User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 26th June 2022) with aleandhearty on the Pub Forum

Bar + Block, Birmingham

Pub added by Andy Ven
3-6 Waterloo Street
Birmingham
B2 5PG

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Beefeater Bar + Block

Restaurant and bar attached to a Premier Inn, formerly known as the Colmore Bar & Grill. Substantially refurbished since my previous visit a few years ago in its previous incarnation, and more appealing in several ways except that the real ale has gone. Now has three hooped keg founts, but all offering the same, unchanging, unimaginative selection of fizzy stuff, of which the 'Meantime Ale' seems the best bet.

On 18th February 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 7001 recommendations about 7001 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Colmore Bar and Grill (Premier Inn)

09/07/2016: Revisit & this is now a modern Beefeater restaurant. Laid out for food & with a central desk for service, I guess you could just go for a drink but don't see why you would. Smarter than previous but has lost what little real ale it had, so remains a 4 for me.

01/12/2010:Fitted out street level space of Premier Inn, it has a bit of a feel of a bar in a hotel lobby unsurprisingly.

Modern fit out there is brick and pale walls, parque lamanent flooring, lighting that is somewhere between dim and bright - and thats part of the problem, its neither one thing or another, its that kind of feel, a bit 'cheap'. Its not helped by the cheap looking fittings - for example it can't have been open long, but only one of the taps was still in place in the gents, the rest broken off.

Seating is shared between low and high around square tables.

There are 2 real ales, Marstons Pedigree and Hobgoblin, actually not too bad.

It is probably what I would expect from a budget hotel bar/eating area. I would drink here if I was staying, but otherwise wouldn't bother.

On 11th July 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1347 recommendations about 1324 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Colmore Bar and Grill (Premier Inn)

I was staying at the Premier Inn ,so this is a natural place to take a beer but is also popular afterwork for local office staff,creating a lively atmosphere on my Friday evening visit.The decor is modern with a rank of high tables by the large plate glass windows,and two banquettes at the rear while to the side in another section is more dining style furnuiture with additional banquettes.However it's very corporate and souless much as Soupy describes ,there are far more interesting pubs nearby.At least there is some real ale with Pedigree and Hobgoblin available on my visit.Shuts at 11pm so that hotel guests do not get disturbed.

On 29th March 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2338 recommendations about 2338 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about Colmore Bar and Grill (Premier Inn)

A city Centre 1960s office-block converted into a Premier Inn that has a bar and restaurant attached. The bar also retains a 60s look, despite the fake ashlar finish and large glass windows.

The interior is an open plan room, with a dining annex to the side. The decor is a mix of exposed brick and white, with a white cieling (along with the air vents) and a mainly wood floor. Strange patterned wallpaper covered small areas of wall as a replacement for actual pictures. There were a few TVs scattered about, one was on that i saw, silent, with subtitles. The music was general stuff at a decent level. I didn't eat here (i didn't actually even get a drink) so can't comment on that. The service seemed fine - they guys behind the bar were working hard, but there were too many people to actually serve, especially as the cocktails were ordered. The clientele were a good mix - the place was certainly popular at my near Christmas visit.

Beer; well, usual tap stuff with Pedigree and Hobgoblin on handpull. However there were glasses over both taps, so after waiting a good while for a Guinness, we gave up and left.

It suits those that like the contemporary look, look to eat and drink keg drinks, bottles, wines etc. Not my kind of place really.

On 21st December 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john swani left this review about Colmore Bar and Grill (Premier Inn)

Great tasting pints, friendly staff, good food and near my office!

On 22nd August 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andy Ven left this review about Colmore Bar and Grill (Premier Inn)

New bar in the centre of Birmingham, adjoining the newly opened Premier Inn. Clean and contemporary. 2 handpulls: Hobgoblin and Pedigree

On 28th May 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 244 recommendations about 240 pubs]