User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Real Ale Ray on the Pub Forum

Sandford Park Alehouse, Cheltenham

Pub added by Helen Iwanczuk
20 High Street
Cheltenham
GL50 1DZ

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Sandford Park Alehouse

Camra award winning pub that well deserves its awards. 9 real ales,16 keg and an extensive bottle selection. Quite a plain interior(didn't visit upstairs) with an outside area to the rear.

On 9th March 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2758 recommendations about 2701 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Jillings left this review about Sandford Park Alehouse

Sandford Park Alehouse, offering a large range of real ale and tap beers and lagers. Clean modern lines, make this attractive to the younger drinker.

On 15th April 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 57 recommendations about 52 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Sandford Park Alehouse

Ten handpumps across the bar counter and 16 keg taps served along the back bar. Pieces of coloured paper sellotaped to each handpump indicated the type of beer. So we went for the Titanic Plum Porter and the Salopian Hop Twister, both of which were in good condition. I do agree with Hondo below as I also thought the interior was plain and uninspiring and the choice of piped music that was playing was also drab and boring.

On 3rd March 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Sandford Park Alehouse

A former gay nightclub, this was converted in to a pub a few years back and went on to win Camra’s 2015 Pub of the Year award. Clearly quite some achievement, and consequently I felt obligated to check it out whilst in the area.

It’s a fair sized pub internally, divided in to a few different areas, but with the bulk of the space being an L-shaped room with the bar counter on the left and some doors leading out to a garden area. Flooring was a mixture of carpet and laminate, whilst the colour scheme was a mixture of salmon and cream. Other than a good selection of good beer guides on a shelf in the corner, the décor and accessories were fairly minimalist. A second room off to one side housed a billiards table, and a smaller snug at the front included a brick fireplace and wood burning stove. The barman was helpful and friendly, and quite willing to chat about our preferred ale styles and offer samples to try.

Beers on this occasion were Church End Stout Coffin, Brass Castle Invisible Ink, Wye Valley Butty Bach, Mad Goose Purity, Church End Red Shirt Blues, North Cotswold Tumbling Jack, Oakham Citra, Roosters Italian Job and Saltaire Decennium Pale Ale. Ciders meanwhile were Ross-on-Wye Medium Dry, Devon Mist and Devon Gold. There were a further 16 keg taps behind the bar, although these included cider and lager as well as beer. I didn’t make a note of these, although I did spot a couple from Bristol’s Arbor Ales.

On 28th October 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1749 recommendations about 1684 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Sandford Park Alehouse

I came, like many others, to see if it was worthy of the prize.

National pub of the year 2015. I'm sure it was the Salutation in Ham, so we can only assume that the panel live in Gloucestershire.

Thriving, much beer choice but far to brightly lit for my liking.

Exceptional beer. Excellent Purity Ubu was chosen.

Photos at my blog - http://bit.ly/2d1vJ0u

On 25th September 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 277 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about Sandford Park Alehouse

My favorite pub on my short visit to Cheltenham , very friendly staff and locals with a huge selection of bottled beers , 16 craft kegs taps and 10 hand pulls with a good selection of ales , i tried Glouster Citra , Severn Vale Gold , Glastonbury Sour Power and BBF Milk Stout all in great shape .
Well worth a visit and reasonably priced for the area

On 17th October 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 783 recommendations about 672 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Sandford Park Alehouse

New-style ale house, albeit with much lighter decor than one might expect. Apart from a snug, there is otherwise quite a limited amount of seating inside but a decent rear beer garden. Bar billiards. Real ale from ten handpumps, with a fine selection including Purple Moose Myrtle Bog Ale (£3.20) plus 16 craft keg taps. Local Camra pub of the year, and you can see why. Well worth seeking out.

On 13th September 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Sandford Park Alehouse

In what looks like an original house,this ale house is now the leading light in the Cheltenham real ale scene.The modern interior splits into seperate sections with a front snug to the right,bar billiards table leading round to the bar,a front section and a very charming and large beer garden out the back.The star turn is the ale selection from 10 handpumps with Oakham Citra and Inferno,Salopian Hop Twister,Downton Route 66,Great Oakley Gobble,Celt Experience Maelstrom ,Cotswold Spring Aviator,Gloucester Dockside Dark,a real cider and a pump unused.A very good selection across style and strengths.There is an equally extensive keg selection from 16 taps,and plenty of bottles to have a go at.The young serving team were coping well with a busy bar with stools infront of the pumps,the cobs on the bar at £1.80 were very good and the pub grub menu delivered an excellent meat pie.There was also a large cheese list on one wall.
It's won the local CAMRA Pub of the Year 2014 and I am sure will be in the next GBG.A must visit when in Cheltenham,it's modern and somewhat sterile yet at the very top of it's game on the beer front.

On 20th July 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Sandford Park Alehouse

Very impressed with this bar today and the sheer variety of ales on offer. We had Malvern Hills Feel Good and GWB Hambrook Pale Ale, and there were also 2 Oakham Ales, a Kelham Island Stout, a Bristol Beer Factory beer and one from Downton. Behaind the bar is a clean tidy set of taps, loads of them, similar set up as seen in Euston Tap, London. There are fridges full of foreign bottled beer, and the glasses for them are set up along the front of the bar. Baps with a variety of fillings were brought out at £1.80. Should do well. Good description below.

On 25th November 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Sandford Park Alehouse

St Georges Day last month saw the opening of the Stanford Park Ale House in the premises of the former EXS Gay Club and the Cheltenham Gay scenes loss is certainly the Cheltenham Ale drinkers gain.
I utilised it twice during my weekend in Cheltenham, once during the day and then late on Bank Holiday Monday evening. The bar area supports Ten pumps with nine real ales and a local Cider on the bar , 16 taps for lagers and craft beers on the wall behind the bar and they are aiming for over 100 different bottled beers when all the fridges are going. There is a large TFT screen by the bar which rotates through the ales, lagers and craft beers, telling you what is on and there are booklets on the tables with the available bottled beers. And from what I could see the prices were reasonable. Well, they were when comparing the stronger Craft beers to those I have seen in the Craft Beer Co in Clerkenwell in the Smoke for example, but I will have to leave it up to locals to confirm how they sit for Gloucestershire.
It’s obviously had a significant amount of money spent on it and on entering I got the same vibe as ‘The Pub’ in Leicester, as it has that same modern, very clean but slightly sterile feel to it. However I think this is actually a better venue in that there are three separate room areas internally with seating and one of them houses a bar billiards table to try and recreate a bit of a proper pub atmosphere. Then there is a large garden area outback which was in a very unfinished state at the time of my visits.
It was certainly very lively on the Bank Holiday Monday evening and was attracting a younger crowd, but there were definitely some beer tickers in. One issue for me is that they keep the lighting very high and, although this does make it very bright, you do feel like you are having a beer in a vivarium. We left here and had a last one in the Kemble Brewery Inn as it was close to our hotel and a bigger contrast in pub ambiances you could not make.
All the Ales I tried were spot on, so for the beer quality and choice you have to score it a 10. But for the drinking experience I can’t go above 6, so therefore an 8 overall. And hopefully this place will age well to make it a must visit when in Cheltenham, because frankly there isn’t currently many and Cheltenham could certainly do with another good goto pub.

On 20th May 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]

Page: 1 2