User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Snacks with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Sparrow, Bradford Central, Bradford

Pub added by aleand hearty
32 North Parade
Bradford
BD1 3HZ
Phone: 01274270772

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Aqualung . left this review about The Sparrow

As noted below, this is a bit more pub like than some of the places in North Parade. The What Pub opening hours are completely wrong as it was 16:00 on Thursday when it opened. It has wooden floors, a fireplace and the bar at the rear. There is a basement which is where the toilets are located but it seemed a very basic room.
The six hand pumps had Kirkstall Pale, Three Swords & Dissolution IPA, Wylam Galatia, Five Points Pale and Rooster London Thunder. I went for the Kirkstall beers (£3.10, £3.30 & £3.40) then the Wylam Galatia (£3.60) all of which were in good nick. I thought this was well worth a visit.

On 11th November 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2145 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about The Sparrow

My wife and I visited the Sparrow recently and could not believe how much this venue had changed. The beers and lagers were completely different I had to take my beers back x 2 due to the very poor quality and my wife did not enjoy the choice of lagers. The atmosphere of the place has also changed for the worse. We have just walked passed the place - it is empty. 2 venues we have visited on North Parade today are both very full. Enough said

On 15th September 2018 - rating: 2
[User has posted 94 recommendations about 84 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Sparrow

As Old Boots has said, this is now owned by Kirkstall. It seems to have more pub like fixtures and fittings, though the small formica topped tables are still present, but with more comfortable pub-like chairs. There is bench seating under the front window and a large fire surround on the wall, which I cannot remember if it was there previously or not. It all seems to work quite well especially with the bench under the window and gives it a more pub like feel and is probably a better use of the space.

Six hand pumps for cask ale, three of which were Kirkstall ales and the other three guests, consisting of Chew Chew by Fallen Brewing, Okells Bitter and something by Moor. The Chew Chew took my fancy, this was a caramel stout at 6% which set me back £2.20 for a half. In addition to the cask pumps there are some keg taps on the back wall, and a chalk board beer menu to the left of the bar.

Had a bit of a strange chemical / sealant smell when I visited yesterday so can only assume they had just had some work done. It certainly didn't seem to be putting the customers off though as the place was pretty full. More full than I remember it ever being when I have been previously.

They now seem to do snacky food - pork pies etc - and there were no leaflets on the tables about pizzas so can only assume the previous arrangement with pizza deliveries has now ended.

Pleasant, friendly service. I'm pleased to say this is still as good as it was before it changed ownership.

On 28th July 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 514 recommendations about 469 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Sparrow

Reopened on 26th May by new owners Kirkstall. It's had a bit of a make over so it's now less cafe and more pub like but still not a traditional pub by any means. Still multi pumped and of course a few are from Kirkstall so no problems there, some guests also feature. The basement is still pretty much as was, just some new furniture I believe.

On 2nd July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Sparrow

Visited on a weekday afternoon earlier in March as part of my planned session on North Parade. I have been before but was looking forward to a return visit. At the bar were four hand pumps for cask, all of which were available, plus 7 keg options. I concentrated on the cask options and had the Equanot Session IPA by Kirkstall which was rather pleasant, and a bitter called Monument (can't remember who that was by). There was a 9% imperial stout, which had me tempted, and of course I ended up giving in to temptation! Nice mix of styles to choose from. I do like it in here but sometimes I find the wooden tables and chairs to be a bit too café style - but the small tables probably mean they can fit more people in so can't complain too much. I don't think they do food but they have an arrangement with a local pizza place where they will place orders for you and they deliver it to your table. Definitely worth including on any visit to North Parade.

On 23rd March 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 514 recommendations about 469 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Sparrow

The Sparrow is a newish bar that was converted from a shop.
Once inside there is a single oblong shaped room with the bar facing,the floor is bare boarded,the seating normal tables and chairs.
There was a decent choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Raw Winter Solstice which went down very well,the other beers noted were Great Heck Washington Red,Great Heck Shanknar and one from Tyne Bank brewery.
The pub was fairly busy just after 11am with drinkers,i also had a chat with a friendly barmaid.
The background music was different but i quite liked it.
I thought this was a very pleasant bar to have a drink in.
Deserves a 7.5 rating

Pub visited 2/1/2016

On 10th January 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Sparrow

If you like wine bars, candles on tables a poorly lit bar and no atmosphere then here is the Sparrow. The seating was also limited, even when the place was moderately busy. Four handpumps with three on, we went for the Saltaire Solitaire Harvest, which was fine, but expensive.

On 3rd November 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2975 recommendations about 2975 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Sparrow

One of those cafe abr type places. It seems to be a former shop and is one room open plan with basic, uncomfortable seating that you would not want to spend a lot of time sitting in.

The lighting towards the back, where the bar is situated dims from the lighter street frontage. The saving grace is the product, local beers & also wines/coffees/bottled beers.

Beer quality was ok

On 2nd April 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Sparrow

A fairly ordinary cafe bar, as described by other reviewers, with just three hand pumps out of four available on our recent visit. These were serving Bristol Milk Stout, Buxton Axe Edge and Ilkley Mary Jane. I had the Mary Jane, which is unspectacular, my drinking companion was very happy with his stout, but the overall experience here was rather downbeat. I don't know if the staff are the same enthusiasts mentioned in previous reviews, but I felt that service was indifferent and distracted, and we went off in search of a real pub.

On 18th April 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2599 recommendations about 2452 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Sparrow

a single room modern bar with red topped Formica tables, uncomfortable chairs, bare boards and enamelled beer advertising signs. One wall is covered with posters for forthcoming gigs, another has inevitable pump clips and some CAMRA awards in spite of the bar's fairly recent opening (2011). Four hand pumps with excellently kept cask beers plus a selection of interesting kegs and bottles, complemented by a trans-european snack menu. Beer, cider and wine choices are listed on the normal big blackboards and the staff are enthusiastic. Downstairs houses three toilets, male, female and not-sure, it also has more Formica topped tables with chairs and acts as a part time cask store. A don't miss call in a city not unduly blessed with fine drinking establishments and in easy distance of Foster Square railway station.

On 17th March 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]

Page: 1 2