User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Clapton Hart, Clapton, E5

Pub added by Tris C
231 Lower Clapton Road
E5
E5 8EG
Phone: 02089858124

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Tris C left this review about The Clapton Hart

I missed this pub on our March 2017 crawl as I arrived late, so on sauntering up Murder Mile (Upper/Lower Clapton Road), I decided to give it a go on the spur of the moment and, as I was soon to find out, there were only two other customers in this stately pile.
The former White Hart dates from the early 18th century but was rebuilt in 1891, a Charrington’s pub as evinced by some vestigial traces of the brewer’s trademark leaded glass. Well-described by others, it’s an absolutely enormous multi-roomed place and I wouldn’t be surprised if it had once doubled as a music hall in its time. It’s also the most Antic of Antic pubs I’ve visited, with an interior which is less distressed, more traumatised. There’s a hotchpotch of knickknackery, including a stuffed deer’s head mounted to a wall and an upright Joanna. Euro 2020 was being shown on a projector screen, sound off, so as not to interfere with the dance anthems wafting out of the stereo at an agreeable level; if but I’d brought my glowsticks and whistle.
As mentioned, the pub was empty apart from us three drinkers watching the footie. The front patio and especially the rear garden were packed with young incomers. The lavs were distressed, but not deliberately so.
Ales: Five Points Pale at the ‘new normal’ price of £4.80 and excellent it was too, Volden’s Session IPA and Pale, Rosie Pig cider, four unused pumps, thereafter Orbit’s Nico, Staropramen, Pravha, Signature’s Roadie Session IPA, Beavertown’s Gamma Ray and Neck Oil, Five Points Jupa, Blue Moon White Beer, Guinness and Aspall’s.
Despite the tattiness of the place, it’s really quite good, especially as it managed to serve three real ales when some specialist Hackney ale emporia can only be bothered to stock one; the price was vaguely agreeable considering the current circumstances. In all, this makes for a good stop if in this rather remote location.

On 13th June 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1355 recommendations about 1333 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Clapton Hart

The former White Hart is in a bit of a state, with some genuine decrepitude topped-off by some deliberate 'distressing' by Antic... Anyway, it is still a fine old building, and has an impressive interior with various rooms arranged around the central bar counter (all with the expected eclectic decor). Also benefits from a large patio beer garden. Seven of eight handpumps in operation when we visited, with real ales including Session (£3.30) and Pale from Volden plus Turner's Elderflower cider from Kent.

On 15th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6687 recommendations about 6687 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Clapton Hart

An excellent description by Maldenman, below, including the beers on offer, which completely justify the GBG entry. The 'distressed' interior included areas of contrived, crumbling plaster, broken blackboards on the walls and an air of something special that would make it a good backdrop for a zombie film. It's a bit gloomy inside, but the garden is much brighter, a large outdoor space that looks like a bomb site that was never rebuilt. I had the Alchemy Pale Ale which was in perfect condition, an excellent pint, but I thought it was a bit expensive. A very good place to start a crawl and an interesting cultural contrast to the hideous mosque building opposite and its judgmental divinities.

On 9th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2769 recommendations about 2737 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Clapton Hart

If Rigsby from Rising Damp owned a pub, then I would imagine it would resemble this one. Obviously, no rising damp to be seen on our visit, just shabby chic at its extreme. The collection of Victorian Silhouette cut out pics on one of the walls caught my attention and I found them most interesting. Beerwise they had seven ales and one cider. I went for the Volden Pale Ale, which was excellent and a good start to our East End Crawl. The pub had a decent sized beer garden and the staff were very pleasant.

On 30th March 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3036 recommendations about 3036 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Clapton Hart

A pub I have driven past on a number of occasions and always thought it looked a little shabby, as indeed it is, but by design and it works very well.As described by Malden Man, I too noted with some concern the dodgy ceiling although not the reason for our enforced exodus to the garden,this was due to wayward electrics and alarms going off.What I saw of the pub I liked and my beer of choice , Volden Pale Ale was a decent start to the day,I would be more than happy to call in again.

On 26th March 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1468 recommendations about 1451 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Clapton Hart

Once the White Hart as evidenced by the ornate inscription on the pediment gable on one corner, now renamed and under the unusual care of the Antic group. A deliberately shabby and distressed interior with a worryingly looking cracked ceiling, enormous inside with a rambling collection of rooms. A couple of areas looked to be mainly for those dining with serried ranks of tables and old school style chairs, no one was but we were in first thing so probably too early. I noticed a few old pianos here and there, one with a sign saying to not try and play it, one room had a long glass case full of all sorts including a number of old film spool canisters.
We were for reasons unknown directed to drink outside in the rear garden which on an unseasonably warm day was rather pleasant. This allowed views of a crumbling structure at roof level and a sheeted over section of the roof itself, whether this is another quirky Antic feature or not I'm unsure.
You get some decent beer in these places, Saturday offered Alechemy Ritual Pale Ale, ELB Nightwatchman, Dark Star Hophead, Hammerton Life on Mars, two from Volden, Session Ale and Pale Ale and a cider, Turner;s Elderflower.
A very good start for our group's jaunt around the area, enjoyed it here.

On 26th March 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1690 recommendations about 1664 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Clapton Hart

My first encounter with an Antic pub and this one could be accused of settling firmly on the shabby side of shabby chic. I felt that the faded grandeur effect came off very well though and liked it here.
The service was very friendly and the governor amiable and clearly committed to decent beer.
Eight handpumps displayed: Hammerton Life on Mars, Volden Pale Ale and Session Ale, Thornbridge Jaipur IPA and New River Lost River along with two ciders. Everything we tried was in good shape and the place really deserved a longer stop than our relatively brief visit.
A gem in Clapton.

On 21st September 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Clapton Hart

This is a very fine building with an attractive exterior and a totally quirky interior,typical of the Antic chain.It's also very large inside with high ceilings and a rear dining room,two wings either side of the modest sized bar and distressed walls ,with a fine fireplace to the right.The furniture is comfortable antique,the wooden lamps stands most attractive ,yet with a table football machine in the centre of the main room.An upright piano has been converted to a seating bench.It's a bit like being on the set of Steptoe & Son,I thought it looked great.
At the bar there are six handpumps with an eclectic range of mainly London base microbrewery output ,which seems to rotate so you should get some interesting brews here.My New River Lost River was very fresh and tasty.
I thought this was the best pub in Clapton and really should get a visit if you are in the area,quirky but in a good way with a friendly and chatty young serving crew.

On 20th August 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2230 recommendations about 2230 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Clapton Hart

This seems to be a semi-derelict building that doubles as a pub.Well described interior on previous post.Seven handpumps with a good range of beers from Tickety brew,gypsy hill,Hop stuff Clouded minds and my Revolutions -manifesto stout was very good as you would expect from this brewery.Served in a dimpled mug.Lovely.Sat in the spacious back yard.Quite busy pub..

On 18th April 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 949 recommendations about 936 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Clapton Hart

Got there early and asked the woman who was cleaning the windows what time it opened. She said "I nower speaker de English" so I never did get to visit.

On 14th November 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]

Page: 1 2