User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Mill, Ulverston

Pub added by BEN UNSWORTH
Mill Street
Ulverston
LA12 7EB

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Blue Scrumpy left this review about The Mill

The Mill is a popular Lancaster Brewery pub in Ulverston. We were greeted on arrival and directed to a table.

Supposedly, the pub has 10 handpumps. But only 6 ales were on during my Thursday afternoon visit. Lancaster Amber, Blonde & Red are regulars. Also on was their Eureka and guests Thwaite's Wainwright & Cumbrian Legendary Ales Loweswater Gold.

The welcome was not the warmest and I was certainly expecting a better range.

On 4th August 2020 - rating: 5
[User has posted 378 recommendations about 378 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Mill

The former town mill has been in use as a pub since 1973 and owned by Lancaster Brewery since 2009. The building is tastefully presented and the bar has 10 hand pumps - just three of Lancaster's own beers plus seven guests (see photos). My half of Lancaster Amber was in excellent condition. I found the background music a bit challenging but otherwise enjoyed my brief visit.

On 5th August 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2643 recommendations about 2492 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Mill

Lancaster pub conversion, nicely done, quite plush and good beer

On 20th August 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Mill

expected this to be a big soulless drinking barn for some reason but it's actually very similar to the other Lancaster brewery pub I have visited, the Sun. nice and rustic decor, very good beer, rather aloof clientele. found it fine for a quiet pint.

On 12th May 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 753 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Mill

This is a former mill building converted into a pub and restaurant by the Lancaster Brewery. It has a patio and a roof garden area. The main building is in rough stone, with rounded lintel sash windows. The main feature is the loading hoist and doors. The interior has a few rooms, one of which is an upper storey restaurant accessed by a spiral staircase. The main 'bar' room is L-shaped and is in white painted stone and undressed stone walls, with a wood floor - excepting the stone flag in the sofa area. The ceiling is white with beams, and there are a few supporting beams to hold it up! They do also serve food in this bit, as it mostly has food tables, but i didn't eat so can't comment on that. There are old photos on the walls, as well as a few old advert posters, but the main feature is the mill wheel and gear. There was no TV that i saw. The service was very good, and the clintele was mixed, but small. Beer; usual tap stuff with Stringer's Paint it Black, Salopian Oracle, Hesket Newmarket's Sca Fell Blonde (fine) Greenodd Citra (fine), Saltair's Raspberry Blonde, Coniston Thurstein Pilsner and Lancaster's Amber and Blonde on handpull. This place has good beer and service, and, as a traditionalist, i coped a lot better with the decor than i thought i would have done. Definitely worth a visit.

On 17th May 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about The Mill

A very nice modern pub with a mill wheel behind glass between the bar and rear ground floor seating area. This place has an interesting range of photos on the Walls of Cimbrian bygone days. There is an upper restaurant area accessed via a iral staircase but we didn't go up there. Apart from the three Lancaster ales there were a number of other ales from around the country including Dark Star. The food is also good value at lunchtime. this place is well worth visiting despite the very good choice of very nice traditional pubs in this very nice town.

On 7th December 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BEN UNSWORTH left this review about The Mill

The Mill is the latest pub opened by the Lancaster Brewery.which sells the full range of their own Brews plus a great range of guest ales.

On 22nd June 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 75 recommendations about 69 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Mill

When we went in this pub it was called Hoppers,it was originally called the Waterwheel.
The pub is in the town centre and is in an old mill building,on our visit here this was a younger persons pub.
This pub used to be a Matthew Brown tied house and there were three real ales on the bar i had a drink of Matthew Brown bitter and this was a decent enough drink the other beers were Matthew Brown mild and Theakston best.
I did'nt get a photo of this pub.

Pub visited 15/4/1989

On 15th April 1989 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]