User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
WHERE are you drinking RIGHT NOW. with AlanH on the Pub Forum

Water Lane Boathouse, Leeds

Pub added by aleand hearty
2 Canal Wharf, Water Lane
Leeds
LS11 5PS

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Water Lane Boathouse

A converted canal warehouse with a well kept outside courtyard next to the water catering for all tastes.
Our Friday evening visit found the place busy with revellers eating pizzas , which are a speciality and looked good, drinking lager, wine, beer and cocktails.
The atmosphere was good and it's more than big enough to find somewhere quieter for a pint if you don't feel like engaging in the busyness by the bar.
Beers on were Wild Beer Bibble and Saltaire Blonde. The Bibble, whilst not being in the best shape, was decent enough.
An interesting spot to have a beer or a pizza and watch the world and the boats go by but if you're after top quality ale then there are better alternatives.

On 26th July 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Water Lane Boathouse

A good looking old canal warehouse,which used to have a covered dock meaning that the lower seating area give a ducks eye view of the Leeds and Liverpool.There are many refectory style tables and benches around the open plan interior and the large windows fully open in good weather.The bar is at the higher level but isn't huge so a scrum can develop.A lot of kegs but mainly mainstream,while there are two handpumps but my Wild Beer Bibble was not on top form,and the busy barmaid pulled three very short pints in a desperate hurry,but didn't quibble with the top up request.
Lads and lassies on a drinking circuit will enjoy this place,for me it might be better at a quiet time,but there are far better option very close by.

On 8th July 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about The Water Lane Boathouse

The Pour House has reopened as the Water Lane Boathouse, with the launch party being held today. The venue is now run by the same team behind Headrow House and Belgrave Music Hall, so things should be a little more interesting on the beer front.

On 28th April 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 358 recommendations about 343 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Pour House

The Pour House is a modern pub that is housed in an old building which is by the canal.
Once inside there is a decent sized square shaped room which is bare boarded,the bar is to the front right,the seating is bench type to the rear which is down one step and normal tables and chairs to the left,there are also a couple of tall tables and chairs.
I had a drink of Stancill India Ruby Ale which was a very nice drink,the other beers were Ilkley Mary Jane and Leeds Best.
The beer here was decent enough,but i did'nt take to this pub that much.

Pub visited 13/2/2016

On 28th March 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Pour House

Modern bar / restaurant housed in an old canal-side building. Split-level layout, with mostly standing space around the counter and the main seating / dining areas down a few steps beyond. Also has further dining tables on a smaller mezzanine above, together with some wooden patio seating out front. Very busy at lunchtime, with several large office festive meal groups in the house. Four real ales on handpump: Pour Man's Gold (£3.45), Saltaire Raspberry Blonde, Ilkley Mary Christmas and Stancil Red Velvet.

On 27th December 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6002 recommendations about 6002 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Pour House

This was very busy on our Sunday eve visit, with a large group of young trendies swigging out of bottles outside the main entrance. There were four handpumps in operation on our visit and only that I spotted The Stancill Brewery Disraeli, we would have moved on elsewhere.

On 15th June 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Pour House

Called in on a freezing cold Friday afternoon on the way to the Northern Monk Refectory. It wasn't much warmer in here with it being an open plan warehouse conversion. It's all quite nicely done, but there's something missing as it really doesn't feel very comfortable. A small horseshoe shaped bar as you enter through the main doors with 3 handpumps serving Leeds Pale and a Thwaites beer with one unclipped. The Leeds Pale was in decent nick, but not as good as other places visited over the two days we were in Leeds. There were also quite a few young kids in which didn't help the pub atmosphere. We sat down on the long bench to the left of the door and one of the staff promptly started to clean the floor behind it with some foul smelling cleaning solution. Don't do that when people are eating in the pub!!! Luckily we weren't and left soon after he started cleaning. Not impressed at all really, neither was Ms CAMRA and she likes this sort of place much more than I do.

On 11th February 2015 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2854 recommendations about 2775 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Pour House

fairly new bar in the hipster area of Holbeck located in a two storey, old industrial stone building beside the canal. Downstairs is a split level lounge with slightly regimented wooden tables and chairs, the three sided island bar has a brace of handpulls serving Wharfebank beers as well as the not unexpected range of euro-kegs. Some La Chouffe signs hint at better prospects but I didn't see any bottles. The lower floor level is divided from the counter area by a glass and stainless steel barrier and there are a few posing tables and an out of place plinth affair at the edge. Upstairs has the toilets and additional seating. It's a neatly done modern design much in keeping with the current style of the area but probably not much of an addition to the beer supping attractions of Holbeck.

On 11th February 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]