User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 14th August 2022) with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Parcel Yard, N1

Pub added by paulof horsham
Kings Cross Station
N1
N1C 4AH
Phone: 02077137258

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Parcel Yard

Enthusiastic conversion of old station buildings with a multi-roomed layout retaining some of the original features, adding many more and sprinkled with railwayana as decoration. The bar is towards the back, past a couple of side areas and a central room, with a long room ("the waiting room") the other side overlooking the platforms. Also several meeting rooms and a large bar upstairs which opens at busy times or is available for functions. As mentioned in previous reviews, a good selection of ales from the wider Fuller's range, including Gales and Dark Star, usually with a guest which on this occasion was Adnam's Mosaic. Also as mentioned in previous reviews tends to be pricey, as does the food, however it is invariably popular, unsurprisingly with rail travellers but also just about pulls off the trick of being a destination in its own right.

On 12th February 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2676 recommendations about 2619 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Parcel Yard

Interesting layout created at first-floor level at the north end of the dramatic new ticket hall. Lots of different rooms and semi-open seating areas, some with windows overlooking the platforms. Also has an upstairs Loft Bar (never visited). Total of 12 handpumps, usually offering the core Fuller's / Gales range of Pride, Seafarers, Oliver's Island, ESB (£4.95) and HSB. On this visit, these were supplemented by the Holly Bush and the regular Butcombe Bitter as a guest. Also has a display of Vintage Ale bottles dating back to the 1990s, perfect if you want to spend up to £230 for drink! Not cheap, but very good for a station pub.

On 20th January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 7108 recommendations about 7108 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Parcel Yard

Well thank Christ I am back here waiting for my train. Have actually got a seat overlooking the concourse. And a pint of ESB to boot. Will have another one before the train. Whenever I've been here it has always been packed and tonight is no exception. Still got served fast enough, mind you. Only a destination pub for me because of my train, mind you. Worth a visit, maybe in the afternoon?

On 19th October 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Parcel Yard

Arrived at about 17:30 on a friday afternoon, the entrance is right next to platform 9 3/4 (The Harry Potter thing). The place was packed with suits and power dressing women on their way home. The best selection of Fullers beer I have ever seen, along with some guests including a Mild from Castle Rock. The decor is very neutral, being painted mostly off white, but it is nice to see that they have kept many of the old railway architectural features. toilets were very clean and smell free. I don't think I will be going back, the place is just a bit too fake and although I like Fullers, I like to sample other beers more. PSMs review is pretty spot on and I don't have much to add. If you are in Kings Cross, I would recommend, but not really a destination pub.

09/09/13 Well, I went back, this time on a Monday lunch. Much more pleasent place to be, nice and quiet, just a few drinkers, eaters and business lunchers. Usual rack of Fullers on the bar with offerings from Brains and another micro. Much better experiance this time and much better than the bar at StPancras.

10/10/16 I have been back to the Parcel yard several times since 2012 and every time it has been different. Sometimes rammed, sometimes deserted. The beer is always good and the last time we went in we ate there. Really good burger and some fries in a tin bucket at a decent price. The Parcel yard has been my favourite StP/KX drinking spot for a while now, however, the bar at St Pancras has recently been refurbished and there are some great drinking spots opening up by the canal just north of the station.

On 10th October 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Parcel Yard

Well worth seeking out and was impressed with the layout and theme. They had the full range of Fullers ales and a couple of guest on our visit. Mrs A went for Windsor and Eaton Kohinoor, whilst I played safe and had a pint of Pride. A bit of a walk to the loos, but it was good to have a stroll and a nose around the place.

On 25th February 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3126 recommendations about 3126 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Parcel Yard

The Parcel Yard is a Fullers pub located on the 1st floor within Kings Cross Station. A flight of stairs lead up to a few tables and chairs outside the entrance, but there is also a lift for the less able or for those carrying heavy luggage.

