User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Scores with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Brunswick Inn, Derby Central, Derby

1 Railway Terrace
Derby
DE1 2RU
Phone: 01332290677

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 9 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Brunswick Inn

Update – November 2013

Another very impressive visit in mid November 2013. Various traditionally furnished rooms contain brewery memorabilia ( posters etc ) , black and white framed photos of old Derby ( with particular emphasis on the nearby railway station and old trams ) and the surrounding area. Worth looking out for – on the wall opposite the bar – is a fascinating framed narrative account of the pub in days long gone entitled “ Memories of The Brunswick Inn 1910”

Additional seating is available in an upstairs room, which I don’t recollect being in use at the time of my previous visit, the review of which is below.

The home brewing plant is still at the end of the corridor. A notice on the glass fronted door refers to “award winning ales from Derby’s oldest brewery” of which 4 were on when I visited – The Usual, White Feather, Triple Hop and Father Mike. Also on were 3 beers from Brampton Brewery ( who, according to the website, have now taken over the day to day running of the pub ), 2 from Everards, T T Landlord, plus one beer from Milestone. Quality of beers sampled was first rate.

A Comedy Club evening was advertised for 20 November and a Whisky Evening for 28 November, so it’s clear that the pub is trying to position itself wider than just the real ale market

For some reason, the pub is not in the 2014 CAMRA Good Beer Guide, although it has been regularly in previous years. Based on my recent visit, this fact is certainly not going to stop me making a beeline here when next in Derby – nor should it you

ORIGINAL REVIEW - APRIL 2009

Splendid free house at the end of a red-brick terrace close to the station.

The guide books - and a very informative pub website - tells us that this terrace was built in 1842 as part of the community village for workers of the North Midland Railway. The Brunswick Inn lays claim to being the first ever railwaymans pub.

It was saved from demolition in the 1980's, reopening in 1988 after a spell of closure.

Nowadays it's a fine traditional multi-roomed pub, with wood-panelling and flagstoned floors and restored in keeping with the character of the original building.

It's much larger inside than it looks from outside and with its own self-contained brewery.

The pub sign outside refers to "A True Ale House and Brewery" which strikes me as a very good summing up of this not to be missed gem.

It's owned by Everards, but sells beers brewed on site and a number of guests. The Brunswick White Feather Ale was a nice light session ale and, at only £ 1.70p, noticeably cheap.

Being behind schedule, and with a train to catch, I was unable to stay as long as I wished, but I shall return.

In conclusion, it's one of the best known real ale pubs in the country and should be on everyone's itinerary for a visit at some stage

On 18th December 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about The Brunswick Inn

Still a fantastic beer drinkers pub, close to the station and the perfect start or finish point for any pub crawl in Derby. Huge array of ever changing beer on the bar and very quiet on a recent Saturday lunch. this was not my first visit to the Brunswick and it certainly will not be my last.

On 19th April 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Brunswick Inn

Superb pub for real ale drinkers that is in the 2012 Good Beer Guide and deserves it's place. Multiroomed and has a brewery too. It is one of the Everards Project William pubs that helps smaller breweries, and they have around 5 of their own Brunswick beers on but have to keep an Everards beer on one of the handpulls. They also have guest beers, and both the Oakham Scarlet Macaw and Brunswick Belpaire Weisse were in good condition. Reasonably priced food available.

On 17th February 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Brunswick Inn

A good traditional pub, which is only a couple of mins walk from the station. One of Derby's oldest breweries, if you go to the end of the pub you can look in through a large glass section at all their brewing activities. Twelve ales on handpump on my visit, I went for the Brunswick Triple Hop, Steam Forever, White Feather, 2nd Brew, Everards Southgate, Beacon, 3 Tuns Pale Ale and Milestone Brewery Hogpenny. Pork pies very good, they also do a huntsmans pie. Good service and friendly staff. Will return.

On 20th November 2011 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2971 recommendations about 2971 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roy Collins left this review about The Brunswick Inn

One of the best real ale pubs in the country in my opinion.Well renovated and decorated. Excellant range of their own brewery and other's beer.

On 31st July 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 124 recommendations about 121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about The Brunswick Inn

One of our favourite pubs in Derbyshire, this is well worth the 3 - 4 minute walk from Derby station and always a suberb range of their own plus large selection of guest ales available. Plenty of old photos of bygone Derby line the walls of the numerous rooms. Our visit one a Sunday lunch time was quiet but I have been in here on a Sunday when there is a foorball match on in Derby and the place is packed yet still very good atmosphere.

