User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 15th September 2019) with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Broad Chare, Newcastle Upon Tyne

Pub added by peter ashworth
25 Broad Chare
Newcastle Upon Tyne
NE1 3DQ
Phone: 01912112144

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Broad Chare

Surprisingly smaller than I expected, with two rooms on the ground floor, a small lounge and bar side separated by a timber partition, plus a staircase leading to a first floor restaurant. This pub was very well kept and the customers and staff were respectable. Quite a haven from the hustle and bustle of the nearby quayside bars and pubs. Four handpumps serving Bass, Titanic Plum Porter, Out There Brewing Alpha Lupi and Wylam Writer's Block. We went for the Out There Brewing and Wylam, both were very well kept. The bar area had an oak counter top, with a dark grey painted bar front, along with some coat hooks. Mosaic tiling around the bar area was a nice feature, along with the low ceilings.

On 7th August 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2844 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Broad Chare

Decent selection of ale in this one without it breaking any records. Would probably revisit if in the area.

On 4th December 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1423 recommendations about 1421 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Broad Chare

Set slightly back from the Quay, between the Tyne and Millennium bridges, this is a rather fancy looking pub and restaurant that seemed an oasis of calm on a Saturday night compared to the antics on the other side of the Tyne Bridge. You enter into a smart main bar area with some nice mosaic tile flooring giving way to plain bare boards. The servery is down the right hand wall and has a fairly standard counter and a pump clip lined bar back. Seating here is limited to a few high stools under the front windows and along a ledge opposite the bar. The ledge forms part of a partitioning screen which obscures the bar from a comfortable lounge on the left hand side of the room. Here you will find long padded banquettes and some standard chairs in a pleasant space decorated with dried flowers, eclectic photos and various objets d'art. Elsewhere, décor includes horseshoes, blackboards and straw animal heads - all a bit eclectic and odd but it works relatively well in creating a slightly off-beat look to what is otherwise quite a straight-laced establishment. The first floor houses a restaurant that seems to garner favourable reviews, although I didn't manage to get a proper look up there as I wasn't eating. I could also hear what sounded like the thump of a bass drum, suggesting that live music might be playing somewhere, but I was not able to establish whether this was the case or not.
There were four ales available on handpull on my Saturday evening visit - Out There The Writers Block and Space is the Place, Mordue Workie Ticket and Bootleg Lawless. I plumped for a pint of Space is the Place and thought it was in reasonable shape without being truly memorable. Two real ciders were also available and the staff were prompt and courteous without really offering the warm welcome that had otherwise characterised my time in the North East.
This is a pretty good pub that does a number of things well - the beer range is interesting enough to appeal to drinkers and the food seems to have a well earned reputation should you want to visit for a meal. The place has a fairly universal appeal in terms of its layout and décor without really brining too much to the plate in terms of originality. A good place to enjoy with the other half, but not up there with the best the city has to offer.

On 13th May 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2313 recommendations about 2313 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Broad Chare

Been back here several times since my initial review. Nothing has changed it's still a good place for a quiet pint.

14/05/2014
Very smart two floored bar. The upstairs area is mainly used for dining during food service times. The downstairs has some dining tables and chairs on one side of a screen, on the other there are a couple of high tables and stools. There's an interesting range of bar snacks including crispy pigs ears. Three ales available on our visit and the two I tried were in very good nick. Ms CAMRA enjoyed her red wine as well. It's a pleasant place to while away an hour, so I guess we'll be back soon.

On 5th September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2706 recommendations about 2635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Broad Chare

Modern bar set in an old grain store/warehouse. Ground floor bar is split in two by a dividing screen (with lots of china dogs lining its shelf). The main bar is modern and fairly spartan what with its charcoal grey tones but the mini chequerboard tiled floor is of note. The banquette seating behind the divider is a much more agreeable place to sit. Upstairs is a restaurant area which I didn’t explore. Nice bogs with an unusual trough sink. Four ales on - mainly local, my Cullercoats was decent if slightly listless. Two real ciders in addition. A ‘coming soon’ cask ales board listed some interesting choices. It’s fair enough but not one I’d be prioritising next time. 6.5

On 6th July 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3904 recommendations about 3892 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Broad Chare

The ground floor has two areas divided by a screen, one side has the bar where the seating is mostly at stools, more comfortable seating around the corner where there are proper tables and banquette seating. A room upstairs seemed to be for meals only so I nicked a quick look and left it. There is some unusual items of decoration, carved wooden dogs abound, there are framed prints of cutlery items, one other of flatfish plus the more usual local scenes. Wooden floors as is becoming the norm, light and airy inside, not a bad little place at all. As well as the meals they do some interesting bar snacks of the old fashioned variety including pig's cheeks, oysters and home made pork crackling.
The gents' toilets have an array of misty eyed Newcastle United memorabilia, I can't vouch whether equality applies in the ladies.
Thornbridge Brother Rabbit, Wylam Writer's Block, Mordue Dark Inception plus one more I can't see thanks to my crappy photo on my phone.
A nice and smart quayside pub, seemingly popular for lunch with older groups who were arriving during my short stay.

On 5th June 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1681 recommendations about 1658 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about The Broad Chare

Smallish bar close to the Quayside,with 4 cask beers on tap, three of which were from The Wylam Brewery.There is a dining area upstairs,and on my visits here the pub seemed to be doing a good trade

On 23rd January 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2061 recommendations about 2025 pubs]