User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 7th August 2022) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Redbridge, Andover

Pub added by Old Boots
5 Bridge Street
Andover
SP10 1BE
Phone: 01264353908

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Redbridge

As described below, it’s primarily a sports bar now, where people book tables weeks in advance to watch football matches. The young staff were mainly pleasant and helpful, apart from the over-familiar one with the weird hair. The other clients were exclusively football fans and the discussion, banter and debate were entirely football related. We ate there, and the food was rather more awful than predicted – greasy, fatty, and generally unhealthy, but to be fair it never promised to be anything else. Two ales on, Doombar and Robinson’s Dizzy Blonde, both in poor condition. Unless you’re a football fan for whom ale quality is irrelevant, I wouldn’t recommend it.

On 29th June 2021 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2905 recommendations about 2872 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blue Scrumpy left this review about The Redbridge

The Redbridge is situated diagonally opposite the Wetherspoon's in the centre of Andover. With similar long opening hours and competitive pricing, it is very similar in style.

We decided to eat here on a Tuesday evening and we had an enjoyable meal, which was 50% off, even before the government's eat out to help out scheme came into effect. Doom Bar & Tribute were the real ales. There were also a couple of fruit ciders from Lilley's - Cherries and Berries & Lemon & Ginger. As a Stonegate pub, CAMRA members can use their 50p off vouchers for a pint.

Far better than I had expected and a serious competitor with the John Russell Fox for the best pub in Andover award.

On 4th August 2020 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1372 recommendations about 1372 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Redbridge

Largeish pub in the Smith and Jones chain, in a handsome building but the inside is completely gutted and furnished in a nondescript sort of 1990's style. Extends quite a way back, with a pool table at the rear but on a warm day it was incredibly hot and airless inside, despite the opening frontage. it did have an acceptable selection of beers and a couple of fruit ciders on pump however.

On 3rd August 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2659 recommendations about 2602 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about The Redbridge

A large chain pub with an incredibly bland beer selection, I'll leave this one for the Lager drinkers.

On 5th August 2017 - rating: 3
[User has posted 1582 recommendations about 1563 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Redbridge

Large Stonegate pub, very much in the 'spoons mould, with anonymous semi-modern furniture and decor and plenty of food and drink offers. It does, however, offer pool and some big-screen TVs for the sports fans. On the beer front, I found Pride, Doom Bar, Bombardier Burning Gold, Courage Best and Wadworth Swordfish (£2.95) available on the six handpumps.

On 31st January 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 7108 recommendations about 7108 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Redbridge

A large chain pub (operated by Barracuda, who brought us such delights as the Varsity-branded bars) which is, as noted below, akin to a JDW in a number of ways. Long and narrow, with little light at the far end of the pub (where the bar is) the décor is fairly functional, save for the massive mirror in the gents. TV at the far end with Sky Sports news along with a quizzer. Three ales were advertised on the pumps (Doom Bar, Bombardier and GK Tolly) though when it came to business it transpired that all of them were off bar the Tolly (at least the barman was apologetic and turned the clip round on the Doom Bar). The Tolly was in decent shape and very cheap – I think it was under £2 a pint all told. A decent range of soft drinks for Mrs Quinno (all the Fruitiser range) along with a lorry-load of Nobby’s Nuts and Monster Munch. Despite the obvious shortcomings anywhere that sells the full range of Monster Munch gets a bonus point from me.

On 22nd January 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 4422 recommendations about 4408 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


dave stray left this review about The Redbridge

Recent visit. Much like a Wetherspoons, it could be easily mistaken for one. Bombardier and Ringwood bitter beer on.

On 8th August 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 265 recommendations about 183 pubs]