User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Galore crawls 2020 with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

The Ned Ludd, Nottingham Central, Nottingham

Pub added by Alan Winfield
27 Friar Lane
Nottingham
NG1 6DA
Phone: 01159484221

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Delboy 20 left this review about The Ned Ludd

Decent enough pub right behind the Travelodge. 3 beers on - Home Ales Robin Hood Pale, Little John Proper ale and Batemans Salem porter. The pale was decent if expensive at £4.00 a pint! Had a good time watching a disgruntled motorist rushing from a nearby café as a traffic warden (or parking enforcement officer if you prefer!) circled her car which was on double yellows and blocking a roller shutter door.

On 20th March 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 952 recommendations about 921 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


andy plant left this review about The Ned Ludd

Three nice real ales, good quality pub food, very kind helpful staff....just that bit more than a city centre pub....would thoroughly recommend

On 19th August 2018 - rating: 10
[User has posted 5 recommendations about 5 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The Ned Ludd

The Ned Ludd Is a new pub housed in an older building that has been many things over the years including a restaurant. Originally it was under the running of navigation Brewery so I never went that much because I am not the biggest fan of their beers. However several months ago it was taken over by the far superior Nottingham brewery and now regularly has their beers on the bar which greatly pleases me. The pub is quite narrow with the bar running along the left hand side wall with lots of tables and chairs dotted around and some wood panelling in the centre to segregate the bar area with the tables and chairs that are further back to make it more of a separate part that diners can use. The decor is traditional pub style but with a modern twist and the interior although not as traditional as I usually like but has been done very nicely and is not like the metallic and plastic modern bars you usually see. There is also an outside seating area that runs across the front window but this is quite small and near the road. When navigation first open this place they (unusually for them, a predominantly cask ale brewery) had a very large focus on craft beer and thus had 14 different lines on at their usually silly prices. Not the type to buy into this new craft beer hype I stuck to my usual drink of cask real ale. There are four pumps and two permanently feature the brewery’s two biggest sellers Extra Pale Ale and Legend (both £3.30). The other two feature a constantly changing guest and a rotating Nottingham Brewery beer from their regular line up or one of their seasonal beers that on this visit was their centurion mild. I ordered a pint of legend that was totally off and vinegar which surprised me as they usually take good care of their beer and I would have expected better seeing as they are owned by A brilliant Brewery as their beers in their other outlets in Ruddington and Radford have the beer impeccably kept. It was returned and the girl was in total agreement and swiftly swapped it for a pint of EPA which was well kept. Overall I quite like this place and aside from the hiccup have always enjoyed a decent beer and the new wave craft drinkers will really like it. Very traditional pub goers might see it as too modern but I think it is a good balance between old and new and would be happy calling in here again.

On 23rd April 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 431 recommendations about 431 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Ned Ludd

This is a new(ish) pub, as others have pointed out. They had three ales on, including a couple from Nottingham Brewery, one of which was called “Legend”. And a decent drop it was too. We visited for the last pint (well, a couple of pints actually) of the evening. As it was Friday night they had a small group on, belting out some pop stuff, which of course meant that conversation wasn’t easy. But everyone else in the pub seemed to be enjoying it so obviously they had something going for them.

Being so new it hasn’t got the traditional pub character that I prefer, but it was comfortable enough with mainly traditional furnishings. It certainly isn’t a “must visit” pub, but it did the job after a fashion when we needed a pint or two to settle our stomachs after a curry.

On 6th December 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2551 recommendations about 2469 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Ned Ludd

The pub has been well described by others below. Two navigation beers on hand pump, plus one each from Dukeries and Shipstone. Our round averaged £3.40 per pint, which I find a bit on the pricey side though I suppose it's not unusual for a city centre bar. Though a pleasant enough pub, with so many good ones in Nottingham, this one would struggle to get onto my list for a revisit.

Toilets are down a steep staircase, but there is a ground floor facility for wheelchair users and for baby changing.

On 14th September 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2455 recommendations about 2318 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Ned Ludd

Pleasant modern bar with a mix of furniture and semi-traditional decor, partly compartmentalised by a couple of screens. Narrow patio to one side. Run by Great Northern Inns, also owners of the Navigation Brewery (three of whose ales - New Dawn Pale (£3.00), Daniel Diggle and Pints of Peace - were on handpump, plus Purity Pure UBU as a guest).

