User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 10th November 2019) with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

Rum & Rock, Doncaster Town, Doncaster

Pub added by James Joines
3 Cleveland Street
Doncaster
DN1 3EH
Phone: 01302366277

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


hondo . left this review about Rum & Rock

New name & new ownership since my last visit. Interior has seen the bar switched from the left to the right and the real ales down to 3.

On 25th January 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2645 recommendations about 2588 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about Rum & Rock

Cask Corner, as was, has reopened as Rum & Rock.

On 13th September 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 334 recommendations about 321 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about Cask Corner

The Cask Corner is most definitely a bar rather than a pub and one geared towards live events with a prominent stage at the back.
It's pretty basic being a long room with the bar along the first half of the right hand side and very low lighting. If you don't want to sup in twilight then the stools in the large window at the front are brighter and allow you to peruse the frenetic activity of Donny.
The barmaid was chatty and friendly and the clientele is eclectic and characterful which, for me, made this well worth a visit and outweighed the hum which was tangible on entering.
An eclectic mix of beers fitted the vibe: Aire Heads Rude Brewed and Crude and Lemon epa, Stancil Barnsley Bitter, Imperial/Steel City Bunch of Cnuts and White Rose Total Eclipse. Those that we tried went down without demanding a second.
Worth a visit in Donny as you never know what you might find here.

On 6th June 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Cask Corner

The external sign describes this pub as a Dive Bar and Bordello,somewhat in jest but there is a rather sweet and unsettling pong as you enter,a mix of disinfectant and perfume liberally enhanced by sweaty music lovers,for this is a live music venue.The furniture is dishevelled and the open coffin propped up may have to be used if some punter is overcome by the smell,which gets stronger the closer you get to the rear stage.There is a roof terrace for smokers,unexplored by myself.
The bar features 7 handpumps with an eclectic choice of ale,you get the impression that all pumps will rotate and beer tickers could always find a new scoop. My Airehead Rude ,Crude & Brewed and Steel City Bunch of Cnuts were decent but not exceptional ,although the barmaid was very amusing and helpful ,as were some of the regulars arriving for an open mic night.An eclectic clientele of hippies,rockers,outcasts mainly under 30 ,but it's in the GBG so you may see some CAMRA types in the mix.A CAMRA discount was offered without showing the card,and once I had got used to the "atmosphere" this wasn't a bad place to sink some pints.

On 26th May 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2015 recommendations about 2015 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Cask Corner

A music venue bar with nine pulls plus two more serving cider & Perry (the signs say 12 cask ales). Dark with madly eclectic decor but mostly music related. Wide range of seating options and styles. Pool table and mixing desk occupy the two front corners, a small stage takes up the rear. My beer was excellent, the range covers larger regionals - Thwaites, smaller ones like Rudgate and smaller brewers like Stancil, White Rose and Revolutions. Lots of interesting bottles and there are pies and pasties also available. There's a lounge in more refined style upstairs. 10% CAMRA discount is given but not Friday/Saturday nights.

On 10th October 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2127 recommendations about 1974 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Cask Corner

