User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 15th September 2019) with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Bridewell, Liverpool Central, Liverpool

Pub added by ROB Camra
1 Campbell Square
Argyle Street
Liverpool
L1 5BL

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Al Bundy left this review about The Bridewell

Now reopened and as before is called The Bridewell. The interior is exactly the same and there are 5 handpulls for real ale. Beers today were from Wylam, Kirkstall, Hawkshead, Lancaster Bomber and Wainwright.

On 16th September 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3349 recommendations about 3265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Liverpool 1 Bridewell

Formerly called Colin's Bridewell a few years ago this is an interesting pub for reasons described elsewhere. The Plum Porter was still on with 3 of the others all ales from local breweries.

On 8th November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3349 recommendations about 3265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Liverpool 1 Bridewell

Interesting conversion of a former police gaol, especially the rather spooky cells lining the central corridor. As a listed building, the barred windows and cold stone floors have also been retained and there is naturally little in the way of decor. Fairly basic furniture throughout, supplemented by some wooden tables out in the courtyard. Four of five handpumps, offering Liverpool Organic 24 Carat Gold, Titanic Plum Porter, JW Lees 'The Governor' and Seven Brothers Water Melon Wheat Beer (£2.95). All a bit odd really, but certainly worth a visit if in the area.

On 23rd August 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5639 recommendations about 5639 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Liverpool 1 Bridewell

Interesting eatery with a public bar at the front. As reported it's a former police station with eating areas in the old cells and still with the doors in place, it's tempting to shut a few on the diners as you pass by on the way to the gents. The bar is stone flagged with high level tables supported on barrels with high stools. Nice brick barrel vaulting as well. My visit was enlivened by the arrival of a few noisy drunk members of the lower orders - they didn't stop long. Very disconcerting that the sound system only played one channel of a stereo track. The beer was ok but not GBG quality which it's made an appearance in; I read the GBG and despair sometimes.

On 8th July 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2070 recommendations about 1926 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Liverpool 1 Bridewell

Well worth a visit this one. The pub interior is modern, but not overdone. The staff are friendly and helpful. There were two ales on handpump, both were spot on - Lancaster Brewery 1842 Pilsner and Liverpool Organic 24 Carat Gold.

On 9th June 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2844 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Liverpool 1 Bridewell

Called in again on a Thursday evening, very quiet, it took quite a few minutes to get someone to serve us!. Only 2 ales available on the bar this time, but my pint was in decent nick. The upstairs dining room is closed at the moment

19/05/2012
A very interesting new bar opened by Liverpool One brewery. You enter via a courtyard which has some interesting bric-a-brac of it's own into what was once the main reception area. Here there's a nicely done out bar with 3 handpumps serving a beer from Liverpool One and two guests. Upstairs is a dining room/restaurant converted from the old officers mess. Downstairs are a number of small rooms with long tables which were originally the cells. It's a very interesting place and has been extremely well done. The pint I had was in good nick as well. Be aware that it is closed all day on a Monday. We'll certainly be visiting this place again next time we're in Liverpool.

On 3rd May 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2706 recommendations about 2635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Liverpool 1 Bridewell

Locating this pub inside Liverpool’s main Bridewell (a type of prison for petty offenders), shows a touch of genius on the part of the people behind the Liverpool One Brewery who run this venture. The prison, which in 1991 was deemed to be the worst in the country, was built back in 1859 and has had an interesting history. As well as holding criminals prior to deportation to the colonies it also played host to Charles Dickens who worked here as a police officer for a day as part of his research for one of his books - a fact commemorated by a plaque on the front wall. More recently it has held the likes of Shane McGowan, Everton footballer Michael Branch and Princess Anne’s stalker Bernard Quinn, but it was closed in 1999 after the police authority decided it no longer wanted a prison once described by the European Commitee for the Prevention of Torture as ‘inhumane’ on its books.
Visitors nowadays no longer need to fear the high walls that surround the building and now form a pleasant compact front courtyard. You enter up a few steps to a front room with flagstone floor, plain walls and a vaulted brick ceiling, with the bar to the left of the front door displaying a nice ‘Liverpool One Bridewell’ sign. A TV screen was on showing muted coverage of the afternoon’s big match between Liverpool and Arsenal whilst music played quietly in the background. A corridor leads from this room to the old cells which are still behind their large, heavy numbered doors. Most cells have been filled with variations on a long table with bench or banquette seating although there was at least one with high stools and drinking ledges instead – obviously the compact nature of each cell restricts the layout options. It’s certainly an unusual format and I think it looks great and would probably be the perfect place to visit with a large group assuming you can reserve the cells.
Frustratingly there were no Liverpool One beers on the bar when I visited, so I had to choose between Peerless Dark Arts and Triple Blonde and Lee’s Governor, plumping for the Dark Arts which the barmaid was careful to pull through before serving me what turned out to be a nice drop. Food is available, with traditional meals like fish and chips, hot pot and full English breakfasts prominent.
This is a great place to visit to take in part of the city’s history that might otherwise have been lost to a hotel chain or the like, had the brewery not stepped in. I had no inclination to visit this place which I had expected to be a fancy novelty bar, but I have to thank those who recommended it to me as I certainly enjoyed my visit.

On 31st March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2313 recommendations about 2313 pubs]