User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
BITE bites the dust???? with RealAleRobUK on the Pub Forum

The Old Cock, Otley

Pub added by aleand hearty
11-13 Crossgate
Otley
LS21 1AA
Phone: 01943464424

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about The Old Cock

Paid an overdue visit to this pub and was most disappointed. My pint of real ale was not good. My wife had half a lager and complained that it did not taste nice. What has happened to what was an enjoyable pub to visit?wetherspoons standard

On 8th April 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 96 recommendations about 86 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Old Cock

We called in here, early on a Saturday lunchtime, so we managed to occupy a window seat on the bar side and was soon chatting away to the people next to us. There were 9 handpumps in use, so we went for the Ulverston Harvest Moon and Briscoe's Lighter Shade of Pale. The Briscoe brewery, a local beer, which was started in 1998 by a Dr Paul Briscoe, who started brewing in his cellar. Whilst at the bar I purchased one of their hot pasties, locally made, which I have to say was outstanding and coupled with a good pint of beer, you can't go wrong.

On 6th April 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3073 recommendations about 3073 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Old Cock

At the time of my visit, I honestly had no idea that this wasn't quite the attractive 'old' pub that it seems... Anyway, it looks a picture from the street and has a very comfortable and traditional feel inside. Limited seating in the compact bar but more in the side room and upstairs. Nine handpumps on the counter, offering an excellent range of local beers including a fine pint of Wharfebank Dexter Milk Stout. Very handy if waiting for a bus, and well worth a visit anyway even if you're not!

On 22nd February 2015 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6956 recommendations about 6956 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Old Cock

The Old Cock is a nice looking stone built pub that is very close to the bus station.
Once inside i had a drink in the main bar room which is a smallish square shaped room with the bar facing,the floor was stone and there was a real wood burning fire on the go to the left,the seating was narrow bench type and some small stools and tables.
There is a separate room to the right which was similar to the bar room but with no bar,there is another room upstairs.
There was great choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Ilkley Mary Jane which went down very well in a really nice pub,the other beers that i noted were Dalesbottom Dark,Taylor Landlord,Wentworth Blueberry Stout,Thornebridge Wild Swan,there were other beers that i failed to note.
This is a really nice pub that i was quite happy having a drink in.

Pub visited 8/11/2014

On 8th November 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Old Cock

I couldn't really have a crawl around Otley without visiting the Old Cock. Since the pub opened in September 2010, it has been a three times winner of Leeds CAMRA Pub of the Year award - no mean feat in a catchment area blessed with plenty of outstanding pubs. Such awards generally guarantee an impressive ale selection and I was not disappointed when I saw a long row of handpulls dispensing Theakston Best Bitter, Ilkley Mary Jane, Phoenix Monkeytown Mild, Ridgeside Templar, Thwaites Original, Wharfebank Nightshade, Kirkstall Black Band Porter, Briscoe's Pacifica Pale and Rodham's Old Chestnut. The last two are Otley based breweries and the pub has a commitment to always serve a beer from at least one of them. Getting into the spirit of things, I sampled them both and whilst the Rodham's didn't do much for me, the Pacifica Pale was an excellent pint. In addition, there are two real ciders and a keg range that includes a few more obscure cider and perry options. There is also a pretty decent looking bottled beer range as well, but the pub was absolutely packed on my Saturday evening visit, so I didn't linger around the bar area to explore further.
The pub is interesting by Otley's standards, inasmuch as it is a genuinely new pub, having been built as a pair of cottages back in the 1750's and subsequently used by various retail businesses. You enter directly into the main bar area, with a large stone fireplace to one side and the servery running along the back wall. Boards above the bar detail the full ale range, which is especially helpful when the crowds prevent you from getting a good look at the hand pumps. There is fairly limited seating in this space - just a couple of tables under the front window - but a doorway to the right leads you into a second room which has a lot more tables and includes one bench that has been situated inside what appears to be a disused fireplace, offering an unusual and somewhat cramped seating option. This area was also packed tight on my visit, so I headed up the stairs into a much needed third room which is bare boarded and has pew and low stool seating as well as a drinking ledge, offering a bit of respite and comfort from the crowds downstairs. Some great brewery mirrors decorate the walls up here and I noticed details of the limited menu the pub offers, which seemed to focus around locally produced sausages. During a trip to the gents, I noticed a sign that read 'Keep the Old Cock under control, don't pee on the floor'!
This pub was busy for a reason - it's a really excellent alehouse offering a varied range of well kept ales (two and a half years after opening, they were already serving up their 1000th different beer) in a warm and comfortable environment. If I was to find myself in Otley again, there is no doubt that this would be my first port of call - the hype is fully justified.

On 12th January 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2783 recommendations about 2783 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about The Old Cock

Opening in the autumn of 2010, to almost immediate acclaim, the Old Cock is a superb example of a modern independent alehouse. Housed in a restored eighteenth century stone cottage, it’s a small, cosy, two-roomer with an additional overflow space upstairs. As you’d probably expect, it’s low ceilinged, with exposed beams and a stone flagged floor; plus plenty of wall benches, cast iron tables and stools. The main room, housing the bar, has a wood burning stove and the room upstairs is lined with brewery mirrors and various bits of breweriana.

At the bar there are nine hand pumps and the pub’s ethos is to champion local micros wherever possible. Pleasingly, they also seem keen to maintain a mixture of beer styles, across the wickets. During our visit I opted for Rat Brewery’s ‘Rat in the Hat’ and Walls’ ‘Northallerton Dark’ both being in excellent nick. Service from the two barmen was very friendly and welcoming and even at midday on a Wednesday there was a gentle trickle of trade. At busier times, I’m sure the place gets absolutely rammed.

During a crawl of Otley’s finest, this was my undoubted favourite. If I lived in the area, I’ve no doubt this would become my local. Unmissable, if visiting the town.

On 29th July 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 438 recommendations about 422 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Old Cock

A recent addition to Otley's drinking scene provided by a small two roomed specialist ale house offering Tetleys Cask and Theakstons Best plus a range of six ales from micros on eight pulls, and some carefully chosen European beers on mini T Bars, the only mainstream keg being Guinness, so a bit bleak for the Carling drinkers. There is also a nice selection of bottled “world beers” and a few wines from around the world listed in the drinks menu. Food appears limited to hand made rolls and pork pies. The two downstairs rooms, there is a third more dining -room like area upstairs next to the gents; are decorated in fashionably unfinished walls of exposed brick and stone or painted rough plaster, the floors are flagstoned. Furnishing is traditional with benches, stools and sewing machine tables, décor is from distillery mirrors and drinks adverts a la Market Town Taverns. The place was fairly busy on my lunchtime visit, especially the left hand room, with discerning drinkers avoiding the nearby 'spoons, of course the charming bar staff may have helped as well as the excellent beers.

On 11th January 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2576 recommendations about 2347 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about The Old Cock

An impressive find this, a small, low-ceilinged country boozer which had an interesting range of beers and ciders. Bowland Hunter's Moon (£2.50 and one of a number of Bowland beers on) and my associate's Kingston Press cider (£2.70) were both in good nick. We sat in the downstairs area, which appears recently (re)furbished with wooden furniture, low beams and exposed brick. There is another seating area upstairs but everyone was sitting downstairs on our visit. Has possibly just opened hence the lack of reviews - but a decent pub and one to visit if in the area.

On 7th November 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]