On 6th June 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Brunswick Inn

A very fine interior which is well worth close inspection,this is one of the best examples of it's kind.Popular with Ram's fans on matchdays,there is a good customer mix and it's not dominated by beer tickers.The Brunswick beers sampled didn't stand out against the red hot competion in this town ,and given the guest selection we sloped off on our tour,after admiring the fine features.

On 4th May 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Thuck Phat left this review about The Brunswick Inn

Mr Button's review below is immaculately detailed so I won't repeat the salient points.
The Brunswick was also busy on our visit, an early Saturday evening, and there was certainly a convivial atmosphere and plenty of determined quaffing. I'd also agree with the previous reviewers that this is a 'must visit' on any trip to Derby, a city with much to offer on the ale front.
There were 13 ales available on handpump on our visit, 5 from the Brunswick brewery and 8 guests. Brunswick: Black Sabbath, Triple Hop, Railway Porter, 2nd Brew and Emerald Express. Guests: Landlord, Everards Beacon and Tiger, RCH East St. Cream, Tring Royal Poacher, White Horse Oxfordshire, Elgoods Pageant and Oak Royal Daze.
We tried the Triple Hop which was in good nick but responses ranged from indifferent to tasteless (polite version) and the Emerald Express which went down better but wasn't spectacular. After this enthusiasm for the range wained. There's nothing wrong with the guest list but it noticeably omits beers from some of the excellent local breweries such as Blue Monkey, Thornbridge and Whim. Consequently, having expected great things from the Brunswick selection and knowing that there were many other places to try in the city, we left feeling slightly underwhelmed.
I very much like the Brunswick and will definitely return but I wouldn't rate it as my favourite in Derby.

On 4th May 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 670 recommendations about 669 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Brunswick Inn

For my money, the finest of all of Derby’s pubs (and that is a hard choice to make). Set at the end of a terrace of old railway workers cottages built in the the 1840’s, the Brunny was the first purpose built railway pub but by the 1980’s it was little more than a derelict shell fit for nothing but the wreckers ball. To fully appreciate the transformation you need to seek out the photos running along the interior corridor that show the state of disrepair prior to the restoration programme that resulted in the pub reopening in 1987. A micro brewery was added in 1991 and a selection of 4 or 5 home brewed ales are among the 15 (or was it 16) hand pumps, another example of why Derby is often claimed to be the Real Ale capital of the UK (although Sheffield may dispute that fact).

The wonderful interior has been restored back to its original multi room format. The main bar has lots of paneling, a welcoming fire and interesting collection of bottles. Two rooms lead off the main corridor, the first a fairly basic, flagstoned, public bar with earthenware jugs, old railway themed photos, darts and fruit machines. The second is a cosy snug room with a similar basic approach with high backed settles. At the pointy end of the building is a fairly spacious parlour. Upstairs are a selection of function rooms available for hire.

The micro brewery is situated at the rear of the pub and is visible through some glass doors near the toilets. It is possible to do a tour, meal and pint combination for a very reasonable price (it was £7.50 on my visit but that was some time ago).

We paid two visits on our extended weekend (well, you just have to) and found a sensible mix of customers and good service despite being pretty busy, particularly on the Saturday night. This is the sort of pub that makes pub crawls difficult as it is too much of a wrench to leave so allow plenty of time and just wallow in the place.

On 6th April 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Brunswick Inn

A Victorian terrace brick building, with an apse end, like a church - which is what this place is; though somewhere to lift the soul and praise the good hop, rather than the Lord. It has a slight bleak northern feel to the place, which is why Mr Hackwood probably felt so at home here!

The interior has a nesting of rooms; indeed, Mr H and I could have played hide and seek for half an hour, had it not been for the fact that the place was so quiet, i thought it was being ran by a family of trappist monks. There is a snug and a family parlour. Decor was white and a deep red, with a stone floor and nice fireplaces. Interest was again supplied by old railway pictures, due to the building's historic connections with the railway and some old bottles. There was a dart board. Service was fine and there was a healthy number of clients, most with a healthy age to them. Traditional and class.

Beer; some tap stuff, with 16 handpulls. The place has its own microbrewery, but i stuck to Cathedral Ale's Magna Carta and Milestone's Black Pearl Stout, both were good,

Just go, i can say no more.

On 27th November 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3