User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with rpadam on the Pub Forum

OHM, Sheffield

Pub added by aleand hearty
West One Plaza, Fitzwilliam Street
Sheffield
S1 4JB
Phone: 01142781000

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Hop

Now with an emphasis on food and rebadged as "American BBQ @ The Hop". There's been a re-jigging of the internal walls to let in more light to the bar area, and there are now "only" eight hand pumps. I spotted two from Ossett and two from Roosters, but we couldn't stand the meaty smell from the kitchen for long enough to make proper notes.

Date of abortive visit: 6th November 2015

On 21st November 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2643 recommendations about 2492 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Hop

The Hop is situated in the West One complex.
Once inside the bar is to the right,the room is L shaped shaped but divided by a wall,i had a drink in the bar area which was very dimly lite, the seating in this area was bench type and small stools,the other side of the wall,to the left is brighter with tall windows,the seating here was mainly tall tables and stols,there is a smaller room upstairs which overlooks the front area of the pub.
There was a very good choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Ossett Big Red which was a very nice well kept beer,the other beers i noted were Ossett Silver King/ Blonde/ excelsior,Fernandes Columbus and Titanic Lifeboat,there were more beers that i did'nt note.
I could'nt fault the beer or choice here,but i did'nt really take to this pub.

Pub visited 19/4/2014

On 19th April 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Hop

Called in several times since my previous review, the latest time being last Thursday. Still top notch beer and gives a CAMRA discount on Sundays - Thursdays.

10/11/2012
New build pub in the university area and obviously aimed at students. However it's nicely done out inside and some of the artwork, especially upstairs is quite impressive. The brick built internal wall downstairs divides the bar from a seating area and there's more seating upstairs. There's a large stage and bands are advertised as playing several nights a week. It's an Ossett pub so there were 5 of their beers on the 10 handpumps, the other 5 were showcasing Green Hopped beers as they were having a green hop beer festival with 10 beers over the week. My Fernandes Green Gold and Irwell Works Green Manilishi With The Two Hopped Crown were both excellent. The other half thought her red wine was good and she loved the place. It's a very modern bar and wouldn't be to everyone's taste but we both liked it and we'll definitely be back next time we're in the Devonshire Quarter.

On 7th January 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Hop

Not quite what you expect from the gross modern exterior. The interior is both light and dark, there is a large downstairs airy area, light from the big windows, but dark moody corners to be found and there is a mezzanine providing more space & the loos.

Pop art on the walls, various seating areas but mainly standing room.

An Ossett brewery pub there is a full range of their beers & a number of guests, thopugh the quality is slightly suspect.

An interesting place, its kind of how a Brew Dog bar SHOULD be, modern but with that touch of the unordinary.

On 17th December 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Hop

This former supermarket in the West One complex has had new brick walls built internally, with new wood panelling with carved features. One wall separates the main bar area from another area which features a low stage. Tables and chairs are dotted about, but I got the impression that most drinkers would be expected to stand. It's a modern drinking barn with a difference - which is that there are up to 10 real ales and a cider or perry on hand pumps.

Osset Brewery ales feature strongly, with five listed on a blackboard as "permanent". The other hand pumps when I was there were Sparth Mild from the Osset subsidiary Riverhead Brewery, Fullers London Pride, one from Raw and two from Fernandes. The bar staff were happy to let customers "try before you buy". All beers were in the range of £2.60 to £3.00 a pint.

This is a very smart new development, and on a quiet Wednesday evening it was quite pleasant for a drink or two, but I'm not sure I'd enjoy it so much on a busy Friday. However, it's good to see a place that's evidently designed to attract young people having more real ales than lager fonts.

The bands scheduled to appear are mostly covers bands, according to my music consultant.

On 8th December 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2643 recommendations about 2492 pubs]