User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Stats - Pub Photos by County with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Just Beer, Newark Town, Newark

Pub added by Bucking Fastard
32A Castle Gate
Newark
NG24 1BG
Phone: 01636312047

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Gill Smith left this review about Just Beer

Loved this micropub which features in the 2018 Good Beer Guide, and we enjoyed Black Iris Bleeding Heart from the good selection available. Long pews with a central area to walk down to the bar, and a lot of interesting things pn the wall difficult to read due to it being busy in there, but I did enquire about the biscuit pig chart on the wall, and was told it was very popular with the regulars. Pay £1 and pick a name from the biscuit barrel and your name goes against the celebrity name on the chart. If your choice is the first to die you get the pot. Brilliant!!

On 8th August 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1191 recommendations about 1117 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Just Beer Micropub

I had the misfortune this time to visit when the local Camra beer festival was on. Lots of self appointed beer experts drivelling on with a half in hand - an utterly dispiriting pub experience. Go there when the Camra tossers aren’t - it’s lovely. Loved the Biscuit Pig of Death sweep stake, pick a random celebrity and when they pop their clogs you get the pot.

On 27th May 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1995 recommendations about 1870 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Just Beer

Not obvious to find off the main street in a courtyard by the River Trent (I walked past it twice) is this rather brilliant micopub. Six ales and three ciders on with a great selection of quality brews in fantastic nick. My North Riding Christmas Pudding Porter was superb and the Market Harborough Hoo also very good. It’s basically a long narrow room with the bar at far end. Exposed brick walls and impressive collection of matchboxes for a form of wallpaper. Dart board spotted. There was a Xmas quiz on the go during my visit, resulting in some brilliant local banter. Knowledgeable and passionate bar staff. A bit of a cracker really and the best one I did in Newark – could have stayed all afternoon and next time I probably will. 9.5

On 18th December 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3794 recommendations about 3782 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Just Beer Micropub

UPDATE MAY 2017

Three things have changed significantly here for the better:
Firstly, they have now realised that they have customers and have learnt to accommodate them. The welcome on this visit was warm and there was plenty of friendly banter with barman and locals alike.
Secondly, the place has weathered in and now has a much more comfortable feel with an exposed brick wall, red accents, beer related artwork and two clever pint width tables for those seated drinkers near the bar. Quite a change from the original stark white walled room.
Thirdly, and most imortantly the beer. The offer is no longer obscure and undrinkable home brew for tickers but features quality and renowned microbrewery beers. The four beers on when we visited were: North Riding NZ IPA, Marble Uppe Hela Natten, Twisted Barrel/Framework Belldandy and White Rose On Yer Bike. A good selection and those we tried were both very good and on top form.
The locals said that if a breweries beers go down well then they frequently feature again albeit with a different beer. A sensible policy - give the people what they want.
A well deserved upgrade to 9 from me and I wish them every success with the current approach.

ORIGINAL REVIEW MAY 2012

The Kings' New Clothes.
Just Beer has had a lot of publicity not least due to its 2012 Newark CAMRA pub of the year award. As has been noted, it doesn't just sell beer but that is certainly its main focus and there are a lot of handpumps, eight or so I think, in this small and narrow micropub. All of this made it a must visit in Newark in the hope of some top quality ale.
It does appear to be aimed at those searching for the more obscure ales and our Saturday evening visit found the following available: Shottle SPA, Pirate Caped Rouge, Revolutions Overkill and a mild from Fuglestou. I've certainly never heard of any of these but advice from behind the bar is readily available along with sample bottles in front of the pumps. We couldn't find anything which demanded a second or even demanded to be drunk at all.
The odd atmosphere resembled that of a private party, probably not helped by the small size of the place but it wasn't especially welcoming or friendly.
I'm sure that if I were local it would be possible to unearth a great and previously undiscovered gem of an ale here occasionally, but that would involve drinking an awful lot undiscovered indifference.
Micropubs must be a good thing as they are providing more places which sell real ale and Just Beer has had the awards and the publicity to pull people in. Sadly, in this case although real ale is available, it really isn't very good. The King is in the altogether.

On 15th May 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 668 recommendations about 667 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Just Beer Micropub

ORIGINAL REVIEW May 2012
A pub for beer tickers run by beer tickers.The interior is small and narrow with the bar at the far end of the room and bench seating either side with round tables and stools.The atmosphere is strange, like that at a small CAMRA branch beer festival,and some of the customers choose to wear leather hats even when indoors.There are a lot of handpumps but glad to see that the Weatherspoons policy of sticking "available soon"notices is copied here,meaning that on our trip only four pulls were dispensing.The ale selection was from truely obscure microbrewers,each pump with copious notes and offputting sample bottles full of ,I assume,beer.My rhubarb flavoured wheat beer was not easy to down nor something I wanted another pint of,and the same applied to other brews tried by the crew.The beer selection seemed focussed only on the rare and unusual,irrespective of quality but that is the world of the ticker.
There is a dubious range of branded merchandise for sale,and the Just Beer policy was subverted by under the counter availability of single serve wine bottles to some pub crawling young ladies who decided to call in,causing some consternation among the regulars.
One of the breed of micropubs to open recently,a local CAMRA favourite,not one that I would rush back to but it has served it's purpose by forcing the now excellent Prince Rupert to up it's game.Just Not Very Good Beer isn't such a catchy name.

