User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with london calling on the Pub Forum

BrewDog Shoreditch, Shoreditch, E1

Pub added by elizabeth mcgraw
51-55 Bethnal Green Road
E1
E1 6LA

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about BrewDog Shoreditch

Relatively small wedge-shaped bar with a less industrial look than some of this chain's outlets. Mix of booths and tall tables, with another bar downstairs (not visited) and some outdoor furniture at the angled end. Usual wide range of their own beers, several guests and a few ciders from at least 25 taps, but I went for the Indie pale ale (£5.40).

On 19th May 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 5406 recommendations about 5406 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about BrewDog

Wedge shaped interior with the usual raw industrial styling( didn't visit downstairs). Does what it says on the tin.

On 26th September 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2558 recommendations about 2503 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about BrewDog

Visited afterwork on a Friday,I was expecting this modern bar to be heaving,but although busy it was by no means rammed.The square booths offer seating options while the basement with more seating went unvisited by me.It's trendy and has the usual slate bar,and cinema style beer list above the bar.12 Brewdog beers of various strength,many with comical names, were offered along side 8 guests from the like of Siren ,BeaverTown,Brew Head Z,Duggles and Tool.It's all keg and some stronger brews will be priced by the schooner,so expect very high pint equivalent pricing.However my BrewDog Elvis Juice schooner was very good and I noticed that both the level of carbonation and temperature has been dialled down significantly compared with earlier Brew Dog bar experiences.There is a wide choice of bottles in fridges at the far end,but there is a corkage to drink these on the premises.
CAMRA wont like it,but if you are after some very high ABV brews with undoubted flavour,this is a refuge from Boring Brown Bitter.If only BrewDog were prepared to offer these beers on cask....now that would be nirvana.

On 18th February 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1908 recommendations about 1908 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about BrewDog

Utilitarian BrewDog outlet (all keg, of course), located in a modern corner building which until recently was Mason & Taylor’s, a pub I sadly never got round to doing when it was open. Long, narrow interior with various seating areas (including an uncomfortable-looking set of square booths), plus a subterranean bar (‘Underdog’ – ho ho). Plenty of too-cool-for-school décor touches, such as drooping wires everywhere, exposed pipework and a rendered but-unfinished ceiling, though the tungsten-style lamps hanging from it were rather nice, I thought. The plate glass frontage running along almost the entire left hand side does at least allow for plenty of natural light. Seating incorporates a number of old school lab stools. As is usual for the so-called ‘punks’ of brewing, branded stuff is everywhere, including t-shirts for sale (how very corporate). An Odeon cinema-style backlit strip above the bar listed the beers available, along with a stab at indicating the size of the vessel in which the liquid comes (quite why they feel the need to only serve some beers at 2/3 of a pint is a mystery to me). I decided to go for a Kernel beer, which was quite enjoyable despite suffering from the usual issue of being over-cold and too gassy for my palate. Staff were a bit more friendly and less snotty than I’ve encountered in BD bars elsewhere which was a blessed relief. I’m never going to like these sort of places (especially when run by BD), but at least this one had some positives, even if I’m highly unlikely to be back.

On 25th February 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3794 recommendations about 3782 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about BrewDog

Previously Mason and Taylor, this modern pub has antique fittings and represents a paradox of a pub. Modern and vulgar, yet has a friendly pub feel, the concrete and exposed service pipes a counterpoint to the tiles and tables. There is also a basement bar below – Underdog – but I didn't venture down there. The staff were really very friendly and helpful – one even let me photograph her T-shirt as they didn't have one in my size to buy. The full, extensive range of Brewdog beers was available, but they come at a high price. I had a pint of Dead Pony Club Ale which was OK, well kept and served at a reasonable temperature, but it just wasn't my taste. Good pub food was advertised, but time did not allow me to eat as the demands of a sociable pub crawl took priority. Happy to go back next time I'm passing.

On 24th February 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2285 recommendations about 2265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about BrewDog

As someone who now counts more years than David Gower’s first class batting average I have never considered myself to be the target demographic for the Brewdog bars. But followed the London PuG members along Bethnal Green Road last weekend to make my inaugural visit to one of their bars.
A strangely shaped corner establishment which has an industrial theme décor going on with bare lights, bits of iron and moulded aggregate that make the place look like a bit of a foundry. And then a serving area with lots of pumps dispensing expensive beer, the highlight of which is the quite wonderful beer menu above it in the style of an old Odeon cinema sign, so cluttered and disorganised that to the untrained eye, you have no idea what’s available and what it costs. And you kind of get the feeling that if you have to ask, you’re in the wrong place.
So a fairly soulless place serving fine but expensive beers, why would anyone in the area go there.
Now fortunately I know the answer to that one as I visit the nearby Spitalfields market and laugh at what they are trying to charge for the pretentious modern art crap in there, and also visit the market inside the old Trumans brewery and cry at what they are charging for the old crap that I have thrown out onto skips in recent years in there .
A Brewdog bar in Shoreditch. Yep I certainly get it.
And for the record I too had an excellent half of Dead Pony Club 3.8% costing 2.10 of my hard earned English pounds and sat there sipping it slowly to make it last as long as I humanly could.

