User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 16th January 2022) with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

Pelt Trader, Cannon Street, EC4

Pub added by hondo .
Arch 3, Dowgate Hill, Cannon Street
EC4
EC4N 6AP

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Pelt Trader

The frontage of the Pelt Trader looks like the entrance to an office, but a couple of steps down from street level and one could be mistaken for thinking this is a cellar bar. The thirteen keg and six real ales are drawn from the back bar. There are a few high tables, but space is mostly reserved for vertical drinking. The television was switched off with no live sports signs, which wasn’t surprising! There was some niche background music playing through a very basic sound system. This place is more for lovers of beer than lovers of pubs.

On 27th September 2019 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3630 recommendations about 3610 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Pelt Trader

You step down into this large one room venue, with a square shaped bar area positioned along the back wall. All their beers and ciders are dispensed from a tap wall along the rear wall. Along with the numerous keg options, they had a choice of five cask ales and one cider. The interior was quite dark, apart from strip lighting, positioned around the bar front and the beer wall illumination. The main features in here was a pelt traders canoe hanging from the ceiling, along with numerous black foam cubes hanging down from the ceiling, obviously to soak up noise and some pictures around the walls of pelt traders. We went for the Five Points Pale, which really hit the spot and priced at £4.20, which was reasonable for the city.

On 20th June 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3036 recommendations about 3036 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Pelt Trader

Different. Unwelcoming modern exterior leads to what feels like an underground cellar, modern fillings and underlit square bar. Good beer.

On 27th May 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Pelt Trader

A rather basic drinking den that I found to be rather lacking in any ambiance, I guess it's all about the beer and there were 7 cask beers and a good number of craft keg, I went for one of these , Burning Sky Arise at £5.00 a pint, some decent beers here but it all left me a little cold, the Euston Taps amongst other places do this sort of thing better, I would try it here again if nearby but wouldn't make a special trip.

On 1st October 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1468 recommendations about 1451 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Pelt Trader

The Pelt Trader is a modern bar which is situated at the side of Cannon Street station.
Once inside there is a single oblong shaped room with the bar to the rear,the floor looks like concrete,the seating is tall tables and and chairs and tall bench seating,there is a canoe hanging above the middle of the room.
There is a decent choice of real ales n the bar and craft keg beers for those who like it,i had a drink of Burning Sky Plateau which went down very well,the other real ales i noted were Kent KGB,Hastings Pale Ale,Dark Star Victorian Ruby Mild,there were a couple more i failed to note.
Decent background music was playing on my Tuesday dinner visit,the pub was also empty as i did it before the dinner time rush.
Not really my sort of pub,but the beer was nice.

Pub visited 26/5/2015

On 26th May 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Pelt Trader

Inconspicuous bar housed behind a the modernised façade of the brick arches carrying the Cannon Street station platforms. Spartan interior, with a limited amount of plain furniture around the 'U'-shaped bar area and just a canoe suspended from the ceiling in the way of decor. Metal bar back housing the eight gravity taps for the cask ales and a total of 12 keg taps for the craft beers. Not all of these are working at any one time, but there are often a fair number of interesting offerings available (e.g. Sunrise from Bristol Beer Factory, £3.80, on my latest visit). Usually a big crowd outside on the pavement at office closing time, but if you don't find the lack of ambience too much of a problem then one can usually find a seat inside. Overall, a reasonable place to stop for a pint of something different.

On 3rd May 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6670 recommendations about 6670 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Pelt Trader

