User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Flowerpot, Derby

25 King Street
Derby
DE1 3DZ
Phone: 01332204955

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Flowerpot

Another tick from the 2018 Good Beer Guide. Old school feel inside but opens out to a courtyard with a stage. Live music on a Sunday afternoon for my visit, which was where all the punters were.

As seems to be the norm in Derby - many handpulls on. Unfortunately, I had the worse pint of the night in here - a lifeless Blue Monkey that died a headless death whilst enjoying the band.

Good pub though.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2w1lOlC

On 20th August 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 846 recommendations about 838 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Flower Pot

Oddly shaped bar with stage room at the rear, opened out, carpeted & red paddied benches. Rather average but good ale choice

On 2nd December 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Flower Pot

The Flower pot is not looking its best at the moment as it is covered in scaffolding and stripped back to the brick externally. In fact on first sight when we checked into our digs opposite I thought the place had closed down, but was relieved to see the “Open as usual” sign written in Crayon pinned to the front door.
Internally I was surprised to find a smarter pub than I was expecting from the outside vista, although it is still tradition with a lived in feel as commented by others. And agree the library section at the back is a nice spot on the large sofas.
Fortunately I had given up with attempting to take written notes by this point on the crawl and photographic evidence on my iphone of the chalk board beer list allows me to confirm that Raw Anubis Porter, Purbeck American Pale Ale, Whim Harrington IPA, Frontier Ramification, Black Iris Bleeding Heart and Sunflower, Big Rabbit Wild West Country, Rat Brewery Gunpowder Rat and Ashover Font were available on the pumps alongside Marstons Pedigree and Doombar. And then Whim Flowerpower and Blue Monkey Infinity were available from the cellar.
This pub appealed to me, not least because as also mentioned the Flower Pot is also a leading venue for both tribute and former bands, as both Dr Feelgood and Nine Below Zero are playing in December, to ply their trade.

On 25th November 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1770 recommendations about 1714 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Flower Pot

I always seem to end up here at the fag-end of a crawl when my notes are sketchy. Anyway there were nine pumps in the front bar, eight plus a cider. My first one, Gunpowder Rat was a bit flat, my follow-up of Ashover Font was better. Four more ales to the rear from Black Iris, the in-house brewery which has replaced Headless since the death of the previous brewer (I forgot to note the blackboard listing all the brews available so missed these as a result). Plenty of breweriana around to keep you amused and I quite liked the ‘library’ area as a seating space It’s a major music pub and inevitably there was some fairly loud modern music going on which wasn’t to my taste. Also worth noting there’s a 20p off a pint CAMRA discount. So still good.

September 2010
An interlinking multi-roomed beerhouse (sort of horseshoe shaped, with a pair of spurs either side) with around 12 ales on. The ones I tried were in very good condition, coming mainly from Micros and the in-house Headless brewery though the Marstons Pedigree was slightly incongruous in its presence on the bar. The brewery can be viewed through a glass wall which is a nice touch. Décor consists of old gig posters and some bottle collections. TV sports available and big on live music, it seemed. Rear beer garden. On beer choice and quality alone, this is a must-visit. Rated 8

On 22nd November 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4200 recommendations about 4187 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Flower Pot

A popular live music venue,which is also known for a wide selection of real ale.Check out the board listing the choice as some of the real ales arent displayed on the handpumps but come up from the cellar . I missed the opportunity to have a Whim Flower Power as a result !I noted 7 handpumps around the bar,and my Black Iris Bleeding Heart was in good nick.The decor is a bit worn but that is probably the vibe that the owners want to create,laid back and relaxing.Worth including on a real ale crawl.

On 16th November 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2202 recommendations about 2202 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Flower Pot

Update – November 2013

Still very much a live music orientated pub, with an apparent emphasis on tribute bands for groups, some of whom even I have heard of – eg The Who, Rolling Stones, David Bowie, Slade

Headless no longer brew on site ( brewing is now done by Black Iris ) , but otherwise my earlier review below is still current and the pub continues to offer a good range of real ale which, on my visit, included Whim Hartington IPA ( very moreish ), Blue Monkey, Hobgoblin, Pedigree, Liverpool Organic, Oakham Bishops Farewell and, from the on site brewery, Black Iris Sunflower. It's a CAMRA Good Beer Guide regular.

Still worth a look in when in town, irrespective of whether you’re a music fan or not. It’s only a short walk from Ye Olde Dolphin, which is on most people’s list to do.

ORIGINAL REVIEW - APRIL 2009


The Flowerpot is Derby CAMRA's pub of the year for 2007 and is situated on the edge of a busy road junction in the City Centre.

The deceptively small frontage belies a much expanded interior inside.

The pub is the home of the Headless Brewery and rows of beer casks can be viewed through an unusual glass screen in a bar at the back.

Immediately on the right as you enter the pub is an area that looks like it could be part of the original pub. Here are some pictures and framed prints, including one detailing Derby County's football fixtures in 1914/15 when such teams as Glossop, Clapton Orient and Woolwich provided the mouth watering opposition.

Also look out for an amusing framed caricature in another part of the pub of everybody's idea, apparently, of the archetypal "beer ticker".

Regular live music is featured in another room towards the back of the pub.

The pub is a keen supporter of local micros as well as its own on site beers. The imaginatively named King Street Ale brewed on site was a good tasty pint.

In conclusion, unless you're a big fan of live music, The Flowerpot does not strike me as a particularly memorable or inspiring pub, as a pub in itself, but it is certainly worth making the effort to seek out for its splendid beer range

On 18th December 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Flower Pot

Great pub, full of great beer. There is a little beer garden out the back, which just catches the late sun in summer. What more do you need?

On 19th April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Flower Pot

This 2013 Good Beer Guide pub has always been on my list of pubs to visit when in Derby and has improved over the last year or two. The interlinking rooms give plenty of seating choice, and the massive glass wall to the stillages of beers is a great feature. Home to Black Iris brewery we enjoyed Black Iris Sunflower. What I love about this pub is that it also serves a great range of ales from other micro breweries, and we stayed awhile to enjoy Bays Spooky Ale, Blue Bee Shake Rattle and Roll, Revolutions EP, and Wood Street Devil Wood too.

On 11th November 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Flower Pot

Still going strong. We've visited the pub several times since my last review and always had top notch beer. Black Iris is now the on site brewery after the sad death of the Headless brewer. On Saturday last week my pint of Revolutions Entertainment was on top form.

14/07/2010
If you start at one end of the bar and have a half of everything on the handpumps in here you'll never leave! Usually in midweek they don't have much beer on, only the 12 - 15 guest ales plus their own beers from the on site micro brewery (Headless). At weekends they put quite a few more on. They always have a good selection of beer literature around, Derby Drinker, Nottingham Drinker etc. I've always found it to be a friendly pub and I never miss coming here when in Derby.

On 20th July 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2929 recommendations about 2847 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Flower Pot

Quite a deceiving looking pub from the front as it goes back such a long way. It also hosts a venue room for bands and can take 250 people. Has the Black Iris micro brewery on site. Eleven handpumps on my visit, Black Iris all gone to my disappointment. I went for the Oakham Scarlet Macaw which was on its last. Whim Ales Arbor Lights, Whim Hartington IPA, Newmans Pale Seal Pup. Friendly staff, will call again.

On 20th November 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3035 recommendations about 3035 pubs]

Page: 1 2