User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Date for Summer 2022 crawl in Winchester. with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Smithfield, Derby

Meadow Road
Derby
DE1 2BH

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Smithfield

Visited 30.4.21 and was shown to an outside table by the river. Al covid regulations applied. Young lady did a grand job bringing the beer menu list and giving prompt service. Very popular and a good ale choice here. We had beers from Nomadic, Thirst Class, Liverpool Brewing and Blue Bee, and all were in good condition.

On 1st May 2021 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Smithfield

This was my first port of call when joining the PuG tour of Derby and initially I wasn’t expecting much due to its out of town location in what on the map looked a bit of an industrial estate. But it was actually quite a pleasant two roomed pub with a decent situation on the river which it utilises well with a pleasant enclosed riverside patio area out the back of the pub.
Internally it maintains a public, saloon vibe with a plain utilitarian wooden floored front bar where the main decoration comes from several chalk boards and then a more comfortable carpeted lounge section to the back of the main bar.
The bar supports 8 real ale pumps and five were in operation for our visit with Sarah Hughs Dark Ruby, Oakham Citra, Whin Ales Arbor Light , Derby Brewing Co The Smithy and Draft Bass available and could not complain with a well kept pint of Oakham Citra.
And there seemed to be a very decent low cost traditional pub grub menu that quite a lot of the locals were utilising on this particular Friday lunchtime. No CAMRA discounts available but there is a loyalty card scheme operated which obviously benefits said locals.
Not the best pub encountered on the day but a solid enough start and wouldn’t hesitate to include again when in town.

On 22nd November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1816 recommendations about 1754 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Smithfield

The exterior has been done-up since my last visit in 2010 and is much better for it. The inside looks fairly similar - the basic public bar seemingly serving the factory workers so some earthy clientele in residence when we called by. A pool table and dart board were off to the left. The rear room is more a lounge/eatery and a bit more upmarket. Eight pumps with five on, including a cider. My Derby Smithy was odd; seemingly in decent nick but a very poor tasting brew. Swapped over to Whim Ales Arbor Light which was in decent nick but again not one I found much joy in drinking (I decided it was too early for a dalliance with Sarah Hughes). Was I unlucky or were other forces afoot? Having done the Greyhound later on in the crawl and having really quite good Derby beer there I’m wondering if it’s the latter. This one’s never really clicked with me as an enjoyable venue and after this visit I doubt I’d do it again out of choice. 6.5

September 2010
The exterior doesn’t exactly set the pulse racing and looks in desperate need of TLC, what with bits of the signage missing and the ‘interesting’ walk to get here via the bus depot (opposite the pub) and industrial estate. However the J-shaped interior was in slightly better state of repair, with a lounge and games room either side of the main bar. I counted eight ales on over nine pumps. My choice was in good nick though I did feel the range was a little samey style-wise, quite a few light ones. Value cobs were available from behind the bar as well as some proper cider. I was quite taken with the nice patio garden (including some chilli plants) overlooking the river Derwent. With a bit of effort made on the décor, this could be a real winner. Rated 7

On 20th November 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4401 recommendations about 4387 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Smithfield

A good traditional pub with a fairly basic layout, but nonetheless comfortable enough. The front room had plenty of light from its large Georgian windows along the curved front façade. The walls were painted in white and maroon, with maroon coloured leatherette bench seating along the exterior walls. There was a more elaborate and quieter back room, plus a pool table room on the left of entrance. There was a row of 8 black and chrome hand pumps along the solid mahogany counter, with a choice of 5 ales. Their choice of ales on this visit were quite mediocre, until I spotted the Oakham Citra at the far end of the bar. I noticed a collection of new tins of Spam along the back bar, maybe they were on tomorrow's menu, Monty Pythons Flying Circus came to mind.

On 16th November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3092 recommendations about 3092 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Smithfield

This place was very tatty when I last visited over five years ago, with much of the signage having fallen off. At that time, I wished that somebody would spend some money 'doing up' the place, and the exterior certainly looks much more appealing nowadays. The interior retains its two-bar layout, although only one of these was actually open in the latter part of a Friday night. The furniture / decor have also been tidied-up rather than having been completely made-over. Disappointingly, only four of the eight handpumps was actually on but there was certainly nothing wrong with my pint of the 'house' Derby Smithy (£2.70 less 20p Camra discount). Perhaps I caught it on a bad evening, but I left feeling slightly underwhelmed.

