User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 20th September 2020) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Roundhouse, Nottingham

Pub added by Alan Winfield
Royal Standard Place
Nottingham
NG1 6FS
Phone: 01159240120

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The Roundhouse

The roundhouse is a very nice Hospital building conversion in an imposing round shaped tower building. This can be classed more as a dining pub with high end gastro food served however there are tables for drinkers and a large bar area to stand as well as a lobby type seating area with chairs and tables at the top of the stairs. They are also very accommodating in the day when they are not busy and you are more than welcome to sit at the dining tables if they are not booked. The inside is very nicely furnished in a French bistro style decor with tapestries and paintings throughout as well as a grand painted celling. The arc shaped bar is also very nicely equipped with half a dozen hand pumps. Two national brands Tribute and landlord (£3.60) were supplemented by local ales Dancing Duck Dark Drake (£3.40) Dancing Duck Round heart (£2.90) Springhead Left Lion and Blue monkey Gorilla. The landlord was nicely kept but expensive for Nottingham although a Camra Discount was offered. This is a good place to carry on to if on the Derby road Crawl and very wife friendly if not a tad on the pretentious side but still well worth a try if around the area.

On 18th July 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 454 recommendations about 454 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Roundhouse

This is on some Nottingham architectural pub crawl map and while I agree the exterior looks good the interior is a bit naff. Yes there is a nice ceiling painting but the rest just looks like it might be a brothel waiting area. 6 handpumps, so to speak, serve an ok selection of real ales. I struggled to like it but I doubt I'll be back.

On 27th April 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3388 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Round House

Excellent "wife friendly" pub. You know what I mean...Nice food/seats/toilets and fizz by the glass. Aside from that, a surprisingly good real ale venue. Always lots of local beers on draught as well as more common stuff. This pub has become a favourite of ours after Saturday shopping trips or as a starter before a good meal out. Will return again and again.

On 29th March 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Round House

Comfortable modern pub with various different seating areas arranged around the smallish bar, all housed at first-floor level in the distinctively-shaped building. Five of six handpumps in operation, and although the house beer had just gone there was still a good choice of beers from some rarer microbreweries - my pint of Dr Morton's Hat Glue (£2.70 with a CAMRA discount) was excellent. With very friendly service, this place is well worth seeking out. (NB - Review dates from September 2011 - amended because rating was missing.)

On 5th February 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6109 recommendations about 6109 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Round House

As implied by the name, this place is indeed perfectly round both inside and out which makes for a fairly unusual (and sometimes disorientating) drinking experience. Formerly part of Nottingham General Hospital and only recently converted to a licensed premises (it does still happen!) the main bar is accessed via a fair few stairs. The interior has been decorated in a fairly plush lounge-style - dark green trim, heavy velvet curtains, impressive ceiling frescos, comfy leather chairs etc - which divides opinion a bit but I rather like it, especially as they are happy to sell six good-quality ales with a slant to local breweries at decent prices (with a CAMRA discount available). Service from the two barmaids on my visit was very good, friendly and helpful (Canalhouse take note!). Upmarket food is available (coffee cakes at the bar!) but we were offered pork pie which was a bit more like it…enjoyable enough but maybe a little on the small side for the price? There were some nice wedge-shaped snugs at the rear and raised seating area around the side of the room. Aimed at the more sophisticated clientele, we were nonetheless made to feel welcome and it’d be a good place to take a partner without having to compromise on the finer things in life.

On 19th November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Round House

I am generally very positive to old historical building finding extended life as a pub, but was slightly sceptical when having the Roundhouse initially described as I’ve experienced other quirky buildings where it just hasn’t worked.
But happy to say I was impressed by this one. Yes it is more lounge bar than traditional pub, but the complete circular space has been utilised well and the available space is well arranged so that there are distinct and different areas as you go round the circle.
The bar section has six real ale handpumps supporting regional brewery beers and there is space for vertical drinking, but as others have commented, it’s not really the place for that.
Good beer selection and the Nutbrook Banter I tried was well kept.

On 18th November 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1701 recommendations about 1650 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Round House

A good all round pub this one, a very well run establishment with pleasant staff and a good range of well kept ales. I enjoyed the Grafton Brewery Encore, Beer Works Dr Mortons Rubrication and Copthorne Cossack. Pork pie was good but a bit on the small side for Northerners. Will spend longer next visit.

On 15th November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Round House

This is an impressive building and we climbed quite a lot of stairs to get to the bar. We were informed that there is quite a long slope we could have used to get to the bar after we got in, and my husband was pleased to note that although the toilets are downstairs, they did have a disabled one upstairs. No problem here with the beers and there was a choice available. We had Belvoir Old Dalby and Blue Monkey Sanctuary. Impressive menu.

Above was written on 13.10.10. Revistited on Friday and enjoyed Abbeydale Beer Works Dr Morton Rubrication and Grafton Encore. It is a bit difficult for anyone unable to manage stairs to get in. We found the circular ramp at the rear, but I had to go in to open the firedoor from the inside to let my husband in. There is a disabled loo on the same floor as the bar, but the other loos are downstairs.

On 14th November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Round House

An interestingly circular building that once formed a part of the old Nottingham General Hospital and has the look of a wedding cake. The building is predominantly in undressed brick, but has string courses of both stone and moulded decoration. There is a patio area.

The interior is of course a circular room. It is accessed via a staircase and is open-plan with some partitioning around a central table. The decor is white, wood panel and exposed brick walls, with a wood floor and a white and 'painted art ceiling' in sistine chapel mode - complete with cracks. Pencil drawings and other framed art also adorn the walls there are comfy full-backed chairs in which i expected to see Sherlock Holmes sipping a Paler's Poison. There was no TV that i saw and the music was general and quiet. The place did food, but i didn't eat so i can't comment on that. The service was very good and the clientele consisted of a few couples.

Beer; usual tap stuff with Roundhouse Gold, Theakston's Black Bull Bitter, Burton Bridge Bitter, Dr Morton's Rabbit Punch, Full Mash Hummingbird and a decent Brewster's Cheval Mort MILD

I notice that the place divides the opinions of the worthy regulars below. I don't like the interior, but the beer and service are fine and as it is tidy, i can loive with it. It is the kind of place more to go with Mrs Soup rather than mates.

On 14th September 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Round House

This pub used to be part of the old general hospital and is perfectly circular, hence the name. You have to go up a couple of flights of steps to enter, but there is disabled access. I quite liked the inside, although is is more of a lounge than a pub. This no doubt explains the large number of couples and girls eating a late lunch. We called in on a late Monday afternoon and it was still fairly busy. Lots of alcoves also add to the girlie friendly atmosphere, in fact the other half loved it. There were 6 handpumsp on the bar but only four on serving an ever changing range of guests plus a house beer brewed by Full Mash. My pint was in great condition and Ms CAMRA thought the red wine was very good. It's quite rightly listed in the GBG 2012. We'll certainly visit here again next time we're in Nottingham.

On 13th September 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2862 recommendations about 2782 pubs]

Page: 1 2