were very good. GO.

On 22nd July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Weavers Real Ale House

Great little Micropub a short stroll down from the station. excellent choice of beers and the two I tried were spot on. Also does a Camra discount. Double this up with the King & Castle and you might not make it to town!

On 11th April 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 928 recommendations about 897 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Weavers Real Ale House

Just a short way down the hill from Kidderminster station, this is a smart shop converted micro pub and the sister venue to the pub of the same name on the other side of town. Like pretty much all shop conversions, it is a simple single room layout with a decent amount of seating and a small servery to the rear. The room is carpeted throughout, as you might expect from a Kidderminster pub called Weavers, and has been decorated with a rather strikingly patterned wallpaper above the half height wall panels. Unusually there is just the one window, next to the entrance, which must make it a little gloomy during daylight hours, with the rest of the front wall covered with mirrors, framed pump clips and a load of hops strung from above. The furniture is dominated by standard tables and chairs which fill the bulk of the room, although there was one high table with stools near the entrance, close to a stack of board games, and some sofas in the rear right corner. The bar runs along the back wall from the rear left corner and sports a rough, wood plank counter and bar back. Various drinks options are listed on blackboards on the bar's canopy, but the beer range is not among them. An old station-style clock that looks like it might have been lifted from the nearby railway museum, hangs from the end of the bar canopy and elsewhere I spotted old cigarette cards, wartime newspaper clippings, plain mirrors, bed pans, old advertisements and shelves full of earthenware bottles. As you would expect from a micro pub, there was no music or TV on a Friday evening, but food was available in the form of tasty looking cobs, stacked at the end of the bar.
The ale range was pretty extensive, with options on this visit comprising Pig Iron HPA and Hog Ore, Coastal Brewery Pier Porter and Hop Monster, St Austell Cousin Jack, Three Tuns XXX, Weatheroak Hill Gold and a stout from an unidentified brewery. Three real ciders were also available with a fourth having recently been taken off and the keykeg selection consisted of six beers from Magic Rock, Fourpure, Hackney, Wiper and True and the like. All keg beers were priced between £3.50 - £3.70 but my cask pint of Pier Porter was just £2.90 and rather lovely too.
This is a pretty good example of a well set-up micro pub, offering a comfortable environment in which to enjoy some well kept beer and I have to say that on a busy Friday night, it felt very much like a normal pub, such was the lively atmosphere. I think I preferred the sister pub on Park Lane, but this is still one of the town's top ale destination pubs and should be a default addition to any local pub crawl.

On 29th March 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2342 recommendations about 2342 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Weavers Real Ale House

2nd visit.

Love the beers - great choice and in perfect condition. An excellent three tuns.

Just prefer my pubs with a bit of architectural history.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2ieHy8w

On 23rd December 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 276 recommendations about 275 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Hurdle left this review about Weavers Real Ale House

Heading to my last liquid refreshment before "the match", I walked straight past the small 'micro' entrance without seeing it! Walking back up the hill I was definitely in need of refreshment. A nice sight of 12 handpumps greeted me. It might have been six and I was seeing double so I thought I had better move quickly before six of them disappear! After the first pint, I moved on to the Three thirds testing tray. A 2nd tray proved that there were more than six beers. As I was now seeing 24 pumps, I decided it was time for the match!
I decided to show my bus pass rather than my CAMRA card so I could enjoy my first ever Pensioners Concessionary Beer!
This pub and their sister pub "Weavers at Park Lane" are both viewable on Google View Inside.

On 24th October 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 664 recommendations about 614 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Weavers Real Ale House

As described a single room micro just down the hill from the station and well worth the visit. It has a packing case counter serving a mix of beers and ciders from twelve pulls, Aqualung says five plus five, the ad in CAMRA Worcestershire's mag says 6 Real Ales and 3 Real Ciders but I counted 12 with clips. There's a further six keg taps on the bar-back. As Aqualung partly says there's a nice pubby carpet and proper pub furniture, there's also a couple of settees at the back by the toilets. It offers a 5% discount to CAMRA members and OAPs but not combined - sadly. A classy micro but their Park Lane establishment is a better pub and the Beer Emporium is a better micro but don't miss it when in Kidderminster.

On 7th September 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2133 recommendations about 1981 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Weavers Real Ale House

This micropub is more like a small shop conversion pub than some of them as it has a proper bar with hand pumps and also has a limited range of unusual spirits, I saw English Whisky advertised. It's also on the larger size for a micropub with a single carpeted room and an assortment of low tables and chairs. It was doing a decent trade on my Saturday afternoon visit.
The bar has five beers and five ciders, beers were Wye Valley Butty Bach, Three Tuns XXX & Mild and Fownes Crash Ball & Dwarven Experimental. I went for the mysteriously named Dwarven Experimental which was in excellent nick and as the name suggests is a trial brew. I got the impression that they are big fans of the Fownes Brewery here and I can't blame them for that.
I thought this was easily the best pub visited in Kidderminster and would definitely return.

On 15th October 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Weavers Real Ale House

Called into this 2015 Good Beer Guide micro pub yesterday and what a surprise. A small cosy establishment, small lounge then down a step or two to the bar area, and a good choice of ales available. I chose Wincle brewery Wincle Waller and it was fine. Snack foods and cobs available. A place where you can sit and chat while enjoying your ale.

On 14th December 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Weavers Real Ale House

An excellent example of how to do an ale bar in a modern building, even if the exterior is – as noted below – somewhat inconspicuous. Traditionally furnished L-shaped room, carpeted with wallpaper walls being overtaken by old pump clips/beer mats. Six ales and three ciders, a properly eclectic mix also including a proper mulled cider. My Three Tuns Stout was in good form and served up by friendly barman (friendly service seems the norm in Kddy’s better pubs). A pub with no lager, spirits or alcopops that is also child-unfriendly which will bring up an indignant howl from some quarters but for people like me is a blessing. Really enjoyed my stay here. Kiddy has a decent slab of pubs worth getting off the train for.

On 10th November 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Weavers Real Ale House

I wasn't really a great fan of these micro pubs, but after visiting a few goods ones like this one, I have changed my opinion. The pub consists of one large room with the bar at the rear left hand side. The walls were decorated in a loud seventies style wallpaper, which was slowly disappearing with the numerous pumpclips on the walls.
As soon as we walked in we were made very welcome by the young barmaid and the local drinkers. We were given tasters of the perrys and ciders, which were on the strong side. They had six ales on handpump, so we went for the Malven Hills Wobble and the Three Tuns 1642. The prices were good in here and the beer quality superb.

On 2nd July 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2903 recommendations about 2903 pubs]

Page: 1 2