User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Lymestone Vaults, Newcastle Under Lyme Central, Newcastle under Lyme

Pub added by Bucking Fastard
Pepper Street
Newcastle under Lyme
ST5 1PR
Phone: 01782615801

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Lymestone Vaults

Hidden away up a side alleyway in part of a larger former pub, this place now comprises a rectangular bar area and side room at the far end. Nothing fancy, but it offers a reasonable arrangement of tables and lighter-than-expected decor that works quite well. The small rear patio is notable for the hop plants fittingly being grown there. Excellent selection from nine handpumps, mostly Lymestone Brewery's own beers (e.g. Stone Cutter, £1.40 half) plus a couple of guests (including one from Purple Moose). Local Camra award-winner, and you can see why.

On 1st July 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Lymestone Vaults

Hidden down an alleyway this pub doesn't look particularly inviting from the outside. Once inside though it's a different story with two distinct areas, both comfortably furnished. Friendly and efficient service was another bonus. 9 beers on the bar listed in previous reviewers from the PuG crawl. My pint was in good nick although I'm not the biggest fan of Lymestone beers, I was a fan of this pub.

On 25th June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Lymestone Vaults

Initially a little wary of following Real Ale Ray up a seedy looking passage, my mood lifted when in fact it turned out to be the entry to this pub - housed in part of a former pub called the Wine Vaults. The fairly austere painted brick exterior was at contrast to the lighter decor of the interior which, in two areas, formed an L-shape around the bar. I believe there is a garden area. They do some food, but I didn't eat. No TV or music, mixed ephemera on the walls, all-in-all it was tidy. Service was very good and the clientele looked like a group of people off a pub/ale website that met-up every so often! 9 beers, listed by the fastidious Mr F below, and I had a really nice Stone the Crows. I could have sat here all day - a must.

On 21st June 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Lymestone Vaults

Definitely a good destination pub, along with Wellers close by. This was a comfortable pub with lots of seating options between the bar and side room. The décor was bright and jolly with pale green painted walls and white painted timber work, including lots of T & G up to dado height. The staff were friendly and helpful and what with a decent range of handpulled ales across 9 pumps, what more do I need.

On 20th June 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Lymestone Vaults

Yes, you can see why the local CAMRA branch salivates over this one. Hidden away down an alleyway from the High Street this outlet for the Lymestone Brewery is a very good pub.
A comfortable internal space with a decent sized stone flagged main bar area with some tabled seating round the edge and then an additional fireplaced wooden floored room space beyond with additional settee and table and chair seating, and then a small patio garden beyond with a couple of hop plants being grown.
But the main draw is what is on the bar in the form of the nine handpumps, mainly showcasing Lymestone Brewery Ales. For our visit there were seven of the Brewery beers and two guests in the shape of Purple Moose Dark Side of the Moose and Magpie Brewery Jay IPA and apologies to the local Stone brewery but Purple Moose is one of my favourite small breweries and I do like a bit of the Dark Side, and very good it was too.

On 19th June 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Lymestone Vaults

Owned by the Lymestone Brewery in Stone,this pub is tucked away down an alley and is easily missed.You enter into the bar room,while at the rear to the side is a square room with sofas,an upright piano and traditional furniture in a lounge arrangement.Drinkers gather around the bar,9 handpumps showcase Lymestone's wares ,which on my trip were Stone Cutter,Stone Faced,Foundation Stone,Stone the Crows,Cobble Stone,Flag Stone and a decent Ein Stein.Two guests completing the line up were Purple Moose Dark Side of the Moose and Magpie Jay.There is a wide selection of ciders and other libations.Popular with the local CAMRA branch,it's a GBG stalward and should not be missed on any real ale crawl.I will stay longer on my next visit.

On 16th June 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Lymestone Vaults

This Lymestone pub was originally a wine bar so whether it was an original pub is unclear. It's tucked down an alley at the West end of the pedestrianised High Street. Inside it's a long narrow room with the bar in front as you enter and a square room at the right side away from the bar.
The interior is clean and modern rather than old and worn but it's still a very pleasant place to stop for a drink.
The bar had seven Lymestone beers and three guests one which I didn't get to note, a rugby themed one and Muirhouse Summit Hoppy. I went for the Lymestone beer I had never seen before the Abominable Stoneman (£3.30). This was an excellent old school 7.0% strong ale but not too sweet and at a very reasonable price.
This is one not to be missed especially if you're not that familiar with the brewery. It also does a number of ciders and is GBG 2016 listed.

On 25th February 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Lymestone Vaults

Excellent pub and obviously an outlet for Lymestone Brewery. 7 of the 10 pumps dispensed Lymestone beers on this visit.

On 10th June 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about The Lymestone Vaults

This 16th century Grade 11 listed building is housed in the former Wine Vaults on Pepper Street,and as Alan Hurdle points out there were 10 casks on the go including various rotating guest beers.Past the bar area on the right is a smart lounge area with a few leather seats a selection of books that are mainly Good Beer Guides and other ale related literature. Definitely worth a visit

On 21st October 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2115 recommendations about 2079 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Hurdle left this review about The Lymestone Vaults

A superb watering hole situated through an archway off High Street. The ten handpumps dispense six ales of owners Lymestone Brewery, plus two guest ales and two ciders.
The main bar area is smartly laid out with a tiled floor of multi pastel colours of various sizes. There is another lounge area just off this room. The food served is of good quality and value. Highly recommended.

On 4th April 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 677 recommendations about 626 pubs]