User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2021 with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

55 Wade Street, Lichfield

Pub added by Soup Dragon
55 Wade Street
Lichfield
WS13 6HL
Phone: 01543415524

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about 55 Wade Street

Small bar / bistro which is quite modern inside. The weather wasn't great so the outside tables and chairs were all stacked up and not in use. A varied selection of 6 ales on including 2 from AJ's - one of which was 55 Wade street. Camra discount. I liked it here and would happily call again.

On 15th April 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1231 recommendations about 1166 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about 55 Wade Street

The former Malt Bar is now known by its street address, but not having visited previously I'm not sure what else may have changed. Anyway, it is now a semi-modern bar / restaurant with the bar and a few stools in the middle section of three partially opened-out rooms. The front section is a mixed seating / dining area, with the rear having more of a restaurant look (an impression enhanced by arched openings and fake ivy 'vegetation'). On the plus side, there are six handpumps on the counter, five of which were operational on my visit, offering Salopian Oracle, Gold and Dukey's Delight from AJ's, Highgate Dark Mild and Titanic Plum Porter.

On 21st October 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6620 recommendations about 6620 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Malt Bar

The easiest way to find the Malt Bar was to visit the George IV first, then exit the George from the back, walk 50 yards and take a right. This bar is worth a look in, if you're on the scout for a couple of ales you wouldn't see around the rest of the town. We called in on a showery afternoon, so no takers at the alfresco seating out front. The interior, in my opinion, was very basic and the colour scheme was on the gloomy side, it wasn't the sort of place to linger in. The bar had four handpumps with three in operation, serving up Oakham Citra, which was in good shape. Also on, Church End Goats Milk and AJ's Mild.

On 11th May 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3035 recommendations about 3035 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Malt Bar

Modern bar selling a few real ales, a bit hidden away

On 27th October 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1287 recommendations about 1265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


jeff thomas left this review about The Malt Bar

after a very plesent trip to the theatre which is litterally a stones throw over the road we popped into the malt bar , judging from the traditional look and location outside we were shocked when we went in as didnt at all match the first impression , cheap bedroom laminate flooring , far to bright lights and walls painted all colours including that tacky dark red that was popular in council flats in 2000 , half decent range of ales but only a couple available it was mid week , tasted ok and clear but in a warm glass not long out the washer , food looked ok but pricey so most eating the £5 special fish and chips ,didnt try but smelt nice only thing was a small portion of chips trying to look posh in a little bucket on the plate not for me , lots of wires revealed where tv sattelite and a blast from the past jukebox making an appearence , staff looked like minimum under 21 students that couldnt wait to get home but suppose thats the norm these days ,long walk up and down stairs at theatre so bit dissapointed with a walk down steep stairs to the toilet , was ok wont go again drank up and went just round corner to three pubs next to each other , a wetherspoons , pig and truffle and the crown where we got jolly untill the taxi picked us up

On 4th April 2015 - rating: 2
[User has posted 2 recommendations about 2 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Malt

A cafe bar with decor and furniture typical of a modern shop conversion, this place has been well described in an earlier review. We made this the start point for our Lichfield crawl because it opens pretty early. There were six hand pumps on the bar, with four beers available on Saturday morning: Holdens Mild, Wye Valley HPA, Salopian Oracle and Nutbrook Responsibly. I had the mild, which was fine apart from being served in a warm glass. My friends, arriving a few minutes later, had the same problem with their beers. We went on to visit half a dozen proper pubs in Lichfield city centre, and while they didn't have the range of beers seen here, the lack of a proper pub ambience in this cafe bar means that I don't rate it as highly as previous reviewers have done.

