User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Exeter Inn, Exeter

68 High Street
Topsham
Postal town: Exeter
EX3 0DY
Phone: 01392873131

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Ian Mapp left this review about The Exeter Inn

Honest community pub on the edge of town - where the locals drink.

GBG 2022 entry. Large open plan room with long bar. Big TV, with sound pumped through external speakers. It was darts.

Lovely log burner, making for a comfortable Autumn visit. Proper Job in good condition but not quite hitting the heights of the Globe Hotel.... where its probably 30% more expensive.

Friendly land lady.

On 24th November 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 869 recommendations about 861 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Exeter Inn

Popped in for a very swift one before the train, so swift I forgot to make any notes. However I do recall having a chat with the landlord, who proffered me a sample of a lime flavoured beer from the cellar which was rather good of him. My half of St Austell (some sort of IPA?) from one of the four hand pumps was good (NBSS 3+). Always going to feel a tad underwhelming if you do it after the Bridge rather than before but I felt like I got more out of it this time.

January 2014
The ‘other’ GBG pub in Topsham. Open-plan blue and white décor as mentioned by the Soup below but also felt to me like a bit unkempt. The atmosphere generated by the punters was good, felt like a well-used local. Muted football and rugby both on, to a soundtrack of over-loud modern music of no real pedigree. Pool and darts available. Four pumps, featuring two local ales and a cider. My Dartmoor wasn’t up to much at all which put me off trying the other pump. Filled rolls behind the bar for the ravenous. I really didn’t see anything particularly special about this one and felt faintly robbed of 30 extra minutes at the Bridge. Maybe I am missing something here given rave reviews elsewhere? Rated 6

On 22nd April 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4219 recommendations about 4206 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Exeter Inn

This pub is the wrong way round in that the narrowest end of it faces on to the main road. The pub consists of two buildings the oldest of which is the front thatched one with the larger more modern building behind. The entrance is through the front of the rear building which houses the bar and sadly two large TV screens. The older front building which is now to the right has pool, darts and yet another TV screen.
It was empty when I arrived after midday on a Saturday
The bar has just four hand pumps which had Teignworthy Beachcomber, St Austell Hybrid IPA & Diablo Red and Bay Topsail. I was also told by the landlord who was dead keen on his beers that they had a cask of Bays Devon Dumpling on gravity in the cellar. I went for the St Austell beers (£3.50) which were both from their experimental microbrewery and both excellent.
Although all the TVs are a pain (at least people were actually watching them) the landlord makes up for it with his enthusiasm for his beers.

On 22nd April 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


train man left this review about The Exeter Inn

15 October 2009
Cottage Deltic Diesel, Bays Devon Dumpling, Yeovil Ruby, Teignworthy Beachcomber. Pool table & 2 dartboards in room to rt of fairly plain bar. Decent soundtrack, slightly loud, probably reflecting the ebullient guv of 6 yrs, down from Middleton for the last 40, who happily gave us beer tasters and advised the groom not to go thru with it the next day! Admittedly it was dark outside, and I didn't really stray from the bar area, but I have no recall of SD's mutiple buildings, or any thatch, sorry. 7 for great guv & good ale.

ps. Ok, maybe I should have checked first - t'internet confirms this is 'one of the few remaining thatched buildings in Topsham', sorry Soupy

On 15th October 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 411 recommendations about 410 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ed davies left this review about Exeter Inn

Stayed overnight and was very impressed with the entire package - a warm welcome as soon as we walked in, 4 ales on handpump, all in excellent condition. No food served (accomodation is for the room only) and the landlord and lady couldn't be more chatty and helpful finding us somewhere to eat with an 18mth baby. Can't recommend highly enough.

On 8th October 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 13 recommendations about 13 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Exeter Inn

A thatched, cream rendered, multi building pub.

The interior is open plan in blue and white decor, with darts and pool, a large TV that wasnt on and no background music. Lots of memorabilia dotted about. The service was really friendly and had a chat to the landlord, as well as a couple of the locals. The clientele was mixed.

The beer; apart from the tap tosh, there was Hidden Brewery's Old Sarum (that was OK), Teignworthy Beachcomber, which was excellent and Bays Devon Dumpling and Exe Brewery's Exmoor Fox, both of which i didnt try.

Class place, a must visit. Places like this make me pleased i turned to drink in later life.

On 7th September 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]