User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with Quinno on the Pub Forum

The Crowd of Favours, Leeds

Pub added by aleand hearty
8 Harper Street
Leeds
LS2 7EA
Phone: 01132469405

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Blue Scrumpy left this review about The Crowd of Favours

Leeds Brewery pub that has a quite modern feel. There are a number of different drinking areas on the ground floor, with a basement bar looking like it might host live music or various events. Toilets are also downstairs.

Leeds Pale, Best & Midnight Bell are the regular ales. Guests were Cameron's Sanctuary & Wilde Child Galaxy. In addition, they also had a couple of Lilley's fruit ciders - Mango Cider and Cherries & Berries.

An above average pub.

On 24th August 2021 - rating: 6
[User has posted 869 recommendations about 869 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Crowd of Favours

The Crowd of Favours is situated on a side street which is fairly close to Leeds bus station.
Once inside there is a fairly long oblongish shaped room with the bar facing and running the width of the pub,the floor is bare boarded,the seating is normal tables and chairs and chunky wood tables.
There was a good choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Leeds Best which went down very well,the other beers i noted were Leeds Pale /Midnight Bell /Yorkshire Gold,plus a guest beer called Collingham Journeyman and one from Five Towns brewery.
I managed to get a seat in this pub and thought it was quite a nice laid back pub to have a drink in,funky background music was playing during my early Saturday evening visit.
This was quite a nice pub to end my crawl in.

Pub visited 8/11/2014

On 8th November 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Crowd of Favours

Much better looking on the inside than the outside, this is a neat two storey bar. Well described below by PSM which saves me the trouble. The bar was buzzing on my Friday evening visit and my pint was in very good condition. I suspect Ms CAMRA will love it, so I've no doubt I'll be coming back here.

On 5th February 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2927 recommendations about 2845 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Crowd of Favours

The Crowd of Favours is an unusual, modern bar operated by the Leeds Brewery, housed in a former fish and chip restaurant in a rather unfashionable part of town. The bar presents a smart, if somewhat bland, image on approach, but once inside, there are a few interesting features that make it stand out a bit. On the left hand wall for instance, there is a large, slightly surreal, graffiti-style piece of art covering the entire wall. The exposed floorboards appear to have been retained from the restaurant and the rest of the ground floor has been fitted out with a mix of seating options, much of which looks like reclaimed furniture, which seems to be in vogue with this sort of bar at the moment. The large, open right hand end of the room had more standard seating options and looked like it would be the obvious choice for anyone hoping to enjoy some food. The room has been decorated with a lot of old pictures and various bits of brewerania, which is also a theme in the large, open plan cellar bar downstairs. This space has plenty more seating, an upright piano and exposed brick walls and I thought it was quite aesthetically pleasing. Food is served most of the day and a quick glance at the menu revealed most mains around the £10 mark, which seems to be par for the course in Leeds Brewery pubs.
Two banks of hand pumps offered four Leeds ales - Pale, Gold, Best and Gathering Storm - and three guests in the shape of Collingham Winter Warmer, Sonnet Ultimate Sacrifice and Red Willow Heartless with the last clip reversed. The Heartless was in good condition and went down very well. I was also quite happily enjoying the Winter Warmer until Ray, not unreasonably, pointed out that I was drinking his pint. Sorry Ray!
I think I marginally preferred this pub to the Brewery Tap although they both have their good and bad points. This place seems to have a lot going for it, with live music, quizzes and a cinema night and provides an interesting counterpoint to the neighbouring Duck and Drake.

On 18th December 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2620 recommendations about 2620 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Crowd of Favours

The Crowd of Favours has an L shaped bar area with seating to the right and stairs down to a basement bar that has exposed brick walls and some more seating. My recent Friday visit was not long before an advertised funk and soul disco that takes place in the basement bar. There was some low background music playing and I didn’t notice any television screens.
I think that I counted eight hand pumps alongside some standard and premium draught products.

I had a decent pint and the atmosphere was fairly good. I wouldn’t go out of my way to visit here again, but I would have no problem popping back in for a pint if passing.

On 17th December 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3599 recommendations about 3579 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Crowd of Favours

This is a well run pub and is well worth a visit, plus it's right next door to the Duck and Drake. We visited here with the few remaining PG members and the pub had a good atmosphere, especially when us lot got in there. I was quite full to the top at this point and went for the Leeds Pale. The downstairs had settees and was trendy in décor. The majority of the people downstairs were drinking wine. The service here was good.

On 5th December 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3035 recommendations about 3035 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Crowd of Favours

Trendy conversion in a narrow tapered building that results in a range of different spaces around and beyond the bar. Further seating area down in the basement. Five beers from Leeds Brewery (including Gathering Storm, £3.25) plus three guests. In the rather run-down Kirkgate Market area, but justifiably busy.

On 19th October 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6591 recommendations about 6591 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Crowd of Favours

Leeds Brewery's latest pub/bar in the city, partly housed in an old chippy. The front is a long thin room in the usual trendy grey paintwork with the counter at the back. Two banks of four pulls serve a range of Leeds Brewery beers on one bank with guests on the other. The counter itself is a glass fronted bookcase. To the left is a small alcove with punk style decor including a Betty Boop like mural. At the back is a rather pubby sitting room in a faux 1930s style and complete with four more pulls serving the core Leeds range. Given the style of decor and that bars of this type were often known as four ale bars this may be a visual joke. There is a downstairs as well but I didn't explore it on this occasion.

On 18th August 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2437 recommendations about 2241 pubs]