User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Golden Eagle, Derby

55 Agard Street
Derby
DE1 1DZ

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Golden Eagle

Very smart estate/locals pub on the periphery of the City.

Tap House for Titan Beer and their Titan Pale was distinctive and in good condition.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2w1lOlC

On 20th August 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 865 recommendations about 857 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Golden Eagle

This traditional pub dates back to 1830 and houses an interesting collection of photos of the local area. The landlord showed us a framed unopened envelope from the First World War, which was decorated with some Flemish hand stitched silk, which was addressed to a local lass. There was also a photo of her in a nearby St.
As mentioned, the landlord was very friendly and helpful and made us very welcome indeed. The pub had a good atmosphere and the locals were also friendly and chatty. Six ales on handpump, I went for the Titan EPA, which was decent enough. The bar area displayed some old Cod bottles along a shelf and pump clips around the bar walls.

On 4th December 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3036 recommendations about 3036 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Golden Eagle

Nicely presented and with a very pubby feel, light but traditional, home to Titan beers

On 2nd December 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Golden Eagle

A small square street corner pub,it's owned by the Titan Brewery and is their tap.The interior has an ale house feel and the guv'nor couldnt have been more friendly and helpful,even recommending other real ale pubs worth a visit in Derby.The pub also seemed to be offering as much cider as ale,so great place for fans of the apple.
The ale range was Old Speckled Hen,Titanic Plum Porter (on top form),Animal Brewing Neigh,Titan Ruby & EPA.
Yet another pub you really should visit on any pub crawl,I liked the vibe in here.

On 25th November 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2224 recommendations about 2224 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Golden Eagle

This back street pub that punches way above its weight on the beer front. Noticed that it is featured in the Winter 15 issue of Derby drinker as being back in the GBG after some 13 years and apparently was one that was in danger of closure until it was taken over by a father and son team from the local Titan brewery two years ago who have by all accounts turned this one round and it now functions as a good community local and the Tap pub for the Titan brewery.
And that was well in evidence for our recent visit and the pub seems to be thriving well.
An excellent choice of different ales and ciders available on the pumps and alongside the Ruby and EPA from the Titan brewery, Animal Brewing Neigh, Old Golden Hen and a rather excellent Titanic Plum Porter were available.
With its interesting external murals and eclectic objects internally this is now a well run pub of some character and well worth a visit when in Derby

On 23rd November 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1779 recommendations about 1721 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Golden Eagle

Tap for Titan ales (they brew on the kit at Mr Grundys) with impressive exterior artwork. The interior is a fairly large open room with a wooden floor and the bar is off to the right. Seemed a bit open and rattly, internally. Nicely done framed snippets of Derby history adorn the walls to keep you occupied over your pint. Darts and board games available. Quiz Weds, acoustic music Thurs. Child friendly. Toilets in very good nick, so fair play. Six ales, including two from Titan and two proper ciders. I tried the Titan Ruby which was a little lacking condition but drinkable enough and served up by a friendly guv’nor. Choice of jug or straight glass. Overall it’s the sort of place that needs to be busy in order to get the experience. 7.5

On 22nd November 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4219 recommendations about 4206 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Golden Eagle

Decent, traditional pub (albeit one with some interesting exterior murals) acting as the Titan Brewery tap. The partly opened-out interior features a variety of seating areas and a dartboard. Very friendly landlord who made us feel very welcome. Good selection of real ales from six handpumps, including their own Ruby and EPA (£1.40, half), a couple of guests and two ciders. One of several good ale pubs in this area.

On 21st November 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6670 recommendations about 6670 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Golden Eagle

As well as ciders and a couple of Titan beers, Bitter and Pale, there were Greene King Old Golden Hen, Black Hole Red Dwarf and Lincoln Green Tuck available at the time of my recent visit. I went for the Tuck, a porter, which was very good. It was fairly quiet on my late Sunday afternoon visit, but I imagine they are building up a regular customer base from scratch, so this was not surprising. I saw live music advertised, as well as a "bring your vinyl to play on our Dansette" event, but I don't know if that's going to be a regular thing.

Date of visit: 19th October 2014

On 13th November 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2764 recommendations about 2603 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Golden Eagle

Changed rather a lot since the last review. It's now the brewery tap for Titan Brewery. The outside of the pub is covered in murals featuring important people from Derby's past e.g. clockmaker John Whitehurst. Once inside it's one fairly small room with a dartboard area and a lounge area. Down some steps there's an outside patio which was a real suntrap on our Saturday afternoon visit. Two Titan beers on the bar alongside a couple of guest ales and a couple of real ciders. My pint of Titan Pale was in excellent nick. Well worth the short diversion off Friargate when visiting The Greyhound as we were. Another one we'll be coming back to.

On 22nd July 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2937 recommendations about 2855 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


richard sanders-white left this review about Union Blue

New Management will take over the pub mid June - Karaoke - and Open Mike - Food to be available soon, Party nights with camp cheesy classics, Drag Queen at the weekend - small and friendly. Popular with the Gay Community, and local students.

excellent on Beer Price -
well worth a visit -

On 29th May 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]