Set into one of the arches underneath the Cannon Street station platforms, this bar was opened in the summer of 2013 by the people behind Holborn Whippet and Euston Tap with the promise of bringing craft beer to the Square Mile. It's an unusual space in which to build a bar, located down two steps into a roughly square shaped room with a subterranean feel to it, despite plenty of light entering through the front archway. The room has a bare concrete floor, whitewashed brick walls and an inevitably high ceiling with a canoe suspended from it, as a nod towards the vague hunting theme within (the Skinner's Hall is located opposite). A square modern servery stands on the back wall with a 'Euston Tap' style row of taps on the bar back. Rows of protruding ledges run down either side supplemented by high stools, whilst there are some banquettes at the front of the room and plenty of standing room in between. The walls have been decorated with some Pelt Trader mirrors and one or two pelts, but the whole themed approach feels a bit half hearted and the place looks a bit bare. Disco music played throughout my stay but it was very hard to hear due to the echo of voices booming through the room. An adjacent arch houses the toilets and kitchen in a space that has been broken up in rather slapdash fashion using rough, exposed blockwork and flimsy partitioning screens.
There is a long row of cask taps on the bar back, promising a varied selection, but as with previous visitors, I found just the one ale (Adnams Mayday) available, which was a great disappointment. The keg selection didn't look that much healthier to be honest, although this could be the result of the confusing, messy system of detailing the available brews using blackboards mounted above the taps. I opted for a half of the Kernel Pale (£5.40 a pint) which wasn't great. Other keg options included Camden Wit and Adnams Mosaic.
This was a disappointing visit, not only for the lacking range of beer but also the rather soulless interior. I wonder if the demand for craft beer in the city is considerably lower than anticipated when opening this venture, as the restricted ale choice suggests throughput issues. I'd probably pop in if passing to see if there was something interesting on, but I wouldn't make the effort to specifically return here.

On 23rd June 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2681 recommendations about 2681 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


paulof horsham left this review about Pelt Trader

A large square bar confronts you after entering the Pelt Trader; adorning the wall behind are a range of taps dispensing ale & craft keg in a style familiar to patrons of the Euston Tap or Holborn Whippet, each accompanied by a mini blackboard advising name & brewer, price and ABV. I tried to count and came up with 8 or so ale taps and about 16 or so for lager and craft. The bar offers a good selection from some of London's new micros, such as Kernel, Brew By Numbers, Redemption and Camden and at fairly reasonable prices (£3.60 - £4.00 a pint or so). The keg beers are a little pricier, as I'm sure you'll be expecting if you've been keeping up with the scene, but still cheaper than many similar outlets. I tried a selection from across the range and really can't complain.

The room however, could hardly be more charmless. The glass door and neon sign facing Dowgate Hill give no hint of the barren interior, with a number of narrow tables and high stools arranged around the perimeter as well a single alcove nearer the door. The walls are principally 'decorated' with electric cables, sometimes hidden in aluminium ducting, often not. Oh, and there's a canoe hanging from the ceiling.

If you're confined to a wheelchair, you won't be coming here: down 3 or so steps to get in and up & down a similar number if you're visiting the toilets which appear to be in an adjacent archway.

Given the crowds and money passing through, there must be scope for a good 'craft beer' bar within the City. The Pelt Trader however isn't it. As this isn't an area I'm usually around, I'm not so bothered. If, however, I worked in the area, I think I'd be rather disappointed overall.

On 8th January 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 309 recommendations about 296 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Pelt Trader

A previous reviewer comments “The bar is only open Monday to Friday, which can lead to a restricted ale choice if drinking in here on a Friday evening.”
Well let me assure you this place suffers from restrictive ale choice any evening of the week if my recent Wednesday and Thursday evening visits are anything to go by.
Four people last night working the square serving area which fronts the back aluminium wall festooned with all the beer taps, but it was all they could do to keep up with serving those waiting and rescuing glasses so that they had something to put beer in. Consequently there was no effort being made to replace the barrels as they run out and by 8.00PM late night there was only ales at 3% or above 6% on unless you wanted craft lagers, forcing a move on earlier than anticipated.
Well described by previous reviewers, this is a soul less place with terrible acoustics that hanging a canoe from the ceiling can’t really impart any character into, and frankly wouldn’t get a second look if it wasn’t for the fact that Dowgate Hill outside is largely a pedestrianized thoroughfare allowing a decent alfresco space and the beers are very good and reasonably priced as mentioned below.
Included in the real ale offerings last night were Adnams Old Ale and Trinity and Fellowship from the Redemption Brewery and all were well kept.
A good use of train archway space and worth popping in to see what is on if passing but not a Craft Ale destination venue like some of the other recent additions to the London drinking scene IMHO.

On 29th November 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1779 recommendations about 1721 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Pelt Trader

A plain in fact stark exterior and interior but as they say I'm only here for the beer. 20 taps set in the wall serve real ale and "craft keg". Handy for cannon street station.

On 19th November 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2808 recommendations about 2750 pubs]

Page: 1 2