User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Queen's Picture House (JD Wetherspoon), Liverpool

Pub added by john mcgraw
47-79 South Road
Waterloo
Postal town: Liverpool
L22 5PE
Phone: 01519492070

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Queen's Picture House (JD Wetherspoon)

Two banks of five pumps, with Ruddles and Abbot spotted, but no Doom Bar. The rest were all interesting including a few dark beers. I went for the Pool Street Porter at £1.05 for a half, which was very enjoyable.

The pub itself has a semi industrial feel, some bare brick, exposed ducting, wiring trays and the like on the ceiling. It is fairly open plan but not as barn like as some Spoons pubs can be. There is a prominent wide staircase which leads up to the toilets.

It's a Spoons, you kinda know what you are going to get, but this is one of the better ones in my opinion.

On 29th December 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 540 recommendations about 481 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Queen's Picture House (JD Wetherspoon)

vast Wetherspoons barn with a decent selection of ales. It seemed pretty standard for me but i was in a rush so didn’t linger for too long. Good selection of guests along with the usual GK rubbish on the bar. It made little impression really.

On 14th December 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 773 recommendations about 754 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Queen's Picture House (JD Wetherspoon)

A very modern 'Spoons' shop conversion, with a more rugged industrial designer feel than their older styles. The bar is in the larger left side, with the adjoining room housing the kitchen and more used for eating. A fair range of ales alongside the usual suspects; the sampled Titanic Black Ice was in very good form.

On 12th April 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2268 recommendations about 2216 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Queen's Picture House (JD Wetherspoon)

The name of this Wetherspoons pub close to Waterloo station, suggests that it will be one of the company's fine cinema conversions, but unfortunately the name only reflects the fact that a cinema was built on this spot back in 1913. The cinema was eventually converted to Pearson's department store in the 1960's, so what you find now is a rather typical shop conversion, split into two distinct sections with some cinema themed bits dotted around to confuse the matter further. The entrance takes you into the left hand section of the pub with the servery along the left hand wall. The bar has a surreal back decorated in day-go mottled colours which really catches the eye on entry. The room is rectangular in shape with a few brick pillars throughout which nicely break up the sightlines. High tables and stools run throughout the centre of the room with standard seating and a few large benches to the front under large shop-style windows, whilst the rear section of the room offers comfier lounge furniture and a view of the open kitchen. The whole room has a slightly industrial feel to it, with big girders crossing the ceiling and various pipes and vents on show. The second room to the right is a narrower version of the main area with carpet throughout and a lot of standard chairs and benches. The left hand wall is exposed brick whilst to the right there is a weird display that looks like something from a builder's merchants, consisting of various different building materials set against each other. Cinema themed pictures are on display along with some large film reels and some fake cogs. The main bar was pretty busy on my very late Wednesday evening visit, but I almost had the side room to myself.
There were three 'Spoons regulars and four guest ales on the bar when I arrived, along with two Coming Soon clips and an unused pump. I tried a pint of the Big Bog Peat Bog Porter for £2.09, which was absolutely sublime and slipped down very nicely as my final pint of the day.
I seem to have had a bit more luck on the beer and clientele front than the previous reviewer and have to say that despite being a shop conversion, I left the place with a favourable impression. This isn't one of the chain's top pubs, but it seems to do the basics well enough and certainly looked popular with the locals. You could come to Waterloo and spend all your time in micropubs, but this solid Wetherspoons makes a pleasant diversion and I'm glad I found the time to stop by.

On 20th May 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2545 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Queen's Picture House (JD Wetherspoon)

This gets its name from a cinema that used to be here before the furniture shop that was here before Wetherspoon turned up. Inside it looks like it was once two shops with the bar area in the left hand one and the dining area in the right. There is some exposed brickwork and a load of tatty looking old film reels on one wall. I thought the whole place had a half finished look rather like a London Antic pub. There was a table of young shrieking Harpies near me who were playing each other rubbish music tracks from their phones and shrieking along to it. I noticed they all had leg attire that was ripped at the knee, a fashion statement I intend to follow next time I fall over after too many wine gums.
The beer choice from the ten hand pumps was pathetic with two unused, three available soon, the JDW Trio Of Doom, Vale Gravitas and Hanlon's Firefly.
I went for the Gravitas which wasn't too clear or that good.
I thought this one was hopeless.

On 17th April 2017 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Queens Picture House (JD Wetherspoon)

Modern 'spoons with a slightly unusual arrangement featuring a large side room with a much higher ceiling than the main bar area. Also has a greater variety of furniture types than most. Reasonable selection from the two banks of five handpumps, with the Marston's single-hop El Dorado coming in at a very reasonable £2.09.

On 9th April 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Queens Picture House (JD Wetherspoon)

A deceptively large Wethers. Split into 2 areas the servery is to the left on entering. Lots of pictures of cogs and wheels plus movie pictures. A central staircase leads up probably to the toilets. 10 handpumps on the bar. Its a large and airy place with the usual Wethers bumpf on the tables. Its OK without being great.

On 7th March 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3390 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Queens Picture House (JD Wetherspoon)

This Spoons used to be a large furniture shop. Spoons have adorned the walls with old film reels and have named it the Queen's Picture House. There is a cinema at the top of South Rd, maybe that's were their idea came from. This is a good sized Spoons and as you enter, the bar area is along the left-hand wall. There is also a good sized drinking area outside. Eight ales on offer on our visit, I went for the Moorhouses Blonde Witch.

On 23rd June 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]