User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - July 2020 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

Northern Monk Refectory, Manchester

Pub added by ROB Camra
10 Tariff Street
Manchester
M1 2FF
Phone: 01610000000

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Al Bundy left this review about Northern Monk Refectory

With its head firmly up its arse this outlet for Northern Monk beers just reinforces the fact that expensive doesn't equate to good. Full of easily pleased 20 somethings being oblivious to the fact they're being ripped off good style. A number of overpriced craft nonsense available.

On 5th October 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3387 recommendations about 3302 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Northern Monk Refectory

Used to like Kosmonaut, the previous bar at this site. Sadly it's now a ripped out soulless barn. Even the robots mural in the rear room has gone to be replaced by bare drabness, I hated it on sight. Then I was charged a rip off £5.50 a pint for one of their own 5% cask beers that had travelled all the way from Leeds and hated it even more. Mainly bare brick walls with a few prints around. Is it trendy now? HTF would I know. Won't be going again!

On 27th March 2019 - rating: 1
[User has posted 2855 recommendations about 2776 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Northern Monk Refectory

We called in here on a Thursday evening looking for some cask ales and disappointingly they had none available, no problem as the barman advised us to visit the Beatnikz Republic Bar across the road. We did make a return visit on Saturday eve, to find TT Landlord, which seems to be one of their regular guest beers. Their only other option was a Festive Stout on handpump, however if you're into craft, they had a choice of twenty two.

On 3rd March 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Northern Monk Refectory

There are two large, rather austere rooms, the walls are bare brick, beams on the high ceiling, the flooring is wood, furniture is a mix of high and low tables, chairs and bench seating. They offer up to four cask ales, but only TT Landlord was available on my visit,there are twenty two numbered keg taps along the back wall behind the long bar in the left sided room as you enter up a few steps from street level,most of the taps had an offering and I tried Northern Monk Eternal, very bitter in taste ,but decent all the same.One for beer tickers rather than casual pub goers, I quite liked it.

On 24th October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1327 recommendations about 1313 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Northern Monk Refectory

Paid a visit to the newly opened Northern Monk Refectory on Saturday evening. There are four hand pulls at the bar for cask ale but surprisingly only one of their own beers on cask, which was Eternal - the other cask ale was Tim Taylor Landlord, which seemed a bit out of place really. The two other cask pumps were not in use at the time of my visit. There is also a massive array of 20 keg taps on the back wall, with three of those out of action. We went for the Bombay Dazzler on keg, which was perfectly fine. Very busy on Saturday evening, though I don't recall the service being inefficient. I'd probably go back at some point but not in any mad rush.

On 15th October 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 520 recommendations about 473 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Kosmonaut

Has now expanded into next door and is three times the size with the new room having a food servery and an interesting mural / wallpaper on the wall. There are now 4 handpumps on the bar which on our visit were doubled up with 2 Ticketybrew beers on each pair. The Pale was a decent pint although several of their other brews aren't to my taste. It was pretty busy on our visit, so it looks like it's doing well.

29/12/2012
New, fairly basic one roomed bar on the edges of the Northern Quarter. A row of comfortable sofas on the left and the bar on the right pretty much sums up the furnishings. There's a great Walk / Don't Walk sign flashing on the wall though. Apart from this there's a few other seats dotted around and a few stools at the bar. A pretty high calibre selection of lagers and a single handpump which was dispensing Kelham Island Captain Crimbo. I'm always a little wary of bars like this having a handpump as they often don't have the throughput for cask ale, but my pint was in very good condition. The bar still looks like a work in progress, but the beer was certainly finished well. Good start guys, hope you keep it up. I'll call in again soon.

On 20th January 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2855 recommendations about 2776 pubs]