The interior is a maze of different seating areas, the majority of which have been designed to be like train station waiting rooms. This sounds awful, but it actually works very well in this sprawling pub. The bar is located along the rear wall where premium draught products are available alongside twelve hand pumps that were drawing the full Fullers range, St Austell Rug and Roll, Five Points Brewing’s Railway Porter as well as Butcombe’s Bitter and Haka. Food is available and the breakfast option seemed popular during my recent Monday morning visit. I spotted a couple of plasma screens on stands that were showing rolling BBC News and there is also a departure board. There was some background music playing, but the volume was so low I wondered what that point of it was.

I found the service to be polite enough, but I’ve had better pints of Pride as the one I received was a little cloudy. They probably would have changed it, but I couldn’t be bothered to walk all the way back to the bar. I would have no problem returning here as it is a comfortable spot for a pre train journey beer/meeting point.

On 12th October 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3948 recommendations about 3925 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Parcel Yard

Situated in the old GNR parcel office at one end of King's Cross Station concourse and takes a little finding if you’re unfamiliar with the terrain (ask a policeman!). Pretty large inside, broken up into myriad sections over two floors with a nice sunny middle section that is almost entirely enclosed by wood and glazed-screen drinking corridors; ‘labyrinthine’ as described below. Décor is relatively bland but they have retained quite a bit of the original railway architecture plus some general rail ephemera. It’s a Fullers place so it’s their beer with the odd guest or two. Beer is usually in decent shape though prices are – as noted elsewhere – very high. Service levels are variable, don’t be surprised to find the toilets completely out of all useful amenities. Worth sampling.

On 18th April 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4423 recommendations about 4408 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Parcel Yard

This is apparently the largest station pub in the country and Fuller's have done a decent job here in converting the old station parcel office with lots of original features retained and materials reused. The glazed screens between the multiple separate areas look original and items such as station benches, suitcases on luggage racks, parcel sacks, station clocks and railway signage give a warm feel of the bygone age of railway travel. A caged off area contains bottles and may be an off sales area out of pub hours, it looks like an old fashioned train guards van. Floors are boarded with the odd rug or two, tables are made from reclaimed timbers and seating is mostly traditional. A side room has platform views and a train indicator board helps to ensure you reach your platform on time.
Pride, Chiswick, Seafarers, HSB, a new one to me, Oliver's Island plus guest Moles St Elmo's Fire (£4.39). It isn't cheap but it is really rather good, is it me or are station bars finally shedding their downmarket image and moving on up? Food served, again not budget prices, F&C £12.50, steak and ale pie and the works £13.25.

On 30th March 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1695 recommendations about 1669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Parcel Yard

The Parcel Yard is situated at the back end of Kings Cross station concourse,so very handy for a quick walk to St Pancras station.
Once inside there is a olblongsish shaped room with the bar to the rear,the main room is divided into different seating areas,all full om early Saturday evening visit,there are also corridors which have old style station bench seats.
The pub is a Fullers tied house,there was a very good choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Fullers Chiswick Bitter which went down very well,the other beers i noted were ESB,London Pride and there were guest beers By the Horns Diamond Geezer /Hopster,Butcombe Bitter and Windsor & Eton Knights of the Land.
I really liked this pub,i had a drink in one of the corridors,i was half expecting to hear a steam train and whistle to go off,or Harry Potter to wander through looking for platform 9 and 3 quarters.

Pub visited 14/2/2015

On 14th February 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about Parcel Yard

This large, rambling Fullers outlet is housed in the former GNR parcel office at King's Cross Station. It consists of two main bars on two floors plus several rooms, nooks and crannies. It's an interesting conversion and a good use of otherwise redundant space. Free wifi is on offer, but this time I had trouble connecting. Staff were polite and efficient, while the majority of the clientele were transients. The full range of Fuller's beers is on offer, and there is an interesting selection of bar snacks to complement the restaurant menu. There were 12 handpumps on the main bar, two with guest ales on. I had a pint of Lancaster Amber Bitter, which was in good condition. The biggest downside is the prices. It's expensive, even by London standards. OK to drop in when travelling but I wouldn't come here to eat and drink otherwise.

On 12th June 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2911 recommendations about 2878 pubs]

Page: 1 2