User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Covid Rules Stuff with Spinko on the Pub Forum

The Silkstone Inn (JD Wetherspoon), Barnsley

Pub added by Danny O'Revey
64 Market Street
Barnsley
S70 1SN
Phone: 01226320860

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about The Silkstone Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Single room spoons, another popular venue in Barnsley, long counter down the right hand side, a five pull set with the unholy trinity plus a couple of decently kept guests, it has taken over the Barnsley GBG Wetherspoons slot from the Joseph Bramah. Not a big place by any means and pretty friendly in that Barnsley way. Not surprisingly given the mining heritage memorabilia that the punters seem to be ex-miners. An unfortunate tendency to bloody handle glasses- aaaaaaargh.

On 6th February 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2277 recommendations about 2108 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Silkstone Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

A lot busier than the Joseph Branah Lloyds just a five minute walk down the road. This was the better out of the two in my opinion, a much brighter interior and more stylish with turquoise feature wallpaper inside the booths along the facing wall. There was also a sculpture of a miner's lift shaft featured on the left of the entrance, plus a central gas flame fire along with canopy. Eight handpumps along the bar with six in use, with another poor line up, similar to the Lloyds. The best choice on the day was a Hammertown Pale Ale.

On 8th May 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Silkstone Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

The Silkstone Inn isn't the largest of Spoons and is basically a square room with better than average fixtures and fittings.
There are just eight hand pumps which had the JDW Trio Of Doom, Milestone Black Pearl & Cathedral Gold, Little Critters Blonde Bear, Rooster's Distant Sun and Ossett Yorkshire Blonde. I went for the Yorkshire Blonde (£2.35) which was in good nick.
This seemed a decent enough Spoons to me. My only gripe with it was that I was served the beer in a stupid dimple jug without being asked for a preference. It's GBG 2017 listed.

On 22nd February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Silkstone Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

The Silkstone is a Wetherspoons that is situated on a pedestrianised street.
Once inside there is a decent sised square shaped room that is divided into different areas by bookcases,the bar is on the right side,the floor is part carpeted and bare boarded,there is a large gas fire which is almost in the middle of the room and it was kicking out some heat.
The seating is normal tables and chairs.
I had a drink of Springhead Rudolphs Ruin,which was a decent drink,the other real ales noted were Milestone Comet,Milestone Lions Pride,there were other guest beers i failed to note.
The pub was packed just before 11am with a good mix of drinkers and diners.
I quite liked this Wetherspoons.

Pub visited 30/12/2016

On 19th February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Silkstone Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Hidden away down a quiet and unlikely looking pedestrianised retail street, this is a fairly large single room Wetherspoons pub. You enter to a carpeted area with the servery running down the right hand wall, with a modern bar back which has wave patterned frosted glass and wood panels which create an unusual and not entirely unpleasant look. The middle of the room is packed full of standard tables and chairs, with high tables and stools lined up along the front windows which can be folded back to open the front of the pub up in warmer weather. The left hand side of the pub is partly screened by some large floor to ceiling shelving units and an unusual centrally positioned fireplace which I can't imagine gets a lot of use. Banquette seating runs down the left hand wall beneath some rather bright paintings of local scenes which add some much needed colour to an otherwise gloomy room. A series of padded bench booths complete the seating options, running down the back wall and each decorated with black and white photos and a globe shaped lamp shade. The pub takes it's name from the Silkstone coal seam which saw Barnsley become the main mining town in South Yorkshire and rather fittingly there is a sculpture of a colliery wheel and engine house positioned opposite the bar called 'Mining the Silk Seam'. Several TV screens were on throughout the room, showing muted news coverage to a fairly busy post-match crowd who were dealt with efficiently by the well drilled bar team.
I counted eight handpulls which were offering four regular Wetherspoons ales, three guests and a real cider. I tried a pint of the Old Mill Blonde Bombshell but found it a bit tired and I struggled to get through it. This was the second disappointing Old Mill beer I tried that afternoon, and part of me now wonders if it was the beer itself that was the problem, rather than conditioning.
I didn't really warm to this rather characterless 'Spoons and regret forsaking other pubs around town in order to give it a try. I'm afraid I can't agree with the previous reviewer on this one, as I much preferred the nearby Joseph Bramah branch of this chain.

On 30th April 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2494 recommendations about 2494 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Silkstone Inn (JD Wetherspoon)

Unremarkable 'spoons, perhaps a bit smaller than most but there is also quite a large patio are at the front. Eight handpumps, with a so-so choice considering that Thwaites Lancaster Bomber (£2.15) was about the most interesting one on offer. However, it is certainly more pleasant inside than the Lloyds No. 1 (the Joseph Bramah) a short distance away.

On 10th November 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6109 recommendations about 6109 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Silkstone (JD Wetherspoon)

A dark Wetherspoons of average size, a little different to their usual offerings and better for it. There is a central feature fire, then some shelvings and/or seating, with sofas in the windows, a bar to one side, and booth seating on another wall. The lighting is dim and the wood dark.

6 real ales of good quality, very popular & a rather nice place.

On 17th November 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]