UPDATE
Pleased to report that the constructive criticism above seems to have been heeded,the welcome from behind the bar was very friendly and helpful with the regulars on good form and very chatty.The ale selection is now from respected micro brewers,and no longer confined to obscure brewers designed to produce a new tick,and my Marble collaberation Uppe Hela Natten porter was on very fine form,as were other ales sampled.The interior has now weathered in,and the addition of a choice of Just Cheese was a great idea.This micropub has a genuine community feel,and must not be missed when visiting Newark.It deserves it's CAMRA accolades.

On 12th May 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1928 recommendations about 1928 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Just Beer Micropub

Just Beer is a micro pub that is housed in an old building near the Waters Edge pub and the River Trent.
Once inside there is a small oblong shaped room with a bar to the rear,the seating is pew type either side of the room,there is a darts board to the left of the entrance.
There was a good choice of micro beers on the bar,i had a drink of Off Beat Kooky Gold which was quite a nice drink,the other beers noted were,Alchemy Azacca Ale,North Riding The Division and Glye 59 Tojouns Saison Ale.
There was only me and one other customer in on a Thursday afternoon visit,i did have a good chat with the bar person about some of Newarks lost pubs which i had been in.
I found this to be a decent micro pub and would visit again when in Newark.

Pub visited 2/6/2016

On 26th June 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Just Beer Micropub

This micropub which is number three on the Association list has now been going for five full years. As mentioned below it is set just down a slope towards the river past the castle. I wouldn't like to hazard a guess as to the original use of the building but it doesn't look like a shop conversion. Inside it's a smallish long room with normal rather than high seating and the bar at the far end of the room. On my Saturday lunchtime visit It started fairly quiet but other people soon started turning up. .
There were five beers available and loads of ciders. The beers were Brewster's Rutterkitty, Funfair Gallopers, Oldershaw Great Expectations, Dunscar Bridge Lancashire Stout and Imperial Yankee Doodle DanDale. I've encountered three of these breweries before and three of the specific beers are listed in the breweries section of the latest GBG so I wouldn't describe the selection as ticker fodder. I tried the Yankee Doodle beer (£3.10 including CAMRA discount) and Lancashire Stout (£2.90 including discount). Both were served in oversize glasses and were in great condition.
I thought this was an excellent micropub and would happily return.

On 17th September 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2125 recommendations about 2120 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Just Beer Micropub

A single room micro pub housed in a brick built outhouse in a courtyard just off Castlegate. The counter at one end manages to support eight pulls, half beer half cider. The seating is former church pews with Britannia tables, there is one tall table with stools looking a bit out of place and an old cask which doesn't. The decor is mainly beer related but also with pictures of regulars as kids. There's a free standing unit with two pulls against one wall, the covers are off so you can see the cylinders and linkage. Pastimes available are a dart board on the end wall and a shove ha'penny board. The beer was excellent on this occasion and served in pub branded glasses.

On 28th July 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1995 recommendations about 1870 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Just Beer Micropub

Having read no reviews of Newark pubs before my brief visit here, I was pleasantly surprised to stumble upon the aptly named Just Beer - though perhaps the words "and cider" should be added in a smaller font. My experience was certainly more in line with Ray's review than the previous two, though as I had to cycle 30 miles upon leaving Newark I certainly wasn't going to stay for more than a swift half, no matter how tempted.

The eight hand pumps on the narrow bar were split between four beers and two ciders (and a perry). The ciders were from Scrumpy Wasp, a press in East Markham, Notts. The beers were Lymm Bitter, Maypole BXA, Five Points Porter and Hamelsworde Cherokee. I had the BXA, and wished later that I'd had the Lymm and the porter too, rather than the slightly dodgy beers I had in two other pubs. The fact that the pub has sold 1847 different beers since opening just three years ago suggests that these beers are unlikely to be seen again, which will be good news for tickers if not for the two slightly dodgily named and grumpy reviewers below! I have already got this place on my list for a future revisit.

On 19th August 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2331 recommendations about 2209 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Just Beer Micropub

We have a slight clash of opinions here after reading the last two reviews. I have to say Mrs A and myself had a very good experience on our visit here. The locals and staff were very friendly and most welcoming. We only popped in for one and ended up staying for two and a half hours. We had a very good choice of ales on the day and chatted away to everyone. The pub is well run and everywhere was spotlessy clean. They have sourced ales from 554 breweries to date and have sold over 1600 different beers. We went for Old Dairy Gold Top, Hop Fuzz APA and Ciren Ales Bells Bitter. Will call again.

On 7th April 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2770 recommendations about 2770 pubs]

Page: 1 2