On 30th October 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2739 recommendations about 2579 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Malt

Mr F has nailed the details below and this place feels more of an 80's wine bar than a boozer. Nothing wrong with that especially with a reasonable quality 80's soundtrack. although perhaps they need to ease up on the Chris de Burgh.
As listed, the four handpumps had on a good selection - Oakham JHB, Mallinsons Jade Gem, Prescott Hill Climb and Roosters Last Stand. It's the first time I've seen a Mallinsons and it was excellent. The policy is to maintain four rotating guest ales and there appears to be a clear aim to keep quality high.
Unusual to find Mallinsons and Roosters in this neck of the woods and that's why it thoroughly deserves a visit even if you prefer a traditional boozer to this bar/restaurant.

On 27th June 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Malt

The local CAMRA rag mentioned that this bar was now a genuine freehouse ,no longer tied to ABC brewery and that was enough to throw the dice and pay a visit.And glad I did so.Above the door the sign says Restaurant and Bar but I would say Bar and Restaurant is a better description for this open plan,modern establishment.There is indeed a restaurant at the back ,through an archway and thereby seperated from the body of the bar which has bare wooden floorboards,exposed brickwork and a selection of high tables and chairs,with a sofa and other modern furniture.It's opposite the Garrick Theatre and close to the shopping centre with a large pavement in front where you can sit outside and hence the location is good and it may well attract a younger crowd compared with the traditional pubs around.
The highlight for me was the four handpumps drawing Oakham JHB,Mallinson's Jade Gem,Prescott Hill Climb and Roosters Last Stand on my trip.Pumps clips from Blue Monkey,Oakham and other micros at the top of the brewing game gave confidence that you can find a top ale here and what we tried on the night were well kept.
Open for breakfast ,with different menus at lunch and evening shows food is an important element but it's also a good place to sample ale,if you dont mind the modern vibe and loud muzak.For my money the best place to hit in Lichfield for top ale,a must visit if you are engaged in beer tourism.

On 27th June 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2202 recommendations about 2202 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


General Staal left this review about The Malt

The description of the Malt is as Soupy says below. Modern interior in an old Georgian building.

I visited here at about 5:45ish on a Saturday with Mrs Staal. It was very quiet. I had a pint of Aston Brewery Red Rotunda. It was very flat. I then had a half of Aston Mild, which was also flat. I had a half pint of Titanic which was fine and a half of Marston's (sorry can't remember which!) but that went flat quickly. Finally, I ordered a half of Aston Distressway, but another customer pointed out how flat his pint was, so I swiftly changed my order to half of Dizzy Blonde, which poured well, but went really flat.

Mrs Staal said I should have taken them back, but, as almost all were flat, what was the point?

We also ate. The food was nice. I really enjoyed mine. Mrs Staal left none of hers.

There was little atmosphere in there, but the young manageress was trying really hard. The service was fine.

In short, I would try it again for beer, because the reviews below say that their experiences were fine. But next time, I would start with halves and work up.

The place has promise, just not on the evening I was there.

On 25th September 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 142 recommendations about 125 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Malt

A terraced Georgian looking undressed brick build and former cafe. It is now a self styled bar and restaurant. There is a patio.

The interior is open plan, with the bar/lounge area at the front and the restaurant area at the back, through brick archways. As Ivan says, it is very modern in its decor, there is a wood floor and the walls are in white, red, undressed brick and wood panel. There are mirrors and arty pictures on the walls and cushions in the dining area, as well as high stools in the bar/lounge area. The service was friendly, but we were the only ones in. The music was easy listening and at a decent level, i didn’t see a TV.

Beer; tap stuff with an excellent selection of Aston Brewing Company beers, as well as Ironbridge Brewery beers, along with a couple of generic beers, such as Greene King IPA. I had the ABC Aston Dark (MILD) and the Sporting Gold – others on were Dizzy Blonde and Pride of Aston. I visited at the end of August and the beers i tried were a little warm, but make no mistake, this is a great selection from two smaller breweries.

I will more than happily visit here again. The decor isn’t to my taste, but with such a radical selection compared to the other Lichfield pubs, i think you have to pop in on any crawl.

On 6th September 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]

Page: 1 2