On 26th April 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5831 recommendations about 5831 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Ned Ludd

This pub, formerly the Stop Bar, refers to itself as a craft beer venue, but stylistically has very little in common with the way craft beer bars are presented in most major UK cities. I found this to be a rather smart and comfortable place with a definite pub (rather thank bar) feel to it. The place has a decent sized interior with the bar immediately to your left upon entry, sporting a dark wood counter, white tile bar back and a slightly unusual series of huge spot lamps where you might normally expect to find the gantry. The bar area has tiled flooring, but there are generally bare boards throughout, with the exception of a small carpeted seating area focussed around a nice decorative fireplace with a number of mirrors on modern wallpaper above. Standard chairs and banquettes fill the majority of the room, save for a couple of high tables and stools close to the entrance. The décor is fairly straightforward and clean, with a white tiled wall to the rear and a nicely wood panelled wall alongside the bar both covered in a large array of abstract black and white photographs - an interesting alternative to the usual historic local scenes you tend to find in most pubs. A centrally positioned pillar and some partitioning screens do a surprisingly good job of breaking the room up, making it feel a little more intimate than it might otherwise have done. Music played throughout my late night Wednesday visit, which was too late to enjoy any food in the upstairs dining room.
Beer menus on each table bring us back to the pub's craft beer aspirations and I think I counted 14 keg beers and ciders, covering a range of brewers from the familiar to the obscure from the UK and further afield. This is complimented by a good bottle list, mostly from the UK and US, plus a few cider options and crucially, four cask ales, which on this visit were Shipstones Original and Navigation Middling, Daniel Diggle and New Dawn Pale. I sampled a pretty good pint of the New Dawn Pale - served by a smiley barmaid on a fairly quiet mid-week evening. The Shipstones is a permanent fixture, as are beers from the Navigation brewery, so there might not be a great deal of variation in the ale range between visits.
I found this a very comfortable place to settle down over a drink or two and could imagine it's the sort of place that non pub going friends might be happy to visit. The ale range might lose some appeal after repeat visits, but given that I live 150 miles away, that shouldn't prove a problem for me and I would happily return.

On 31st March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2362 recommendations about 2362 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Ned Ludd

It was good to visit here and try the Shipstones bitter, which I found to be quite good. There were two ales on from Navigation Brewery and an Elgoods which was past its best. The Pub had plenty of seating both inside and out. The bar was made from some reclaimed timber and there were cream and red floor tiles in front. The walls consisted of areas of some polished panelling, distressed painted panels and a wall tiled section at the back. There was music playing in the background, which was light jazz. There was an eclectic mix of photos and mirrors around the walls at the far end of the lounge.

On 18th July 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2915 recommendations about 2915 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Ned Ludd

Third visit to this pub and it's calmed down a bit. Popped in for Sunday brunch and sampled an excellent pint of Shipstones Bitter and a Brewsters, along with my food. Place was about half full, waiting staff were pleasent and the food was good. I don't mind paying that bit extra if everything is perfect. Will call again.

01/11/13 Original review 5/10

Now called the Ned Ludd after the leader of the Luddite relolution I have a mixed review of this place. We called last Sunday, just days after the opening and had a really pleasent meal and a couple of beers before heading off to watch Nottingham rugby get beaten by Jersey. The place looked very clean and tidy and was occupied by a handfull of diners and drinkers. The manager clucked round his new establishment and insisted on greeting each new customer personally. The staff were also equally cluckey, constantly arranging beer mats and menus in an OCD kind of way. The food was good, I had a plate of fish finger sarnies and some chips whilst the wife had toad in the hole. Beer was well kept, although I stuck to the ale and kept off the keg.

My second visit was on Saturday evening about 6:30pm. The place was rammed at the bar, but empty in the back and we were greeted by a very stressed young lady who told us we couldn't come in because they had "stopped selling beer"?? Confused, I and my 4 friends just turned round and walked out. I can only asume that either thier maximum occupancy had been reached or they had actually run out of beer. I would be very interested to find out which.

I understand that the Ned Ludd is one of the places selling the new Shipstones bitter on draft. however I cannot confirm this.

On 11th May 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Ned Ludd

This building used to be an Indian restaurant,then opened as Stop bar a proper pub with one real ale on,it has now been renamed the Ned Ludd and has more real ales on.
Once inside there is a single oblong shaped room with the bar facing,there is now bench seating to the rear right and normal tables and chairs in other areas,there is a small divider in the middle of the room with tall stools arond it.
There are four pumps on the bar,i had a drink of Shipstones bitter which was a very nice drink,but not as bitter as the original Shippos bitter,this was very expensive for Nottingham at £3.60 a pint,the other beers were Navigation Apus/ Artic blast and a beer from Everards but i could not make out its name,there were lots of craft keg bitters on from Camden and the like,no doubt these would be really expensive.
There is now a seperate restaurant which is upstairs.
The pub was fairly busy on my mid Saturday afternoon visit with a good mixed bunch in.
This pub is ok for a drink but too expensive for more than one.

Pub visited 3/5/2014

On 3rd May 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]

Page: 1 2