User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Date for Summer 2022 crawl in Winchester. with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Kingfisher (JD Wetherspoon), Stockport

Pub added by ROB Camra
London Road South
Poynton
Postal town: Stockport
SK12 1NJ
Phone: 01625870990

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Kingfisher (JD Wetherspoon)

Mostly single-storey, new-build 'spoons with a light, contemporary, slightly split-level arrangement of various seating / dining areas around the bar. Also has a reasonable patio beer garden, now extending round the side where numerous wooden benches have replaced a former car park. Reasonable selection of real ales from a total of eight handpumps, with Beartown Kaduna, Buntingford from Mobberley Brewhouse (£2.15) and Coach House Blueberry Classic Bitter available in addition to the standard-issue Ruddles, Doom Bar and Abbot.

On 7th July 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7021 recommendations about 7021 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Kingfisher (JD Wetherspoon)

Surprisingly not mad busy on our Friday eve visit at 6.30, so our service at the bar wasn't a problem, seemed to be more diners, than drinkers. This spacious and modern looking interior, did have a couple of features the first being the glass fronted cask cellar at the end of the pub and a large log burning fireplace found along the rear wall. The pub had a lot of good seating areas and if you wanted a bit of peace and quiet there was a small lounge, tucked away in the far right hand corner. Two banks of five pumps with a good few beers doubled up. We went for the Weetwood Cheshire Cat and the Moorhouses Blonde Witch at £1.99 a pint, which was an excellent price for such an affluent area.

On 16th December 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3092 recommendations about 3092 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Kingfisher (JD Wetherspoon)

A peculiar looking Wethers I thought and a fairly modern one inside. Not that bad, though at one point I thought I may have been auditioning for Splodgenessabounds such was the difficulty attracting staff to serve me. 10 handpulls but once the Wethers 3 were taken out of the equation it was a half decent choice of beers. Two Titanic Plum Porters and a packet of crisps please.

On 15th October 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3447 recommendations about 3354 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Kingfisher (JD Wetherspoon)

The Kingfisher is an original pub albeit a modern one. As such it has a car park and garden area with real grass as well as a paved patio. It's so modern that it's impossible to tell what is original and what has been tacked on by JDW. It's a large open plan room with the bar on the right and split into different areas. The most unusual feature is a visible cask cellar rather like a giant micropub one where the casks are all set up on stillage. One advantage of this is that if you see a member of staff pick up a cask and shake it to see how much is left you can tap on the window and administer a telling off. I assume they have done this as the existing cellar was inadequate and is just used to store the kegs.
It was fairly quiet on my Tuesday afternoon visit but they seemed to be short staffed. The bar has ten hand pumps which had three available soon, the JDW Trio Of Doom with Ruddles doubled, Stockport 14 Arches Mild (which had gone and had to be sent back), Spitfire Gold and Woods Shropshire Lass.
I had the Spitfire Gold as a replacement for the Stockport Mild and it was in excellent condition and a much better beer than I expected.
Apart from the staffing issues and poor beer choice this seems to be a reasonable Spoons.

On 24th May 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve Segar left this review about Kingfisher (JD Wetherspoon)

March 2015 Party of 13 Table reserved. Sometimes Weatherspoons can be hit and miss, busy periods with four or five deep at the bar and only two serving staff or food that can be culinary master pieces to lumps of indescribable mess on your plate. I can only vouch for what we found at this establishment in the positive. It was a Saturday evening 5pm when we arrived and were served quite quickly. Unfortunately, we had not been seated and found the 'free drink' deal at that point but it just meant most party members had two drinks with their meals.
The whole traditional pub menu is covered (although Veggies may struggle for a wide choice) and the prices are very reasonable for the size of portion that you get. Food was delivered quickly and was hot and tasty and well prepared but delivery of deserts took a considerable amount of time. Drinks on offer were usual suspects with a lot of 'visiting' brews and specialty beers listed as well and prices were on the lower than normal side.
If we are back walking in the area then I am sure we would pay another visit.

On 28th March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 77 recommendations about 74 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about Kingfisher (JD Wetherspoon)

The Kingfisher opened as a Wetherspoons in December 2012 and is a bright one roomed pub with a modern interior and a standard selection of cask beers.

On 13th January 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2216 recommendations about 2176 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Kingfisher

The Kingfisher is a fairly large modern pub that is situated just to the south of the centre of Poynton on the busy london road.
Once inside i went into a large and smart room that was carpeted with normal tables and chairs,the pub was very quiet on my late Friday afternoon visit.
There were no real ales on the bar and the keg bitters were Theakston best and John Smiths smooth crap,i had a drink of Theakston best which was a very poor drink.
I was very dissapointed with this pub just the same as the whole of Poynton which is a pretty poor town for beer drinkers.

Pub visited 5/8/2005

On 5th August 2005 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]