If the name ‘Cask Corner’ isn’t a clear enough indication of this venue’s target market, then the coffin containing Fosters and Carling keg fonts, proudly displayed in the front window, should put things beyond any doubt. As far as I can tell, this is Doncaster’s best pub for ale choice, with a handsome row of hand pumps and a vast bottled beer selection. On my recent visit, the hand pulls were clipped with Gwatkin Square Pig, Wentworth Oatmeal Stout and Kriek, Chantry Summer Calypso and Diamond Black, Brew Co New England Best and Brambling Cross, Hop Studio Vindhya, White Rose Best Bitter and something called ‘Saved by the Bell’ from an unidentified brewer. One real cider was also available, whilst the keg options included the likes of Liefmans, Bitburger, Aspalls and Reckorderlig. A board opposite the bar listed 100 bottles from around the world, but a peek at the fridges seemed to suggest that only a small proportion of these were currently in stock. The service was prompt and friendly, although two young ladies who popped in for a glass of wine were given short shrift by the barman, so perhaps the courtesy only extends to ale drinkers. The beers I tried were in good shape, as you would expect from such an establishment.
The pub has a simple, single room layout with an undressed floor space at the front housing a pool table under the front window and some sofas and armchairs opposite. Smart seating runs down the right hand wall, past a blocked fireplace with an ornate mirror above. The servery is opposite and at the back of the room there is a stage where a band was setting up for a performance later that evening. To say the décor is eclectic would be something of an understatement. Aside from the vast pump clip collection and the unusual giant painted dartboard on the back wall (a real one can be found behind a curtain next to the servery), items of interest included a child’s go-kart, golf bags, ironing boards, skeletons, various hats, old LP’s stuck to the walls, US number plates, a didgeridoo, a mangle, a collection of ties suspended over the pool table, farm tools, a metal detector and much, much more. A sign on the rear wall pointed out a cocktail bar and smoking terrace upstairs, but I didn’t have the time to explore.
I liked this place very much and could happily have settled down to work my way along the hand pumps, admiring the crazy décor in the meantime. I was a bit put off by the passive-aggressive approach to non-ale drinkers, but there are other good pubs nearby that will happily accommodate lager and wine drinkers, so it’s this place’s loss. As an ale drinker though, this pub ticked a lot of boxes and I’m sure I’ll make a return.

On 30th September 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2339 recommendations about 2339 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Cask Corner

Well certainly something different in terms of the decor but the beer is the star. Up to 10 real ales, 2 hand pulled ciders and a large selection of bottled beers/lagers. Discount on real ales for camra members. Live music advertised.

On 23rd March 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2645 recommendations about 2588 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Cask Corner

Appears to be a conversion of a shop unit and the façade hardly screams ‘pub’, especially with the phrase ‘dive bar’ as sub-script to the pub signage. However the interior is rather like a small beer hall, deep, open-plan with a rear stage area, high ceilings and an upstairs room. There’s an eclectic range of seating from basic wooden furniture to leather sofas. Walls are adorned with old LP covers (and LPs in places) along with various themed collections of bric-a-brac. The large bar (made out of recycled doors) running down the left hand side allows for a huge range of ales (12 in all), three ciders and an impressive ‘100 bottled beers from around the world’, listed on a huge wall-mounted blackboard. A CAMRA discount (15%?) is available and even without it, prices are fairly reasonable. My Leeds Ruby was in fair shape and if I’d had more time I would have sampled more. Live music and events are pushed here (hence the stage area) and there’s certainly a packed schedule judging by the posters in the pub. Quite quiet on my visit, I guess this is more of an evening place. Whilst I prefer my pubs to have a more traditional air this place is certainly worth seeking out on the beer front and I would certainly give it a revisit. I never did work out the significance of the giant dart board or mannequin in full scuba gear by the door.

On 31st August 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Cask Corner

On our recent crawl of Doncaster this was one of two that we went into twice (the other being the Corner Pin), and this wasn't just because of the stupendous choice of ales. There are a dozen hand pumps, two serving ciders and the rest having a variety of ales from, as far as I could make out, ten different breweries. The landlord was very friendly and chatted about how his sales of real ales were such that he very seldom had to throw any out - he almost always sold out before the beer went off.

The sign states this to be a "dive bar", but when we were here - on a Tuesday, both lunch time and early evening - it was just a fairly quiet ale house. It's a very basic conversion of a shop unit, much deeper than it is wide, with the bar running half the length of the room and a small stage at the back. (Toilets are upstairs.) Furniture is all second hand and in various stages of distress, and the mostly bare walls are covered with odd attempts at collections of objects of one sort or another - lampshades seem to be a bit of a theme. The bar is made out of recycled doors, one still featuring a cat flap.

A list of 100 world wide bottled beers takes up part of one wall, but with the real ale choices on offer we didn't feel the need to look into those. In fact we could have done the whole pub crawl right here.

On 11th May 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2431 recommendations about 2295 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about Cask Corner

The Home of Toad Brewery

10 Real Ales on Hand Pull and 2 Ciders
Large range of bottled beers.

On 28th February 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]