User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with Quinno on the Pub Forum

Pie & Ale, Manchester

Pub added by ROB Camra
Northern Quarter Arcade, The Hive. (Off Lever Street)
Manchester
M1 1FN

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Rob Hunter left this review about Pie & Ale

For some reason, Pie & Ale was absolutely dead on our latest visit (which was a Saturday night). I have genuinely never seen it so quiet. Six cask pumps, five of which were on. We stayed for a couple - certainly enough to choose from on the real ale front - and then moved on. I do hope business picks up as this is a bit of an unexpected hidden gem for real ale.

On 14th September 2021 - rating: 8
[User has posted 602 recommendations about 507 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Pie & Ale

Six ales to choose from on our visit in the back bar, so we went for the Oakham Musashi golden ale and the Beatnitz Republic OOH Friend, both were in good shape, but on the pricey side for their low abv. The back bar consisted of the main bar running down the left hand side, with an enclosed seating area behind and an upper mezzanine drinking area above, accessible from a staircase at the far end of the bar. The seating was high tables and stools in the bar area, with a timber clad feature wall, which looked as though it had been constructed from cheap laminate flooring. Some decent rock music was playing at a reasonable level and fellow customers were friendly, one chap recommended one of our beers. The majority of the diners were situated in the main corner section of this outlet.

On 16th October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3035 recommendations about 3035 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Pie & Ale

Further to my previous visit, a return trip was made on Saturday evening and made we made our way to the "other" bar on the right hand side of the main entrance. In this second bar were six cask ales plus one cask cider. Breweries such as Blackjack, Anarchy, Beatnikz, Weird Beard and Thornbridge featured, plus a "Yippee Pie Ale" which I assume to the house beer. A bit of research suggests this is brewed by Eagle (Charles Wells).

My Salted Caramel Lucaria by Thornbridge was spot on; my drinking accomplice had the Mint Choc Chip Ice Cream Pale by Weird Beard. Two unusual ales and very drinkable. A much better experience than our previous visit.

On 15th October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 602 recommendations about 507 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Pie & Ale

Pie & Ale has re-opened after a brief period of closure. Very busy on our Saturday night visit at the end of May. We sat outside but you are basically sat in a dark alley full of smokers and vapers. There were a handful of cask pumps at the bar and we had something by Vocation. Only once sat down did we realise there was another bar in what almost feels like a completely separate building, with a bigger selection of hand pulls. Will know for next time!

On 13th June 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 602 recommendations about 507 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Pie & Ale

As noted it is a modern style bar with 2 rooms and a mezzanine upstairs. 6 handpumps in one part and 2 in the other with 7 beers being served in total. If there's a bar upstairs I don't know as I didn't go up. I thought I was going to dislike this place but it was fine. Then again I was in on an afternoon.

On 11th December 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3434 recommendations about 3345 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Pie & Ale

Modern bar with wooden slat walls which looks good and is unusual. There are some dining tables and chairs and also some booths behind the bar and a few tables outside, but that's about it. There are 6 handpumps on the bar serving Yippee Pie Ale which is rebadged Wells Eagle IPA (so don't bother) and 5 ever changing guests. On my visit I tried Wilson Potter In Shreds and XT 2. Both were in very good condition. There was 50s/60s music being played at a sensible volume and a chatty barman. It's a good bar and one I'll return to again and again.

On 20th September 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2927 recommendations about 2845 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Pie & Ale

This small corner of the Northern Quarter has been taken over by Bakerie which operates three venues. The first is Bakerie (it’s all about the bread) and the second is Bakerie Wine Store (it’s all about the wine) and finally the third is Bakerie Pie and Ale (it’s all about the pies). The first two venues were of little interest to me at pie o’clock on Thursday evening a couple of weeks ago so I made a beeline for the Pie and Ale.
Wine Store and Pie and Ale share the same venue and I walked through the left hand door to find myself in the Wine Store. This was temporarily closed as some people were huddled together at the rear having a wine tasting session. I was directed through to the right hand side where I found a small bar with six hand pumps and a limited premium draught selection alongside Guinness. This bar faces some high tables that line the right hand wall and there is more seating at the rear including some up steps to the right of the bar.
I went for a steak and ale pie with mash and a pint which came to just under £12. The Buxton Spa was excellent, but I like a rich steak and ale pie with a hint of ale. The pie I received was far too spicy for my liking, like someone had slipped with the pepper pot. I also had to wait well over half an hour which seemed excessive as there were cooling pies everywhere.
I found the background music to be a little loud, but the other punters that were mostly of student age didn’t seem to mind.
Out the front there is some café seating.

A pub this place isn’t, but I would stop off again as my pint was superb and the barman was very friendly. Maybe their advertisement should read ‘Bakerie Pie and Ale (it’s all about the ALE)’.

On 21st August 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3599 recommendations about 3579 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about Pie & Ale

Tucked away behind the Hive building in the Northern Quarter Arcade,the Pie And Ale does exactly what it says on the tin,and has a motto 'It's all about the pie'There are high tables and chairs,snug booths,a small outside drinking area and a fully stocked bar.They have 6 rotating cask ales from local Microbreweries which includes there own Yippie Pie Ale plus a large selection of imported bottle beers and a good assortment of 35 different whiskies.
Opening times are 11am till 11pm Sunday to Thursday and an extra hour longer Friday and Saturday.
Check out the condiment containers housed in stubby beer bottles

On 15th August 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2145 recommendations about 2107 pubs]