User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Going with a bang! with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

The Dukes Head (JD Wetherspoon), Leominster

Pub added by Delboy 20
Corn Square
Leominster
HR6 8LR

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Dukes Head (JD Wetherspoon)

In an old market town with relatively few remaining pubs, this one ought to be something of a beacon, but the post-coronavirus situation seems to be hitting harder here (generally) than other places roundabouts. Indeed, for 20:00 on a Thursday evening this must have been the quietest 'spoons I've ever been in at a similar time. However, at least it was open, and I found two local Swan Brewery beers - the Blonde and Gold, both £2.10 - in addition to the usual trio of Ruddles, Doom Bar and Abbot.

On 29th July 2020 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about The Dukes Head (JD Wetherspoon)

This one is quite larger on the inside than the outer facade suggests and do agree with Aqualung that the beer choice was a little disappointing.
An unusual occurrence took place with the barmaid after i had ordered a half of Doom Bore at £1.08p.I gave her £1.10p and she asked me if i wanted the 2p change.Slightly taken aback by this and so rather than seem to appear a skinflint told her to keep it.I have no problem giving to charity but i cannot see this being a Wetherspoons policy,if so it would proove very unpopular.Back in the day when i was drinking under age that was nearly half a mild.

On 13th September 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2113 recommendations about 2077 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Dukes Head (JD Wetherspoon)

I finally got to have a drink here (see my review below from 7th November 2012), but it was an experience with both good and bad points, hence the lowish score. The usual 'Spoons selection was available on the group of five hand pumps to the right on the long bar counter, with three guests all at £2.15/pint on the set of pumps to the left. The one that caught my fancy was Swan Ruffled Feathers, which is actually brewed here in Leominster. I asked for a pint and the person serving went to the till and said "that'll be £2.15 please". I suppose my jaw dropped. I said, "aren't you going to pour it first?" Another customer who had been chatting with the staff said something about people doing a runner. What, running from the door with a full pint? How desperate is that! Anyway, she poured the pint before taking my cash, possibly as a concession to my short legs and grey beard.

The beer was in fine fettle (much better than the more expensive half of the same I had later at the Talbot), but I found it more difficult than usual to settle comfortably, my mind going back again and again to this change in the habit of centuries. When the history of the revolution in British pub drinking habits comes to be written, remember, it all started at Wetherspoons. Thank you, Tim Martin.

Date of visit: 30th July 2017

On 5th August 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2643 recommendations about 2492 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Dukes Head (JD Wetherspoon)

I thought on approaching this one that it may be an original pub and was surprised to find it was a Post Office building. Usually these ones tend to be dull shed like buildings but with a better area where the counter used to be. As is common with newer Spoons this one has eating areas at the front with the bar area at the rear. There is a real fire on the left as you approach the bar.
On my Saturday morning visit the beer choice from the ten hand pumps was poor with one available soon, two unused, the JDW Trio Of Doom with the GK beers doubled, Vale Of Glamorgan Dark Matter and Bombardier. I went for the Dark Matter which went down a treat with a breakfast.
Overall I thought this was a reasonable Spoons but let down by the beer choice.

On 10th March 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Dukes Head (JD Wetherspoon)

Excellent conversion of post office, telephone exchange and sorting office which has created a comfortable pub, despite the main part being in a large hall. Usual range of beers etc and semed in good order (Cask Marque listed). Quite good for a small-market-town 'Spoons.

On 26th November 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2263 recommendations about 2211 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Dukes Head (JD Wetherspoon)

I called in here for a swift half late the other afternoon simply because none of the other pubs in town had opened yet. I'm not a Wetherspoons fan, as perhaps the opening sentence implies, but as it was their autumn beer festival I hoped to find something of interest. As I approached the bar, which is quite a long way into this interesting conversion of a crown post office, I noticed the usual two banks of hand pumps, but it always takes me longer to decide which beer to choose because of the "coming soon" added to some of the pump clips. As it happened, there was no beer available under 4.5% and the only beer I took a fancy to was "coming soon", so after waiting for five minutes for the solitary server to complete the previous customer's order, I found that I had lost my appetite and just walked out.

On 7th November 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2643 recommendations about 2492 pubs]