On 12th February 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1577 recommendations about 1528 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


moby duck left this review about BrewDog

Fairly nondescript drinking bar,only keg beers available,I tried a half of Dead Pony Club 3.8% costing £2.10,it was on the cold side as to be expected but not too fizzy,I actually enjoyed it, it certainly packed a hoppy punch.I could take or leave the bar itself but would call again for a beer.

On 10th February 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1186 recommendations about 1175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about BrewDog

Since my initial review, this place has been taken over by the Brewdog Brewery and functions as their second London bar. Things have changed quite a lot since the Mason & Taylor days, with the most notable change being the repositioning of the servery, which is now located under the huge front windows – not a particularly practical change in terms of the use of available space, but it looks good when viewed from outside. High table and stool seating fills up much of the rest of the room, with a bit of vertical drinking space opposite the bar and a button backed banquette in one corner, close to the staircase that leads down to the ‘Underdog’ bar, which is used as a live music venue. Brewdog have an annoying habit of referring to themselves as ‘punk’, so it was presumably with this in mind that they have papered the gents toilets with some excellent reproduction punk posters, flyers, magazines and album covers (plus the inevitable Brewdog promotional material).
No handpulls of course, but the keg options included Punk IPA, 5am Saint, Hardcore IPA, Libertine, Fake Lager, Dead Pony Club, Ipaid Amarillo, Cocoa Psycho, Blitz Apricot and Dogwired. Eight guest keg brews included beers from Fyne, Mikkeller, Beavertown and a few US craft beer heavyweights. One of those stuffed animal bottles stood on the bar back and you could enjoy a shot of Tactical Nuclear Penguin for (takes deep breath) £6. I tried the Punk IPA and was disappointed to find myself with a fizzy pint that bore very little resemblance to the cask version I used to very much enjoy.
I quite liked the vibe of this place and thought that the staff in particular were very good, offering lots of help, advice and tasters to those unsure what to order. It is frustrating that Brewdog now only produce inferior keg versions of their beers, but if you’re looking for a decent craft beer style bar, you could do a lot worse than this place – I’m just not convinced it’s an improvement on the previous venue.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Original review of Mason & Taylors – 6th May 2011

My first visit to this relatively new craft beer and real ale bar, happened to coincide with a 'Single Hop Beer Festival' they were holding, which was fortunate in that I had a lot of choice, but frustrating as I could only stay for one pint before heading off for a curry on nearby Brick Lane. The interior resembles a typical modern bar, with some decent contemporary design including an impressive bar back which allows a large array of beer and wine to be put on display. The seating is mostly standard tables and chairs in front of the very large shop-front style windows, although there is also a downstairs area which I didn't have time to explore. The ceiling is all exposed wires and pipes, with strange little lamps hanging down. Some decent music was on rotation whilst I was there, played at a discreet enough volume.
There are 8 taps dispensing interesting keg products from around the world, including Camden Helles, Sierra Nevada Porter, Brooklyn Lager, Westmalle Dubbel and Chimay White. Three handpulls offered Dark Star Hophead, Kernel Simcoe IPA and one other that I forgot to note. A further 10 cask ales were available downstairs as part of the festival, but this is obviously not the norm. A list of about 40 bottled beers is available and it appears that the keg and bottle range changes every three months - details are available on their website. I tried a pint of the Kernel Simcoe IPA and thought it was like nothing I'd ever tasted before - absolutely fantastic. The staff were very helpful and knowledgeable, going so far as to detail the sourcing of the pear juice my other half ordered. A small bar snacks menu is available, but this differs from standard pub snack fare, listing the likes of pickled ox tongue and a rabbit and crayfish terrine all in tapas size portions around the £3-5 mark.
I really liked this place which, despite its initially off-putting modern interior, is a great spot to try some interesting new beers with staff and fellow customers who seem to share a passion for the pint. I don't make it over to this side of town all that often, but I will certainly be looking to give this place another try some time soon. 8/10

On 6th October 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2269 recommendations about 2269 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about BrewDog

Standard industrial basic Brewdog layout in an unattractive corner building between two streets, with a bar at the end and windows to Bethnal Green Road. Usual choice of excellent craft (keg version) beers.

On 4th June 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1168 recommendations about 1145 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about Mason and Taylor

This place is now a Brewdog bar with the usual array of keg taps along the bar, and fitted out as per the other Brewdog pubs using old sports hall floor for osme of the low walls and school lab furniture.
It has a fairly bright and airy feel depsite being lit by old tungsten lamps hinging from the ceiling.
An excellent range of Brewdog beers on draft with an also excellent range of guests from UK and USA breweries. AN unusual feature is that you can see all the bottled beers below the bar area from the street!

Been in here twice since it reoponed as brewdog and the bar staff have been great.

On 9th December 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]