User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - July 2020 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Horse & Jockey, Nottingham

Pub added by Alan Winfield
20 Nottingham Road
Stapleford
Postal town: Nottingham
NG9 8AA

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Horse & Jockey

It seemed a shame that we only had time for a half here, as this is clearly the real ale destination pub in Stapleford, and moreover the place where a wake was held for Alan Winfield. With 13 hand pumps, and several ciders in boxed polypins, we could have saved ourselves a lot of walking and just done the pub crawl here. However, in the spirit of this memorial pub crawl, we had a half and moved on.

The landlord was friendly and enthusiastic. He talked to us while pulling through the beers on the two or three pumps that were unadorned when we arrived. A novel idea is that the pump clips are duplicated on a board to the left of the bar in the form of a chart, where the clip's position on the board indicates its relative colour and strength. This one would definitely merit a return visit, of rather longer duration.

Date of visit: 5th September 2018

On 22nd October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2630 recommendations about 2480 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Horse & Jockey

A decent traditional pub that had a choice 13 hand pulled ales on our Friday eve visit. There was a large beer board on the left hand side of the bar, which was more like a graph with the ABV on the left vertical and the colour from left to right on the horizontal plan, then the particular beer was positioned on the board. The interior was considerably bigger than expected, with a decent sized front and rear lounge areas. Originally this was a multi roomed pub, which is evident around the ceiling areas, which now have quotations written along the now plastered in steel beams. The staff were all upbeat and helpful when choosing a beer, we went for the Hartshorne Fusion and the West Gate Sunburst. The pub is also on the main bus route travelling from Ilkeston to Nottingham, so it made a handy pit stop.

On 18th August 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Horse & Jockey

Enjoyed our visit here yesterday and found a good selection of ales on offer. We chose the Full Mash Horse and Jockey and Shipstones Nut Brown which were both very good.

On 11th September 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Horse & Jockey

The Horse and Jockey is an old pub in the middle of Stapleford it has been done up a couple of years ago and is now quite smart inside there are bare floor boards and the one large room is on two levels there are a couple of handpumps on the bar and these usually have a local beer on from Funfair or Fullmash,this pub is independantly owned so they can choose what beers they have on,this is one of the better pubs in Stapleford.

11 June 2010

Update:

The Horse and Jockey as had a slight makeover but there are now 10 pumps on the bar with 4 set aside for locales and a couple of other pummps for real ciders.
On our visit in early January 2013 all pumps were in use,we had a drink of Full Mash Horse and Jockey bitter which is brewed less than 5 mins walk from the pub,this beer was a really nice drink,the other beers i noted were Nottingham Rock bitter and Slaters Top Totty,there were many other beers but i forgot to take my note book.
This pub is now Staplefords leading real ale outlet.

Pub visited 5/1/2013

Update: The Horse and Jockey is now East Midlands pub of the year,Presentation will be on Saturday 2nd of November at 2.00pm

After many revisits to this local pub it is still going well and the beer prices seem to be a bit better,i had a drink of Wold Top Flat Cap on my very recent visit which went down well.
There are now cobs on the bar 60p and sausage rolls which i did not see the price of.
The lower half of the pub was fairly busy on my Good Friday dinner visit.

Pub visited 25/2/2016

On 28th March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Horse & Jockey

This smartly refurbished pub, close to a prominent junction in the middle of Stapleford, has gained a lot of publicity in recent months, having been named East Midlands CAMRA Pub of the Year 2013. A glance along the bar counter tells you all you need to know about the pub’s ale policy, as a fine looking row of hand pumps dispense a rotating range of micro brewery ales, many from local brewers. The line up on my visit saw house beer ‘Horse and Jockey’ from Stapleford’s own Full Mash brewery, alongside four Pixie Springs brews – Prince of Bengal IPA, Tidy Bitter, You Love Us and Graveyard Eyes, as well as Belvoir Peacocks Glory and Star Bitter, Nottingham Foundry Mild (£3.00), Milton Icarus and Marlpool Blind Boris Mild. I enjoyed a decent pint of the Foundry Mild and an excellent drop of the You Love Us. A board at one end of the bar listed four real ciders from the likes of Sheppys and Burrow Hill. Next to this there was an unusual beer colour/strength matrix, which I found quite useful to identify beer styles and ensure I wasn’t drinking something excessively strong so early in the day. The staff were very busy behind the scenes for much of my visit, but the landlord did stop to have a friendly chat, explaining that although I was the only customer at the time, I’d just missed a huge coach party who had stopped in for their lunch (such things coming with the territory when you win these awards I suppose).
The pub itself is a two room affair, with a large open plan main bar at the front, bare boarded with the servery along the right hand wall. High tables and chairs fill the open space opposite the bar whilst there is some comfy sofa seating around the perimeter. There are lots of jugs suspended from fake black beams and a small fireplace on the end wall before the room extends slightly to the left into a quarry stone floored space. A few modern art prints decorate the walls and there are quotes (mostly beer related) painted on the white beams that criss-cross the room, but the place still feels like it’s bedding-in and doesn’t quite have real character yet, although I guess visiting when it was empty didn’t help. Steps lead up to the rear room, in darkness during my stay, although some smart comfortable seating could be made out in what I presumed was an area more suited to diners. Quiet reggae style music was playing in the background and I noticed board games were available. There is a small patio to the side of the pub but I didn’t manage to establish if there is a proper garden to the rear.
I’m sure the CAMRA award will spark much debate about whether this is the best pub in the East Midlands, or even in Nottingham, but it does seem that, irrespective of the competition, it’s a great success story and that alone deserves some form of recognition. The fine array of well kept beer is of course the main draw and although it’s a bit of a trek out here from the city, I would certainly consider a revisit.

On 14th November 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2472 recommendations about 2472 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about Horse & Jockey

I have lived in Chilwell Nottingham all of my life and have never been to the Horse and Jockey in Stapleford, even though it is less than 2 miles from my home. All that changed last night after we decided to move our regular Thursday night out to a new location. following the announcement that the Horse and jockey had won the Nottingham Pub of the Year 2013 award, we decided that this place was as good as any.

The pub appears to have had a major makeover both inside and out, all the paintwork is gleaming and the fixtures are in good order. On ascending the front steps, you enter a large room, probably knocked together from several small ones. The bar is against one wall with 10 pumps serving mostly local beer from Blue Monkey, Nottingham, Full Mash and others. We sampled several pints, including light, amber and porter varieties, they also had mild on the bar several lagers and cider. All the beer was excellent and cheap too at £2.60 with CAMRA discount. This pub had somthing that I have never seen in a pub before, a board on the wall graduated left to right from light straw to dark brown and scaled bottom to top by ABV. Beer clips were stuck on the board where their style and ABV crossed. A superb idea, giving you a one glance overview of the beer on offer.

The pub has a large back room and a small beer garden but no parking that I could see except for 2 spaces at the front. Disabled access might be tricky due to the steps, however, there might be a back way in with a ramp. Toilets were very clean, but had a mild aromea on my visit, probably about due a hose down. The pub was pretty quiet on the Thursday that we went in. the barman told us that it gets rammed on Friday and Saturday evenings. the people must be there for the beer as I didn't see any wide sreen TV's, fruit machines or juke boxes.

The Horse and Jockey is a much needed addition to the pub scene in Stapleford, which despite having a dozen or so pubs dosn't have any for the serious beer drinker. We will be calling again, the H&J is now firmly on our beer radar.

On 10th May 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]