On 5th September 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7021 recommendations about 7021 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Smithfield

This riverside pub has a pretty nice location, despite being sited opposite a bus depot on a small industrial estate. The riverside footpath can be followed to Derby County's Pride Park stadium, making the pub a popular pre-match destination and there was a good crowd in when I arrived an hour or so prior to kick-off. The pub seems to have been given a bit of a modern refurbishment in recent years, but it retains a classic two bar layout. A long, central servery splits the pub in two, with the right side a fairly basic public bar with bright white walls and plenty of windows creating a very light space. The room is bare boarded with padded benches around the perimeter supplemented by low stools. There are a few floral paintings on the walls and a TV screen to the rear was showing the afternoon's six nations fixture. To the left of the front door, there is a small games room, dominated by a pool table which had been judiciously covered to avoid damage by the crowds, but which the manager uncovered as the fans dispersed, allowing a couple of young lads to squeeze a quick couple of games in. There is also a small darts area on the back wall, but it's clear that both games couldn't be played simultaneously. Following the bar to the rear of the pub, you can head out to the tidy riverside garden, or make your way into the lounge bar on the opposite side of the servery. This room is carpeted and has similar seating options to the public bar. A large fireplace takes pride of place on the end wall and there wasn't a free seat to be had. It's worth noting that there are no handpulls or keg fonts on this bar, so you'll need to remember what you want to order before heading into this room. The bar counter was covered with filled cobs and pork pies, which form part of a pre-match snack menu the pub has put together.
On the bar the hand pumps were dispensing Oakham Bishops Farewell, Ossett Dana (£3.00) and Silver Shadow, Derby The Smithy and Whim Arbour Light, with three turned clips, including Bass. Obviously the pre match demand had taken it's toll on the ales, but I thought those remaining still offered a solid range and I plumped for the Dana, which was in good shape, if not entirely to my taste. I also sampled one of the pork pies, which I really enjoyed and I did consider going back for a second one.
I think the external makeover, which can be seen from the photos on this site, makes this place a less appealing prospect, but actually it's a fine pub, with friendly staff and a good range of ales. The décor was maybe a bit on the bland side, but there seems to be a lot of effort made to provide a great service to their customers and for that, they should be commended.

On 1st March 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2795 recommendations about 2795 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Smithfield

I used to drink in here a lot when I worked in derby, it being the best pub within walking distance at lunch time. It has to be said that it was shabby but the beer was great. Now it's much cleaner with great toilets and the beer is superb. The perfect example of how a pub should be refurbished and a must for any crawl round the city of Derby. If you are not aware of it, there is a sneaky route to the Smithfield from the station, utilising the footpath through the Bass recreation ground and the foot bridge over the derwent. This puts the Smithfield perfectly placed between the Brunswick and the Exeter.

On 19th April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Smithfield

After a period of closure the Smithfield has been refurbished and is reopen. Both rooms have been kept pretty much as they were but have been given a spruce up and there are new settles, tables and chairs. The bar itself has had a refurb as well. The outside terrace over the river has also been cleaned up and will be a great place to sit in summer. 8 handpumps on the bar with 6 beers available although none of them were particularly unusual, especially in Derby. My pint of Abbeydale Moonshine was in good nick though and they give a discount to CAMRA members. It was quite busy on our Saturday afternoon visit. I'm pleased to see it reopen and back on the beer map.

On 13th March 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3002 recommendations about 2918 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Smithfield

The Smithfield is back on the real ale map again,the pub has had a facelift and it is now been rendered and painted cream.
Once inside the pub seems pretty much the same,there is a large curved bar to the front which was bare boarded with bench seating facing the bar with stools,there was a dart board in the small area to the left,there were two Tvs on showing the football scores.
The smaller lounge to the rear is still there and this room was quite busy with people sitting around a roaring open fire,i had a drink in the main bar which was also quite busy with drinkers.
There were 8 pumps on the bar with 2 unclipped and one turned round,this left five real ales to choose from,i had a drink of Full Mash Neverland which was a very dark porter type beer,this was a really nice well kept beer,the other beers were Oakham Bishops Farewell,Whim Arbourlight,Bass and Smithy bitter which is brewed for the pub by the Derby brewing company.
The pub had a nice laid back atmosphere and i enjoyed my time in this pub.

Pub first visited 11/9/1982

Recent visit 9/3/2013

On 10th March 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roy Collins left this review about The Smithfield

Well preserved pub in an industrial area. Good choice of beers and tasty filled rolls.

On 31st July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 124 recommendations about 121 pubs]

Page: 1 2